We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn

Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn
Save
You added Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn to your Saves list
7055 Nesters Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Whistler B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived at the Durlacher Hof whilst they were in the middle of a renovation. We did not know that. There is something about renovation, carpets being covered in plastic, certain areas being off limit and a garden full of tools / bricks and machinery that gives of an unwelcoming vibe.

Check in was at 16:00. We arrived at 15:30. The door was locked, and no one answered the doorbell. Fine, we went to the supermarket and such and arrived later. There we saw the owner and her husband (?). Ericka was very nice. But we were made to sit on a bench in the hallway because she had to show others their room. Ok ok. Then we were shown our room. The room was beautiful. And very new. It was beautiful white and brownish carpet. And a very lovely bed. No complaints there. Not at all. However, there were no mosquito nets for the windows, so we had to keep the widows shut. And as there was no a/c it became very humid. We could not lock the door from the outside because something had gone wrong with the locksmith. We could lock the door from the inside, but it feels weird to leave your laptop and so forth behind without a locked door. We only had a handshower since that was 'European' (?) instead of a high shower, so we ended up taking a bath. When we got to our room at 7 there was someone working on the roof, and my boyfriend saw him walking while he was on the loo (there was a window in the roof). Not a very soothing idea. There were not toiletries such as shower cap, or bath foam or shower gel. There is no TV. Wi-fi worked fine. We left the next day very early so we did not try the breakfast but Ericka was very gentle to ask us our diet preferences! Something that has not happened before.

I think when they come out of the renovation things will be very good. But when you as a guest arrive in the middle of it all, its a bit unwelcoming. To walk on plastic and such. But the room was lovely. ALso the Durlacher is situated next to a very busy road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I highly highly recommend this place. Owners Ericka and Peter were an absolute delight. We only intended to stay one night, but as soon as we got there, I asked my husband to book a second night. We enjoyed jacuzzis both night in our charming bedroom, and delicious Austrian-flavored smorgasbords in the morning for breakfast. So much better than paying high prices for a non-personalized hotel stay. As we left, we were taking pictures with the owners as they bid us a very personal goodbye. Stay at this location!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superckara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Poor value for money but good location. No TV in the bedrooms but there was a radio. The bed was very uncomfortable as it squeaked, woke up every time we moved. Was offered a change of room but when the internet didn't work we chose to leave to a different accommodation in town. The crashing internet sealed the deal for us to leave. The hostess was lovely and accommodating. Breakfast was good but you wouldnt want to be too hungry. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast and then arrived downstairs in the morning to discover the boss had told the hostess to change the menu and not provide us our request. A big disappointment. We also weren't allowed to use the kitchen for our own meals either which is important to us as the food in Whistler is highly expensive!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddy_Sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We just completed another relaxing stay at the Durlacher Hof. This is truly a wonderful setting upon which memories are made. The hosts, Erika and Peter go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The setting is very convenient to the various activities offered at Whistler. Rooms are generous and very well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious offering a variety of hot and cold items and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We were grateful to have stayed with Peter and Erika ( the Innkeepers) at Durlacher Hof in beautiful Whistler. We loved the cooking and all the attention to detail in our room. They made great recommendations for dinners at the local restaurants and activities.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boardheadcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunnen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Your lovely pension is the nicest place we have stayed at. Just like being at home and with your hospitality Peter and Erika. We so enjoyed everything here. the food which was delicious, comfortable
very clean rooms and beds. all this and such beautiful scenery, and also the young staff you have is so very interesting. and helpful. we wish you luck in the years ahead, and we certainly will tell all our friends about the Durlacher Hof. Thank you again, The Schopfer's from the Swiss.

  • Liked — Hospitality. food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

We just returned from a fantastic skiing holiday at Whistler and are very lucky that we stayed at Durlacher Hof. This Bed an Breakfast is absolutely unique and wonderful. The hosts put every effort to make the stay for their guests as comfortable as possible. The traditional
styled house is very authentic and the rooms are very clean. Absolutely remarkable is the Austrian breakfast which is delicious and gives you power for a marvellous skiing day. The Durlacher Hof was definitely beyond our expections!

  • Liked — Awesome Breakfast
  • Disliked — we just loved everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja+Florian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#9 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#15 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Dreams B&B
Golden Dreams B&B
#2 of 18 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bear Tracks Whistler Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn

Address: 7055 Nesters Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a unique touch of the Tyrol in Austrian style lodging. Durlacher Hof is spacious and luxurious, with eight exclusive rooms designed for your comfort and personal needs. After a restful night in one of our gracefully appointed rooms, let us entice you with an old-world breakfast, replete with steaming coffee, homemade bread, and a selection of mouth-watering entrees to get you ready for the day ahead. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Whistler
Whistler Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing