We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Whistler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Whistler to your Saves list
HI-Whistler
1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Poole, Dorset
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at during my trip around the west of Canada.

The hostel is clean, the rooms are great (4 bed dorm with private bathroom) with plenty of space, big kitchen area, large common room area and a bar/kitchen downstairs. The staff were very nice. All was good. There are hikes and walks you can do in the surrounding area. A cool thing about the hostel is it was used as part of the athletes village for the 2010 winter olympics (I think it is cool anyway). I found the hostel to be very sociable and spoke to lots of different people and had a great time.

The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because you have to get a bus into the village from the hostel which takes about 15 minutes. It's not a big thing and it only costs $2.50 each way but it's not perfect. You can walk to the town but its about 6km. However, apart from the bus bit I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel during your stay in Whistler, unless you want to splash out on one of the lodges. As a backpacker though that is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Make sure you have change available to use the bus as they don't give change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
20
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was the only hotel in Whistler we could find which didn't charge for parking.

Situated appx 4 miles out of town: car is essential.
Environment is pretty lonely and not very inviting. Yet very quiet.
Atmosphere in hotel is hostel like: bare + oriented towards youth
Small rooms with just 1 straight chair.

Reception very friendly an coöperative.
Parking in Whistler is free in the evening (untill 3 am: not if you stay in a downtown hotel).
All hotels and restaurants are pretty expensive, while the town itself is not that attrctive. Unless you are into outdoor sports, I wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: Having a car is essential !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun F, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and I have to say that I'm surprised you didn't find Whistler to be a very scenic destination - between the trip here via the Sea-to-Sky highway, the lakes, mountain vistas, and wildlife I've often heard people remark that living here is like living in a postcard.

I apologize if you were under the impression that you had booked a hotel, and the reason we feel 'hostel-like' is because, we definitely are a hostel, and are part of Hostelling International.

Although, it must be said, as we were built in just 2010, and are a purpose built facility we're probably in a different category to some hostels you may have stayed in, in the past, and our private rooms especially do have the feel of a hotel, all with en suite washrooms, TV, etc. However you have the added benefit of being able to enjoy our stellar common areas, including multiple patios with mountain views, TV room, communal kitchen and a common room with free pool (billiards).

I do hope you choose to visit Whistler again, whilst it is definitely an outdoor recreation mecca, it's a destination I believe that should be a must for all visitors to Western Canada.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Freeman - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A great leftover from the 2010 Olympics. This was the athletes village and quality built in. A nice kitchen, patio area and adjacent parking. Room is clean, linens provided and soap, shampoo, etc. The hostel is a bit warm in summer as there is no air con. A small coffee shop on the main level came in handy. One downside is if you don't have a vehicle it is 8 Kim's out of the town. There is buss service though.

Room Tip: Get one that faces north or east
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you have ever been apprehensive about staying at a hostel for the first time, HI Whistler is the place to start. This was my third stay at HI Whistler, twice in summer, once in winter and the place is always great.

There are four comfy bunks per room, each bunk has its own shelf, light, and electric plugs for mobile phones. Bring your own padlock for the locker by each bed. I feel it is safer and more convenient than a safe.

A 10% discount was applied when we did the Ziptrek Ecotours zipline because we stayed at HI Whistler.

I have brought my immediate and extended family here and they have all been impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here with my family (wife, 6 year old boy and 4 year old girl) just for a weekend trip to Whistler from Vancouver. It was great staying amongst young (teenagers and twenty year olds) travelers from different parts of the world. There was a cross country competition on, so lot of the other guests were taking part in that. There were no issues with noise or feeling like our family was intruding. All the guests were friendly and polite, the staff were also accommodating and friendly. Even though the rooms were basic, we had our own private room for 4 and the kids LOVED the bunk beds.

As it is a new hostel tit is clean and well laid out. Nice coffee shop on the ground floor and a large kitchen and dinning room upstairs. There was a games room and TV room as well, which was appreciated by the kids amongst us.

We are looking forward to satying again as well as other hostels around the world with the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for three nights from march 27-30. The staff were all friendly and super helpful with anything. I really like how I could store my snowboard and gear and not have to worry about someone taking off with it as the board room also had security camera in it. I stayed in a fourbed dorm and the bed was very comfy and clean. There were lockers in the dorm to lock all my stuff up plus you get a towel and extra linens. The common room had a pool table and four PC's which you have to purchase time for. Big screen with satellite tv, Xbox 360 and leather theatre style chairs. Great place to chill and have a beer and meet some new people after boarding all day. The kitchen was quite large with four oven ranges, multiple microwaves, lots of utensils for use and a massive fridge to store your food in with tags to put your name on your food. Only ate at the cafe twice for a quick breakfast and it was expensive but everything in Whistler is. Only a couple minor down points. The kitchen has no oven just a tiny little toaster oven. lol took a while to cook our full size pizza in there. The other was location it is about 10-15 minutes from the village by bus(which comes like every 20 min) but i didnt mind it as I only stayed for 3 nights. If I was staying longer it may get a little annoying. Overall it was a great stay for the price and what you get, it is definitely worth it.(probably the best hostel I have stayed at). Will be back next time Iam boarding in Whistler. Check it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place to stay for those traveling to Whistler on a budget. The hostel is really nice. I stayed in one of the dorms. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, there were cabinets available to stash my stuff in and the room was pretty clean considering there were four guys staying there. I forgot to bring a lock, but felt comfortable leaving my things in the room. On the 2nd floor they have a tv room, common room and kitchen. In the lobby there's a caf and a secure room to leave your gear. The staff was really helpful and provided maps and suggestions for visiting Whistler and riding the mountains. I had a rental car which made it easy making the 5 minute drive to the mountain If you don't have a car there is a shuttle that runs back and forth and loads in front of the hostel. If you do drive to the mountain there is free parking right in front of the gondola at Whistler creek. All and all, for those traveling on a budget this place is a pretty good option for a trip to Whistler.

Room Tip: Try and get a bed near a window and a room away from the elevator. The rooms tend to heat up pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2010, the HI-Whistler is a purpose-built hostel that was originally used as part of the Whistler Athletes' Village during the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. This brand new facility sets the standard in hostelling with all the amenities you'd expect and then some.There's more to HI-Whistler than just a place to sleep. Grab a coffee and snack at Cheaky's Cafe in the hostel lobby, lounge on the outdoor decks with mountain views, store your bike, skis, and boards in the equipment storage room, hang out in the media room with its 52" HDTV and meet some cool new folks over a free game of pool or foosball in the games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.