We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant to your Saves list
Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant
8020 Alpine Way | Box 369, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Whistler B&B and Inns
Ladysmith, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very relaxing few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Truely enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater. The view accross the lake looking at the mountains is awesome, makes you relax just looking at it. Although the rooms are not by any means hi-tech (i.e. older style TV, basic alarm clock) they do provide all that you really need on a vacation. We ate at the restaurant one evening and really enjoyed the freshness of the dinner; we especially enjoyed the crab and halibut cake appie and venison loin entre. Breakfast was simple, but all that we needed (i.e. toast and eggs (or peanut butter), orange juice, coffee). Would definitely consider coming back again.

Room Tip: Room #1 was the closest to the hot tub and very quiet. However, know that the birds wake up very ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My fiance and I stayed one night at the Edgewater Inn during late Winter/Early Spring. There was snow on the ground and sun in the sky. We couldn't have picked a better day to stay. Blackcomb and Whistler are visible as you look South East across the frozen surface of Green Lake out of your room . Walk about the grounds and take in the quiet, tranquil atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, neat and warm. The main lodge, trimmed in Cedar and Native Canadian art, is quiet and comfortable. With ceiling to floor windows, this room allows all the the views to be taken in. Parking is free and the village is just three minutes down the road. Village parking is free at Market Place or in the ski parking lots. If you are looking for a quiet getaway we recommend Edgewater Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

3rd trip to winter weekend Whistler trip. 1st 2 in the village. This was a quasi secluded well appointed lodge with friendly staff and very good food. Clean. Comfortable. Great view of lake and mts. Walls are a little too flimsy and that is supported by the signs in the rooms asking guest to respect other guests desire for quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Situated in a lovely and peaceful setting with great views from all the rooms, which are a bit dated and quite basic, but clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is included and is simple, but adequate. The restaurant is not open every night but the food is first class and although the menu is quite small, the chef is willing to modify some dishes to suit guests tastes although there is not much choice if you're vegetarian.
On the minus side, there's no covered parking for residents vehicles which is a nuisance when there's a foot of snow overnight and it's minus 17. Ploughing the snow at 5.30am and scaping it off the steps right by the door at 7.30am is quite annoying when you're hoping for a lay in. Also, it would have been nice if the frozen snow overhanging the window had been removed so that we could actually have admired the view from indoors without bending over!
Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely little lodge and loved every minute. Turning into the long driveway, we entered a true winter wonderland, with a gorgeous view of the frozen lake and Blackcomb mountain from our room. The dining room is a gem, offering outstanding cuisine. We ate there both evenings and, of course, at breakfast each morning. Our hosts were friendly and thoughtful, and we very much enjoyed the two friendly dogs on the property. It felt like home -- with snow.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms, so all are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamskm, Manager at Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise here!

Just a quick note to mention that we have 12 rooms, not 7 as noted in this review. We have 6 studios & 6 suites. All are quite similar and have views out over the lake and mountains.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Kind regards,
Kylie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have a reputation for being overly harsh when it comes to rating excursions/meals, etc. However, this time I can't think of a thing to critique. We wanted quiet relaxation with snow..........that's all. We feel as though we actually got the best of it. Our experience at the Edgewater Lodge was way above what we expected. Other reviews claimed that it was pretty basic, but we've stayed in all kinds of resorts all over the world and have seen "Basic". This was definitely above average. The pictures on the webpage did not even do it justice. It was perfect for my sick husband to unwind and feel better.
The rooms were tastefully done and very cozy with huge windows offering a spectacular view of the lake and snow covered trees and ground. It was quite secluded, yet close enough to any necessary amenities, which we used only twice during our stay.
The restaurant offered the most exquisite dinner menu with items tasting better than you can imagine. The servers were very professional, yet extremely friendly and helpful. We also found the breakfast to be more than substantial, with everything being fresh and homemade. Nothing heavy and greasy. Coffee was fresh and hot and there were so many different kinds of tea to choose from. And, being slow moving creatures in the morning, we didn't feel rushed to hurry and eat and leave the dining area as soon as we were done eating. We were encouraged to sit and absorb the beautiful view for as long as we wanted. Newspapers were available to read at our leisure, and Kylie would come in and out to clear tables and answer any questions for us and would even carry on friendly conversation when we solicited it.
Unfortunately, we never got a chance to meet the chef, but he needs to know (and I'm sure he's been told a billion times) that he's more than competent. You can just tell that his heart is in everything that gets served. Everything looked so good, but tasted even better than it looked.
I could go on forever, but all I will say is that we are seriously looking into having our 20th anniversary party here. It's the perfect "venue" for what we would like to do. Regardless, we'll definitely be back to experience it again before then. We are really looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamskm, Manager at Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are looking forward to hosting your 20th Wedding Anniversary Party here :)

Cheers,
Kylie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was large but basic. We paid premium for the Christmas time and the location, and I was disappointed with the simplicity. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The snow landscape was magical. Breakfast was also simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant

Address: 8020 Alpine Way | Box 369, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Whistler
Edgewater Lodge And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.