We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whistler Village Inn + Suites

Save Saved
You added Whistler Village Inn + Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4429 Sundial Place | Blackcomb, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“OK place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Whistler Village Inn & Suites. I was very upset with the room upon my arrival. I was on vacation with my husband for a week and the only bed in the room was a Murphy bed. I wanted a regular bed. My husband talked me out of changing rooms because of the kitchenette. I would have traded the kitchenette for a bed. Sleeping on the Murphy bed was like sleeping on the floor.

There was a fireplace but it could not be used because there was no wood and no poker/brush/shovel/starter for the fireplace.

The room was a nice size and had a table & 4 chairs as well as a sofa & chair. However, the TV could not be viewed from the sofa. It could only be viewed from the bed.

The elevator was out of order the entire week we were there. I don't mind walking up three flights of stairs but I do mind when I am carrying luggage & skis.

On the plus side - the room was kept very clean. There were fresh towels every day. Housekeeping even did our dishes for us!

It was several days before we could get the heat in the room to a tolerable level. To all you Yanks, 20 - 25 C is room temperature, not 30 C!!!! It turned out that there were two thermostats in the room. One was above the sofa. The other was hidden on the wall between the frame of the Murphy bed & the wall.

There was no Whistler info in the room. I finally found a dinning guide at the grocery store. Although there is a huge binder at the front desk. It contains menus from the restaurants in town. All you have to do is ask & the desk clerk will be happy to let you look through it.

The walls are paper thin. I could hear the Houskeeping staff talking outside our room in the morning. (Our room was near the supply closet). Also the last morning I was awakened at 5 am by the children in the room above running around.

One other plus was that the hotel is about a block from the ski lifts. Contrary to other reviews I found the staff exceedingly helpful & friendly.

The breakfast buffet was cold cereal, apples & bananas, yougert, bagels, muffins, hard boilded eggs, instant oatmeal, bread, croissants, small sweet rolls, juice and there was a waffle iron where you could cook your own waffles. But as other reviewers noted there are only two tables near the breakfast area so I always took breakfast back to the room.

  • Liked — the hotel was 1 block from the ski lifts
  • Disliked — the Murphy bed & broken elevator
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    124
    88
    43
    18
See reviews for
91
109
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Not sure why people are giving this place bad reviews, We stayed there over christmas and while some things were a little disappointing it was an enjoyable time.

The staff are good, they will try to put things right if they are not, just give them a chance.

It is not 5 star and never tries to make its self out as one... it is however a reasonably priced, 3 star place that has got the best location in town.

Walking to the lifts takes about 3 minutes. Araxi is 2 minutes. Over to the upper village is 5 minutes.

The decor is being updated at the moment. Although it was a little disappointing that they were doing this while we were staying.

We would stay there again no problems, after all, how much time do you actually spend in your room? we found that saving a little by staying here rather than 5 star, meant we could hit the nice places for dinner, do fresh tracks in the mornings after a big dump, and let my wife go nuts with the credit card a bit more than usual.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — smallish rooms.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Booked a superior loft apartment on the top floor. Tacky and worn furniture, 2 light bulbs broken when we arrived, dishwasher broken and dispite being told two days for it to be fixed - it was never fixed. House keepers forgot to give us loo roll and new towells every day. One of my main concerns about the hotel however, was how uninterested the staff were with complaints. Many of them were rude and virtually ignored guests when they walked through the reception - which isn't what i'd expect from a hotel with this rating. The breakfast is in the lobby, very small and not up to expectations.

Not bad, but certainly not good. You can get more for your money in the Hilton, Fairmont or even a chalet.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Stayed here one night. Price was reasonable. Room was a good size. Lots of wear and tear in the room. Some updating was done to some of the room. Odd mix of old and new (new Granite counters in the bathroom but old bath tub and toilet). Fridge/Freezer did not work. So I went to get ice at the ice maker. Neither of the ice makers in the Hotel worked, when I told the front desk our fridge did not work and the ice machines were not working I was given directions to the closest grocery store to buy ice???? The parking lot in the hotel was full, was told to park elsewhere. Could hear everything that went on in the room above us (get a room on the top floor if you can). Overall the room was OK but the maintenance was very lacking. Not sure if I would stay again. Good place for younger people on a budget or a family looking to save money. Not that good for a couple.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of upkeep
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at this hotel before and had a pleasant experience and based on that we thought we would try it again. We booked a loft suite facing the pool, and it worked out just great. It was spacious enough for two people for sure, with a full size kitchenette that would be perfect if your into saving money and cooking in. For a family the murphy bed downstairs is a added bonus, and in our case a snoring husband was given the option of using it or sleeping outside,so that worked out well too but I digress.
There is also a small breakfast included that starts at 7am, with cereal, pasteries, toast and bagels, juices, coffee tea etc, more than enough if you dont eat heaving in the morning. Coffee and tea are also available free 24/7.
Parking is not included but its a nominal fee of $10 a night, not much really for secure covered parking. But the big bonus is the location right in the Village but quiet enough to still get some sleep. Its great to be able to run back to your room if need be and grab things you might need, that you didnt want to carry around etc.There is also a pool and a hot tub, as well as work out facilities. A nice touch as well are BBQ's on the pool deck that many families were using to have dinner.
In the same building that the hotel is in, there is also a Keg Steakhouse, as well as a nice little lounge to have a little night cap in. This place is so close to all that is going on you wont have any worry finding great places to eat and shop just steps away.
Now I have only stayed there in summer, but it would also work well for skiing, with the lifts to Whistler mountain only 100m away, and lockers downstairs for skiis etc, they look as if they are set up for winter as well.
We also got a great deal on our stay at only $107 a night plus taxes and parking its one of the best deals in Whistler for sure. Now if your into a higher end hotel obviously this wouldnt be your thing, but for us it was great, clean tidy and pleasant staff, well worth the trip to one of the greatest places on earth.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs a little paint, and tlc
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whistler Village Inn + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Village Inn + Suites

Address: 4429 Sundial Place | Blackcomb, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Village Inn + Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Value & Choice, Whistler Village Inn + Suites has it all!Whistler Village Inn + Suites puts you in the in the heart of Whistler village. Shops, restaurants, nightclubs and the Gondolas for Whistler and Blackcomb mountains are all less than a two-minute walk away. Relax in any style with a choice of hotel rooms, lofts and suites with balconies overlooking Whistler village.Only minutes from championship golf courses and abundant outdoor adventure, to get the most out of your Whistler-Blackcomb experience, the Whistler Village Inn + Suites is where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Whistler Village Inn + Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Village Inn + Hotel Whistler
Whistler Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistler Village Inn + Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.