We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite pricey, without amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite pricey, without amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Adara Hotel for 2 nights with disappointing result. I do not remember which room we stayed in, but it was very close to the bar that is open really late. Even though the bed was comfortable, in order to have comfortable sleep we had to use ear plugs (provided by Adara). Another obstacle we had to bare with was leaking shower. The glassy wall in the shower was not designed properly, it was short and the water poured outside the shower. Overall Adara was fine, but for the money we paid you can find much better place to stay in Whistler.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    63
    31
    30
See reviews for
59
165
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Not sure why some have given this hotel poor reviews. I'm sure it is no more noisy than any other hotel this close to the centre of Whistler. For us, that central location was a bonus - one minute walk to the ski lift.

Room was very clean and very comfortable - great beds! - and front-desk staff was very friendly and very accommodating to any request. Some might find the service a bit slow, because there don't seem to be a lot of staff, but hey, what's the big rush? Yes, the hallways are a bit dark, but I wasn't planning on sleeping there. Didn't use the hi-speed internet, but nice to know it was there. The in-room iPod dock was a nice touch. They have room service, sort of: a listing of local restaurants and liquor stores that will deliver to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Pleasant enough, helpful staff, rooms clean and well appointed. Great location. A bit of noise at night from the various nightclubs and bars in the area, but that is perhaps standard in Whistler. Adara provides complimentary earplugs (which I didn't need). Only real issue was that Internet, while included, was very, very slow–consistently running at dialup modem speeds over the course of my two day stay. On the plus side, they provide a coffee press pot and decent coffee in the room, which makes getting up easier.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Usually we stay on the mountain just off Blackcomb, mainly because we like to ski in and ski out, and because we thought the village would be noisy at night. Nearly every hotel I checked in the Village, said that noise at night is a concern to some people, and the Adara was no exception. I did ask for a quiet room, and we were given a room at the back and far end. A few nights we were woken up at 2am when the bars close, but based on research that was to be expected.
Other than that, the hotel was fine. Not quite as fancy as I was expecting. The furniture in the room is a bit tacky, and even the fire place is not really in the wall, it's just inside a cabinet. The beds were lovely and comfortable though, nice duvets and bath robes, and a nice sized bathroom. With the regular room, the 'kitchen' part is pretty tiny with just a microwave, fridge large enough to put in your own food, french press and very good coffee, but no dishes or cuttlery. If you plan to eat at least b/fast in the room, I would bring a bowl or whatever you will need.

The staff were all very friendly and professional. Hot tub didn't seem to be working, but as we had friends in another hotel with a nicer hot tub, we used that. I did think the hot tub area was rather disappointing for a so-called fancy hotel. The hotel is unique and a nice boutique style hotel, which we liked, but if you want more of a huge Westin-style hotel, then go down the road to the Westin! We loved the location, as it was a bit quieter than other Village hotels, but very close to everything including the bottom of the hill, a nice gym right next door, and despite not being on the mountain, the convenience of being in the Village was rather nice.
.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I loved this hotel it was amazing! Have been all over the place and without a doubt would go back here , the views were great, the rooms super clean and decor was just amazing! Im going back in the winter and would go here any time i went to whistler! xxx

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Where to start? I guess I should say that if you choose to stay here, be sure not to get booked into room 211. When we walked in and noticed a white noise machine and ear plugs next to the bed I knew something was up. There is a pub open till 2:00A.M. just across the way and a pizza place (where every loud drunk in Whistler Village goes after bars close) underneath the room that stays open till 3:00A.M. The next morning I went down to speak with the front desk. They let me know that Whistler Village tends to be noisy and that the ear plugs are just for the personal comfort. I spoke to several employees in the next 2 days and they all knew about room 211. Anyway, the front desk said to go skiing and they would move our luggage to a new room on the other side of the hotel. When we returned we found out that they moved us 2 doors down (same side of the hotel) and we went from a king to a queen bed. What?? They could not do anything else because all rooms were booked. I asked to speak to the manager and suddenly they had another room. Great, except they made us feel like it was our fault and the sink, fireplace, window, and French press were all falling apart. There were also charges on our bill for stuff from the mini-bar that we never used. Yet another snafu with the parking on our last day there. They really need to get it together, except for the bell boys, who were super cool and accommodating. As you can tell, I would not recommend this hotel unless you’re an enemy of mine.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

I came up with my boyfriend last year to celebrate our 3 year anniversary.

We stayed in one of the lofts and we loved it! Room was spacious and comfortable.. just fabulous!

The staff were extremely friendly, energetic and helpful. They had great recommendations for restaurants and were very knowledgeable overall.

I've recommended this hotel to all my friends and family. I plan to make this a yearly trip.

  • Liked — The room itself
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town’. Box design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality DesignThe decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.