We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, we have your money - No, you can't check in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marketplace Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marketplace Lodge to your Saves list
Marketplace Lodge
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4360 Lorimer Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yes, we have your money - No, you can't check in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

I booked accommodation for three nights at the Marketplace Lodge. The reservation was made over the internet through the Whistler-Blackcomb reservation system called ResortQuest. They took my credit card information and gave me a reservation number and a confirmation email.

I show up at the Marketplace Lodge at 8:00PM. Nobody is there. I find a piece of paper taped to a door beside the locked-down check-in counter. On the paper it says "this Front Desk is managed by Whistler Retreats and is not affiliated with ResortQuest. Whistler Retreats cannot help you check in. The ResortQuest phone number is ---."

I call the ResortQuest number. I get a recorded message saying that the office is now closed for the day. I re-read my confirmation email. Nowhere does it say anything about checking-in instructions.

I call the Whistler Retreats number. I explain my situation. They tell me that they get calls like mine all the time, and there is nothing they can do.

I end up going into the village and checking into another hotel.

The next morning, I called ResortQuest. They put me on hold for 18 minutes. Finally, someone picks up the phone. I explain what happened the night before. She tells me that I was supposed to check in at a different place. Over the phone, we both read through the confirmation email I received. She agrees that nowhere in the confirmation does it say that you have to check-in at a different place. Also, she is "not sure" whether my deposit will be refunded.

Is this Olympic calibre service?

I'm still waiting for a call-back from a "Manager".

And by the way, even though I never did see the guest rooms, the entrance to the Marketplace Lodge is grungy at best.

  • Liked — Finding a different hotel
  • Disliked — The lack of communication about check-in procedures
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
26
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

At first , we were horrified at first to see the prices charges by hotels in Whistler during the ski season. However after a bit more searching, we found a great room through ---.com and stayed in room 219 in the Marketplace lodge. Jacquie was very friendly and helpful before our stay and was very receptive to our requests.

The room itself was great. It was a 1 bedroom apartment with a fully stocked kitchen with everything you would find at home. We had our own washer/dryer & dishwasher and the room. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated recently and we never had a problem with the hot water. The room was warm and we didn't need to use the fireplace.

From the hotel entrance, it was a 100m walk to the free town shuttle bus to both the Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. These seemed to run every 5 minutes or so. It would probably take 15 minutes to walk to the gondola in your ski gear, but we preferred to take the bus.

We would be very happy to use this room again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed in a studio unit (308). If arriving after 5pm make sure you know your check in arrangements. We arrived after midnight, from NZ and it was a chilly frustrating time trying to find who had a key for us. Marketplace Lodge has no reception after this time and the doors lock after 10 pm. If booked through Resort Quest then you have to check in and check out at North Star Resort ( 24 hr) which is over the road past IGA grocery shop. Our unit had all we needed. The IGA shop ( 100m) was expensive but adequate. We brought our own wine with us. PO, pharmacy, liquor shop all next door and free shuttle bus stop is 50m along the shops past the liquor store, down the steps, all covered. It really is too far to walk to the lifts in ski boots. Bus takes about 5 mins. Murphy bed wasn't the best but we managed. The whole building was too hot, especially for sleeping. Would stay there again, location and facilities are great.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

We booked through [----] with Jacquie Sali and had one of the easiest and smoothest trips ever! It started out with excellent communication from Jacquie followed by a free upgrade to this unit at the Marketplace (originally selected her Alpenglow studio).

This unit is stunning, even when compared to more expensive accomodations: it has a very functional washer/dryer and dishwasher along with a microwave and full-sized stove and fridge; the gas fireplace keeps the whole unit warm (no need to turn the heat on), and the furnishings are tasteful and quality pieces.

Another plus is that the grocery store is across the parking lot and prices are realistic (lacks the "resort gouge" that you find on the hill -- $10 for a burger, fries and drink...ouch) -- the liquor store, drugstore and a variety of shops are. Our grocery bill for our 4 days (breakfasts, packed lunches for the hills, dinners, snacks, and drinks) would have been very close to what we would have paid for 8 lunches on the hills!

One thing to note is that there is no bathtub. Instead, the tub has been replaced with tile and is now a giant shower. No worries since the hottub is upstairs and well suited for a soak after the hills.

We will be recommending Jacquie's accomdations to our relatives and friends and will certainly try to book with her again!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

I just got back from a 5 night stay at the Marketplace Lodge in Whistler, BC. We stayed in unit #249, which I booked through the Allura Direct website. Overall we had a positive experience largely because of our specific room, but I will caution that there seems to be a considerable amount of variation between units.

We arrived late at night (early in the morning, really) and had some difficulty getting into the complex. We were prepared to use a code to enter our room, but had no means of getting past the front door. Luckily somebody walked by and was nice enough to let us in, but you should consider this if you intend to arrive at an odd hour. The unit we stayed in was clean and nice, with a newly renovated kitchen, comfortable bedroom and a living room complete with a gas fireplace, wall mounted flat panel TV, DVD, and even a laptop to use. My only complaint with the living room was that the pullout sofa sagged at the top and was difficult to sleep on. There was enough storage for our gear between the closets and the laundry room with washer/dryer. There is also a small alcove with bunk beds that’s fine for children or people who don’t mind being a bit cramped, and a smallish balcony.

As for Marketplace Lodge as a whole, it’s kind of on the outskirts of the village, but still a very manageable walk to the gondola and the bars/restaurants. We rented skis from Summit, which is next to the Whistler Gondola. Since they store your rental skis for free (or your own for CAN$ 5 a night) we chose to walk in our street shoes instead of clunking around in our boots to the lifts and après ski. I agree with some other reviewers who said that the complex can be a little loud due to both the parking lot and the young guests who choose Marketplace because it is a good value.

  • Liked — Good value, proximity to good skiing/nightlife
  • Disliked — Difficulty getting in.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We spent 3 nights staying at the Marketplace Lodge over Christmas and were very happy. We had some doubts based on the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, and the unhappy customer being dealt with at the front desk when we arrived to check-in (she had been given incorrect information about the bed arrangements in her apartment), but we needn't have worried.

The Lodge is located diagonally across the parking lot from the large IGA supermarket. It is about a 10 minute walk from the ski lifts and gondolas, and is close to various restaurants and pubs (try the Bavaria Restaurant!).

All of the apartments in the Lodge are privately owned and furnished and are managed by two(?) separate property management agencies. We booked through the Whistler Blackcomb Central Reservations number to get an advertised deal for holders of Whistler's EDGE card. Although the deal was not supposed to be available over the Christmas period, we asked anyway, and were given it: $99 / night for a studio apartment (at least $70 cheaper than anything else we could find). As there are two agencies, be sure you know where to check in - our check-in was a couple of blocks away.

Our studio (#212) had a full kitchen (with dishwasher), gas fireplace, aircon, comfortable double bed (that folded into a cupboard), TV, DVD player, VCR, stereo, and all mod cons. The kitchen had all the necessary pots, pans, plates, glassware, and cutlery. It was not large, but perfectly comfortable for the two of us. There was a big snowfall while we were there, and the snowplows were rather noisy in the parking lot during the night, but we always travel with earplugs and were not disturbed.

We were very happy with the Marketplace Lodge, and it was excellent value.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — No on-site check-in and luggage storage
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for discount deals
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

We have been going to Whistler, British Columbia for over 25 years and have found a wonderful little condo in Whistler Village North called the Market Place Lodge. It is unit #219 and we have rented this unit privately from Jacquie Sali for several years. It is a small one bedroom, but completely equipped with ample bedding, kitchen accessories and lots of towels. There are even terry housecoats to use when you go to the hot tub! Jacquie has worked on upgrading the unit several times over the years and it even has a washer and dryer in the ski room within the unit. It is always spotlessly clean and comfortable She can be reached at gowhistlerbyowner.com and it is well worth the visit to check this out. We love to sit in the window seat and watch the snow fall on the park area below. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, amenities, hot tub, linen supply, owners assistance
  • Disliked — A bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — Contactiing Jacquie is easy and she is very attentive
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marketplace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketplace Lodge

Address: 4360 Lorimer Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marketplace Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and well-appointed, these privately-owned condo units are the perfect choice for the traveler who enjoys comfort and convenience. Centrally-located and with a common area hot tub and easy access to shops and restaurants, Marketplace Lodge is ideal for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Marketplace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Marketplace Hotel Whistler
Marketplace Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marketplace Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.