We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good bang for your buck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marketplace Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marketplace Lodge to your Saves list
Marketplace Lodge
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4360 Lorimer Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good bang for your buck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

I just got back from a 5 night stay at the Marketplace Lodge in Whistler, BC. We stayed in unit #249, which I booked through the Allura Direct website. Overall we had a positive experience largely because of our specific room, but I will caution that there seems to be a considerable amount of variation between units.

We arrived late at night (early in the morning, really) and had some difficulty getting into the complex. We were prepared to use a code to enter our room, but had no means of getting past the front door. Luckily somebody walked by and was nice enough to let us in, but you should consider this if you intend to arrive at an odd hour. The unit we stayed in was clean and nice, with a newly renovated kitchen, comfortable bedroom and a living room complete with a gas fireplace, wall mounted flat panel TV, DVD, and even a laptop to use. My only complaint with the living room was that the pullout sofa sagged at the top and was difficult to sleep on. There was enough storage for our gear between the closets and the laundry room with washer/dryer. There is also a small alcove with bunk beds that’s fine for children or people who don’t mind being a bit cramped, and a smallish balcony.

As for Marketplace Lodge as a whole, it’s kind of on the outskirts of the village, but still a very manageable walk to the gondola and the bars/restaurants. We rented skis from Summit, which is next to the Whistler Gondola. Since they store your rental skis for free (or your own for CAN$ 5 a night) we chose to walk in our street shoes instead of clunking around in our boots to the lifts and après ski. I agree with some other reviewers who said that the complex can be a little loud due to both the parking lot and the young guests who choose Marketplace because it is a good value.

  • Liked — Good value, proximity to good skiing/nightlife
  • Disliked — Difficulty getting in.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
26
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We spent 3 nights staying at the Marketplace Lodge over Christmas and were very happy. We had some doubts based on the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, and the unhappy customer being dealt with at the front desk when we arrived to check-in (she had been given incorrect information about the bed arrangements in her apartment), but we needn't have worried.

The Lodge is located diagonally across the parking lot from the large IGA supermarket. It is about a 10 minute walk from the ski lifts and gondolas, and is close to various restaurants and pubs (try the Bavaria Restaurant!).

All of the apartments in the Lodge are privately owned and furnished and are managed by two(?) separate property management agencies. We booked through the Whistler Blackcomb Central Reservations number to get an advertised deal for holders of Whistler's EDGE card. Although the deal was not supposed to be available over the Christmas period, we asked anyway, and were given it: $99 / night for a studio apartment (at least $70 cheaper than anything else we could find). As there are two agencies, be sure you know where to check in - our check-in was a couple of blocks away.

Our studio (#212) had a full kitchen (with dishwasher), gas fireplace, aircon, comfortable double bed (that folded into a cupboard), TV, DVD player, VCR, stereo, and all mod cons. The kitchen had all the necessary pots, pans, plates, glassware, and cutlery. It was not large, but perfectly comfortable for the two of us. There was a big snowfall while we were there, and the snowplows were rather noisy in the parking lot during the night, but we always travel with earplugs and were not disturbed.

We were very happy with the Marketplace Lodge, and it was excellent value.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — No on-site check-in and luggage storage
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for discount deals
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

We have been going to Whistler, British Columbia for over 25 years and have found a wonderful little condo in Whistler Village North called the Market Place Lodge. It is unit #219 and we have rented this unit privately from Jacquie Sali for several years. It is a small one bedroom, but completely equipped with ample bedding, kitchen accessories and lots of towels. There are even terry housecoats to use when you go to the hot tub! Jacquie has worked on upgrading the unit several times over the years and it even has a washer and dryer in the ski room within the unit. It is always spotlessly clean and comfortable She can be reached at gowhistlerbyowner.com and it is well worth the visit to check this out. We love to sit in the window seat and watch the snow fall on the park area below. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, amenities, hot tub, linen supply, owners assistance
  • Disliked — A bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — Contactiing Jacquie is easy and she is very attentive
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed in this hotel during the 3 day weekend in January. The size of our room was good and it was nice to have a little kichen. The down side is the hotels hot tube was supper dirty, it had condoms in it. Also it is super far from the lifts! Its one of the farthest hotels from the lifts. Parking is reasonably priced for Whistler (low actually). Its nice to have the market place right next to the hotel if you are traveling on a budget (big budget). Staying in this hotel is great if your on a large budget. Otherwise customer service fits what you pay, thats good. Rooms are clean but common areas, stairs, hot tub not very clean.

  • Liked — Price $100 prime ski season weekend
  • Disliked — Noisy, far from lift, hot-tub dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — If you take extra five minutes to search you can ALWAYS book this hotel for less then $100 even during christmas!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Arrived at 5:50PM on a Sunday evening to find reception shut and a phone number to call if there were any problems. Called the number and the woman who answered said that as I hadn't booked through her agency she didn't know what room I was in. It transpires that each unit in the building is indivudally owned and the owner then chooses who to let their unit through. The woman kindly gave me a number for the agency who we had booked through. I rang them and their offices were closed. I thought that we were going to have to look elsewhere. I then re phoned the woman again and she said that she would make some enquiries and get back to me. About 10 minutes later she called me back and said that I had to check into a hotel round the corner and collect keys from there and these would give me access to Marketplace Lodge. I followed her instructions and managed to get into the flat after about an hour of messing around. MAKE SURE YOU KNOW YOUR ACCESS ARRANGMENTS before you arrive as the reception in the building is not staffed for more than a few hours each day.

The flat itself was excellent, very clean, TV, phone, excellent bathroom and bedroom and loved the balcony looking over the slopes too!

Very secure parking as well, all underground and accessable only with a key.

  • Liked — Views and space
  • Disliked — Check in arrangments
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you know your check in arrangments before you arrive
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We booked two nights at the Marketplace Lodge via [-------------]. The room is okay value for the price. The location is great. We didn't need to drive at all during our stay. The conditon of the condo is in okay shape. Some general maintenance work are needed but fair condition in general. The Marketplace lodge is a shipping center with condos on top settings. Our condo is right above the liquor store and may be next to some bars. They big problem is the noise at night in the parking lot especially after 11:00pm. There are lots of screaming and yelling and we even saw one fighting in the parking lot. Hopefully this is just our luck. We woke up a few time at night because of the noise. The other problem is the early check out time (10:00 am). It is hard to imagine getting up early to pack during vacation. We've called the front side (on hold for 15mins) and they give us an extra 30 minutes to check out. We love Whistler and definitely will go back. However, we will look elsewhere for accomodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise and early check out time.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

We booked through a central booking agency for 4 nights at the Marketplace Lodge. I had a bad feeling when we walked in the lobby since it was dirty and the wicker couch was falling apart. My feeling was confirmed when we saw the place. It hadn't been cleaned, and it didn't look like cleaning it would be a great improvement. We balked and were shown another room. It was better, but it had also seen better days. It looked like a groups of teens/20-year olds had partied the place to its current state.

Apparently, the units are individually owned, so there is bound to be lots of variability. I will say I appreciate a clean room, so others might not be dissatisfied. The end result was we told the agent that we wanted to cancel the lodging. He said that wasn't possible, but he took us to a condo in the Woods which was great--really clean and very nicely furnished.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marketplace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketplace Lodge

Address: 4360 Lorimer Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marketplace Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and well-appointed, these privately-owned condo units are the perfect choice for the traveler who enjoys comfort and convenience. Centrally-located and with a common area hot tub and easy access to shops and restaurants, Marketplace Lodge is ideal for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Marketplace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Marketplace Hotel Whistler
Marketplace Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marketplace Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.