We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very uncomfortable beds after a day of activities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Summit Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hugs!
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good location, but very uncomfortable beds after a day of activities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Pros: shuttle to Whistler ski area.
hot tub, and sauna.
Ski and Snowboard storage.

Cons: shuttle stopped at 4:20pm.
Bed hard as a rock and pillows lumpy.
Could hear water in the pipes overhead from all the other rooms.
Outside pool.
$21 parking per night.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    309
    77
    16
    12
See reviews for
241
407
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The Romance Package has to be the best deal in Whistler - with parking, bubbly and chocolate, late checkout and a delicious breakfast included. Staff was polite and helpful. We upgraded(for a nominal fee) to an Executive Suite with a gas fireplace and a view of the mountaintops. It was a wonderful overnight escape!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Our room (actually a studio with kitchen) was very comfortable. The hotel itself looks trendy / modern and is nice. Excellent stay when exploring Whistler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed with a couple of my girlfriends and we were all extremely disappointed to the point it was almost laughable. We had paid for the extra person thinking we would get a room with two beds only to find out it was one and a pullout. It was when we were getting ready for bed we realized that the pullout didn't have any bedding on it. We called down and they said it was in the coffee table (trunk) and we had to make it up ourselves. Fine. The bedding however was dirty. I called down again and asked if they could bring us up some clean sheets for the pullout cause the ones we had were dirty. We waited about 20 minutes and a gentleman knocked on the door. I took them from him and quickly opened them up to notice they too were dirty/stained. I pointed it out and asked what was on them. He looked closer and said "I don't know". I asked if he would please bring me some that weren't dirty and he said, no word of a lie, "I don't have time to find you clean ones". Now, in his defence, they do come back from laundry in cute little folded bundles and I am sure he just meant he couldn't go through and unwrap them all to inspect them...but saying you don't have time to find a hotel guest 'clean sheets' is laughable. I slept fully clothed on the pullout with the less than fresh bedding.

My girlfriends didn't fair any better on the bed. In the morning when they were getting up they noticed the sheets pulled off (they aren't fitted, it's a tucked flat sheet) and the mattress pad was disgusting. The elastic was broken on one corner and under we found....cigarette butts. I will put up the pictures when I can find them; for obvious reasons they didn't make the holiday album!!

We told the front desk upon checkout that we were not impressed with the housekeeping and the responses to our request for clean bedding. She took our phone numbers and email addresses and said she would have the manager contact us. She did not offer waive the extra person charge or even the parking charge and to this day the manger has not called.

I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel. If there is ANY other room in ANY other hotel ANYwhere else in the city of Whistler - do yourself a favour and book it and not the Summit Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitLodgeSpa, Front Office Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Hello Shannileigh

I'm terribly sorry to hear that your stay was below standard. Please me assured, Summit Lodge has been under new management since your stay, and measures have been taken to ensure standard of service as you have described are far higher now.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Breakfast: Not included
Fully Equipped Kitchenette: Yes
High-speed Internet access in room: Yes!
Pet Policy: Dogs welcome, pets stay free!
Underground Parking: $19 plus tax a night

CLEAN! Loved the hotel! We stayed here with our medium sized Australian Shepherd and he was treated with the same level of service as we were!. I would never thought dogs stayed at this hotel as the housekeepers maintain the rooms amazingly. I have not seen one strand of hair on our furniture. I did not hear a single dog barking during our stay and there were no noticeable pet odors. The housekeepers are very friendly in the morning and always take the time to make sure you have everything you need. Canine Cove, found opposite the public at Lost Lake is approximately 20-25 minutes trail walk from the hotel. Dogs are welcome off-leash on the dock, just past the Cove as well.

Located near the Marketplace, minutes from the Marketplace IGA, 7-11, Post Office, Whistler Public Library and the Village. The rooms are nicely set up for working, with a table and desk. Although breakfast is not offered, the fully equipped kitchenette is very convenient for preparing meals, and has all that you would require.

Underground parking fee is $19 a night but is secure and requires room key for access. Free wireless internet access in the rooms is a bonus, as not all Whistler hotels have this. Overall we would highly recommend the Summit Lodge & Spa and would revisit without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

It was our third stay at this hotel and we usually leave with a wonderful experience. Upon our departure, however, our online quote was not honored and it took 45 minutes for the manager to offer some type of resolution to our dilemma. It was not so much the pay difference we had to compromise with but the cold, unfriendly, unappologetic demeanor we received that was a disapointment. This put a damper on our trip...other than that the rest of the staff had been the usual warm and friendly. The room was comfortable, though a few items needed fixing/replacing (shower head, coffee maker, missing soap).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryCook, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

When you checked out the amount charged was disputed. This was a reservation that had been made directly through the hotel's on line reservation service not directly with the hotel, thus the amount charged was as entered through the web site. At that time a copy of the booking could not be found so an adjustment was made to closer reflect what you thought should be charged. An offer was then made that when you arrive home and find the original booking a refund would be made if it was determined that in fact the amount charged was incorrect. That offer of the refund still stands and we are more than willing to remedy our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Summit was our choice for a Whistler break based on a deal from Expedia. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous, this is a very dog friendly hotel, and the rooms were in good condition (whistler rooms tend to get treated rather roughly by partying guests). In terms of cleanliness, the room was ok, we found chocolate left on the floor, food stains on the kitchenette backsplash, and a bottle with the previous guests' cigarette butts on the balcony. Being a parent of a small child, I'm used to picking up after others and because we had a good deal from expedia the cleanliness wasn't a huge issue. The spa is attractive, but very expensive, beware that you will be charged an automatic 16.5% gratuity plus taxes on the cost of the service. The pool and hot tubs are small. We were not impressed that guests could have their dogs at the pool. On our check out day we noticed the staff trying to keep the outdoor pool clean, we weren't really sure if the pool was being maintained while we were there due to the large amounts of debris in the pool and hot tub. We ended up using the pool cleaning tools to clean the pool each before we went in as the pool was full of outdoor debris and we saw other guests cleaning out the filter for the hot tub. Parking is $19 a day, which should be factored into the price if you are comparing this hotel to others in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Spa

Address: 4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#6 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#8 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Lodge is constantly changing and re-designing. The Summit offers more than just a hotel room, it is an experience. Nestled in the center of Whistler village, our guests can enjoy a memorable escape in an intimate atmosphere. Previous guests have often commented on how the Summit Lodge was an experience like no other and we have countless numbers of returning guests thanks to their enjoyable and pleasant stay. It is because of this that the Summit is more than just a hotel; it gives guest cherished memories, something which is difficult put a price on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Summit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.