We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try hard in Whistler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Summit Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free hugs!
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try hard in Whistler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved the Summit Lodge. We had one up from the regular room so a bit more space than other rooms. The deck was large enough for us to sit on but I think the smaller rooms had smaller decks. The deck is important to us. Bed was the best I have been on.... Couldn't say a bad thing about it. We also enjoyed having full sun by the pool. Not always easy with tall buildings around you. The best treat were the people that work there. They tried very hard to answer silly questions and tried to please all the quests. The free fancy coffees in lobby was a bonus.

Room Tip: Upgrade for larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks for the review. We get all kinds of questions and we always do our best to answer them!
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    279
    72
    16
    11
See reviews for
208
349
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just took a mini getaway from the city and decided to try Summit Lodge. We have a large dog and the welcomed him the same as they did us. Our room was great, the service was fantastic and the pool was perfect temperature. HUGE Thank you to Mark, the bike shop guy for hooking us up with sweet bikes.Go see this man if you want the best deal and the best bikes in whistler village.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Happy to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. Our staff love welcoming every dog!
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great hotel for the entire family. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It's right in the village and directly across from the play area for kids. Easy access to the village stroll and all the shops/restaurants. The kitchenette is not very big with just enough room for your breakfast and lunch needs with a bar fridge and a 2 burner cook top.

The hotel staff was accommodating and allowed us to park our over height vehicle in a 'special' spot, but don't depend on this as I know Whistler can be very busy at times. Mark at the bike/ski/board shop was great and helped me out with some minor repairs to my bike which was why we were in Whistler.

A great bonus is that it's completely pet friendly and we had our 85 lb lab there without any problems.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with babies or toddlers and have lots of extra stuff (i.e. stroller, play pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first time in Whistler and having never been there before we relied on a recommendation from the visitor center. For us, and our needs this was a perfect fit. Everything was well laid out and convenient from the secure parking and the kitchenette, to the unexpected bonus of free bicycle use included with the room. Mark "the bike guy" went above and beyond to accommodate us and fit bikes for us. The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous and assisted us in every way we asked. As far as I am concerned they set the standard for service and when I am able to return I won't even look elsewhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Mark at the bike shop was great! He was friendly and very helpful. He assisted us three times. The front desk staff were wonderful and helpful. Location was good.
Thanks for making our trip a great visit to Whistler.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to the Whistler for our small break in early May and stayed at Summit Lodge again. Happily, the weather was very good and less crowd in this season. The young and old skiers enjoyed the mountain top snow and we enjoyed our break at the Whistler and lakeside walks. We stopped at Shannon Falls and Brandywine Falls before arrive at the Whistler.

Unfortunately, any Gondolas rides to reach the top of the mountains in the Whistler were not operating because of the regular maintenance. However, we could use the Express Chair Lifts from the Upper Village to the Blackcomb Mt. top to enjoy the snow & views. It was almost 30 minutes in total in two express chair lifts to the top of Blackcomb Mt. and a little cold too. Yet, the views from the chair lifts were amazing and, we found it was much better riding the open-air lift chair than Gondola box.

Last July, 2012, we stayed at Summit Lodge for 3 nights, and it was much easier to find everything in the lodge. We thought their underground tight-parking-spaces were much improved than last year and I believed they added more parking spaces(?). In addition, we found this lodge had the very friendly personals working at the front desk to help the guests. There was a nice coffee machine in the lobby for the guests that every morning we went down to the lobby to get the morning coffee. It makes a delicious coffee because each and every-time the machine was grinding new coffee beans to brew a coffee for us. Also every evening, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi & Pool for relaxing.

We got a great snow capped mountain view’s room at 4th floor, but every-time when we entered the room we could smell the strong chemical odour and never went away this odour for our entire stay. Strangely enough, this time of our stay, nobody bothered to do any housekeeping works for 3 nights. The housekeepers just knocked our door in the morning and asked “Do you need anything?” that all they did. Maybe, the Summit Lodge changed their housekeeping policy that no housekeeping for any long stays guests……Fortunately or unfortunately, this is the dog friendly hotel that you could smell the animal odor a little bit & occasionally encountered a big dog in the elevator!

It was a pleasant stay at Summit Lodge again. It's not a fancy hotel but located in a good location in the Whistler Village north near the Olympic Plaza, within walking distance to the heart of Whistler Village but far enough away from the noisy village area.

We will stay again in the near future but not the crazy Winter Ski season. Even Fri/Sat. in slow season in May at Summit Lodge, it was difficult to find a parking spot at the underground parking. In the late evening, often there is no space available at all but still you could be charged $20/per day, because 1st come, 1st serve!

Room Tip: Noisy Ski season asks a pool view room, and Slow season ask a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An advantage of this property is the kitchenette. Enough room to store ski equipment for 2 people, as long as you put stuff on the floor and things like the TV tables, there is not much drawer or closet storage, but not a big problem. The location is about a 7 minute walk from the slopes in street shoes, so really not walkable in ski boots. The van shuttle runs frequently and we never had a long wait all week and Mark, the regular shuttle driver, is a pleasure to deal with. There are food markets very close.A 7-11 right across the street, a large food market a little farther in a pretty big shopping center, along with a MacDonald's. Fortunately you are not real close to bars and night clubs so there is not a lot of noise to interfere with sleeping but it is not a far walk to those places..The hot tub is small but that is not a problem for me as I usually don't use those.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Spa

Address: 4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#12 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Lodge is constantly changing and re-designing. The Summit offers more than just a hotel room, it is an experience. Nestled in the center of Whistler village, our guests can enjoy a memorable escape in an intimate atmosphere. Previous guests have often commented on how the Summit Lodge was an experience like no other and we have countless numbers of returning guests thanks to their enjoyable and pleasant stay. It is because of this that the Summit is more than just a hotel; it gives guest cherished memories, something which is difficult put a price on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.