We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time to stayed in summit Lodge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Summit Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summit Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free hugs!
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“2nd time to stayed in summit Lodge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to the Whistler for our small break in early May and stayed at Summit Lodge again. Happily, the weather was very good and less crowd in this season. The young and old skiers enjoyed the mountain top snow and we enjoyed our break at the Whistler and lakeside walks. We stopped at Shannon Falls and Brandywine Falls before arrive at the Whistler.

Unfortunately, any Gondolas rides to reach the top of the mountains in the Whistler were not operating because of the regular maintenance. However, we could use the Express Chair Lifts from the Upper Village to the Blackcomb Mt. top to enjoy the snow & views. It was almost 30 minutes in total in two express chair lifts to the top of Blackcomb Mt. and a little cold too. Yet, the views from the chair lifts were amazing and, we found it was much better riding the open-air lift chair than Gondola box.

Last July, 2012, we stayed at Summit Lodge for 3 nights, and it was much easier to find everything in the lodge. We thought their underground tight-parking-spaces were much improved than last year and I believed they added more parking spaces(?). In addition, we found this lodge had the very friendly personals working at the front desk to help the guests. There was a nice coffee machine in the lobby for the guests that every morning we went down to the lobby to get the morning coffee. It makes a delicious coffee because each and every-time the machine was grinding new coffee beans to brew a coffee for us. Also every evening, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi & Pool for relaxing.

We got a great snow capped mountain view’s room at 4th floor, but every-time when we entered the room we could smell the strong chemical odour and never went away this odour for our entire stay. Strangely enough, this time of our stay, nobody bothered to do any housekeeping works for 3 nights. The housekeepers just knocked our door in the morning and asked “Do you need anything?” that all they did. Maybe, the Summit Lodge changed their housekeeping policy that no housekeeping for any long stays guests……Fortunately or unfortunately, this is the dog friendly hotel that you could smell the animal odor a little bit & occasionally encountered a big dog in the elevator!

It was a pleasant stay at Summit Lodge again. It's not a fancy hotel but located in a good location in the Whistler Village north near the Olympic Plaza, within walking distance to the heart of Whistler Village but far enough away from the noisy village area.

We will stay again in the near future but not the crazy Winter Ski season. Even Fri/Sat. in slow season in May at Summit Lodge, it was difficult to find a parking spot at the underground parking. In the late evening, often there is no space available at all but still you could be charged $20/per day, because 1st come, 1st serve!

Room Tip: Noisy Ski season asks a pool view room, and Slow season ask a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    236
    62
    15
    10
See reviews for
173
268
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An advantage of this property is the kitchenette. Enough room to store ski equipment for 2 people, as long as you put stuff on the floor and things like the TV tables, there is not much drawer or closet storage, but not a big problem. The location is about a 7 minute walk from the slopes in street shoes, so really not walkable in ski boots. The van shuttle runs frequently and we never had a long wait all week and Mark, the regular shuttle driver, is a pleasure to deal with. There are food markets very close.A 7-11 right across the street, a large food market a little farther in a pretty big shopping center, along with a MacDonald's. Fortunately you are not real close to bars and night clubs so there is not a lot of noise to interfere with sleeping but it is not a far walk to those places..The hot tub is small but that is not a problem for me as I usually don't use those.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great location in Whistler Village. Near shops, restaurants and great hiking and biking (This time of year not much snow but still skiable) The room was clean, simple and comfortable. My only compliant was the shower. Water kept going from hot to cold and back. Service was friendly and the restaurant in the hotel, "Element" offered a very good breakfast but I don't recommend dinner there. If we had more time we would have explored other food offerings close by. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay again. The pricing was reasonable for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Got this room off a travel zoo offer. $119 per night with a $25 voucher for the spa ( per night). Great room with a kitchenette. A little noisy on the balcony during the day but nothing that a nice wine and good company couldn't take your mind off. The King bed is very comfortable, wifi is included. Get away and take advantage of "Dine in Whistler". My wife is spring skiing today and I will be checking out the village. I agree with Leslie A about Elements restaurant. A must

Room Tip: Go onto travelzoo and see what bargains are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Summit Lodge & Spa in April 2013. The hotel upgraded us for free to an executive suite, facing on to the hot tub. The room was beautiful, the king size bed was comfy, and the staff was friendly and helpful.
The mini fridge did make a rather load motor noise, but it did not keep us awake.

The hotel was in "Village North", which only means that it's not in view of the ski lifts. It was a 7 minute walk to the Whistler gondola, and it was well worth it to be a bit away from the main bar action and therefore further from the village party noises.
The hotel had a shuttle to take skiiers and equipment to the lifts, and it was quick and efficient, and the driver Mark was great.
The hotel's in-house ski shop/valet Underground Tuning, is run by a great guy, Yohann, who secretly tuned up my skis for free one night when he was not busy.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great rooms, comfy beds, kitchenette, but be sure to eat at Elements Restaurant that is attached which is excellent. Would stay here again but do wonder why the auto coffee machine in the lobby is "off" until 7am. ????? We left at 6:30am and wanted a cup if coffee. Not a deal breaker, but it"s a self service machine after all. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled up from Seattle for two nights in Summit Lodge. The customer service was excellent right from when we booked with Emma to when we left (later than we should have) on Sunday. It was our first time in Whistler and the staff were helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The hotel was in an ideal location, next to the village and only a short walk to the gondola. All in all a great trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Spa

Address: 4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#11 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Lodge is constantly changing and re-designing. The Summit offers more than just a hotel room, it is an experience. Nestled in the center of Whistler village, our guests can enjoy a memorable escape in an intimate atmosphere. Previous guests have often commented on how the Summit Lodge was an experience like no other and we have countless numbers of returning guests thanks to their enjoyable and pleasant stay. It is because of this that the Summit is more than just a hotel; it gives guest cherished memories, something which is difficult put a price on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Summit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.