We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Summit Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summit Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the Summit Lodge & Spa in January, 2013 (Sunday through Wednesday), and I'd stay there again.

The lobby was very comfortable with couches, a fire, coffee and water. The reception staff were inconsistent - some were great/very helpful, but others were inattentive.

We stayed in a two queen room and overlooked the road (all the 2 queen rooms overlook the road). I would say it was a 3.5 star hotel. The room was quiet and we had a great view of the mountain over the rooftops. We loved the a kitchenette (small fridge, coffee maker, sink, cooktop, kettle, toaster). The beds were comfortable and the were several types of pillows. The gas fireplace was great to counter-act the draft along the floor. The bathroom was a reasonable size.

My friend went to the spa for a massage and said it was a really nice experience. We used the hot tub and sauna every night - loved that.

We ate at Elements (the restaurant on site) several times. The food was great and the service was prompt.

They served hot chocolate and bailey's one afternoon, but I missed it :(

Really, the only complaints I have are very minor: no hand lotion in the room (when I asked for some they sent some up right away, but it was past its expiration date); we ran out of tissue and toilet paper, so had to ask for more; they didn't clean our room until after 4pm; and they didn't vacuum at least one day. However, the housekeepers were very friendly and even washed our dirty dishes.

This hotel was very near a grocery store (IGA), which was really convenient given our kitchenette.

Bottom line - I have stayed at various places in Whistler that were all nicer than this. But I couldn't beat it for the price we paid. I'd definitely stay here again, price dependent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    251
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
186
291
26
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the Summit and it will now be my first choice to stay. All of the staff are so friendly, from the cleaning staff who greet you in the morning, to the front desk, to the repair shop. There was a problem with my booking, and Courtney was incredibly helpful with fixing it, and even doing so without my presence so that it wouldn't take time out of my day. Except for seeing a friendly pup at the beginning and end of the day, you would never know it is a dog friendly hotel...spotlessly clean and quiet. I can't wait to come back in april!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed, along with our 70-lb labrador retreiver, at the Summit over this past holiday weekend. It has a great location in the village and was very welcoming to dogs. Our studio room was nicely appointed and met our needs nicely. My only complaint was specific to our particular room in that it was located across from the ice machine & elevator, so it was a bit loud for us on the first night. After we settled in & skied a day, it didn't seem to matter. The staff was responsive to our requests and our shuttle driver, Mark, was terrific. He was always helpful with skis, getting in & out of the van, and we saw him go the extra miles helping a few families managing kids & ski gear. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: You probably can't be too picky if you are traveling with pet, but we'll ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The place is nice and clean and acceasable. The people are really helpful. Mark the shuttle diver is always helping you get where you need to go, fun and helpful! We enjoyed our stay! The kitchenette was super handy for saving money. The hot tub and sauna hit the spot after a day on the hill.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Mark was our shuttle driver and he was very friendly and helpful. The outdoor hot tub was also a nice treat. Plus they gave us late checkout since we were severely delayed due to a really bad accident on the sea to sky highway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Summit Lodge. We liked our room, we had a really comfy king. The staff is the best part of staying here, from the front desk, to the ski valets, the room cleaning staff and the shuttle driver, Mark. They loved our dog Rusty and made a fuss over him. There are numerous restaurants within a few minutes walk and lots of parks nearby for dog walking. There was an enormous snow storm during our stay but Mark was out front with the shuttle right at 8 am. We have stayed at hotels closer to the lifts but Mark drops us off adjacent to Skiers Plaza and is back every ten minutes so the distance away from the lift is inconsequential. This is the best deal in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Irwin H,

Thank you for your awesome review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and Rusty was treated like royalty. We hope that you return soon!

Regards,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Came here for part of our honeymoon. Nice, efficient welcome, friendly staff. Room was well appointed and clean with a MASSIVE, comfy bed. Little things let it down, eg broken hangers in the wardrobe. At least half the TV channels were blocked, which was annoying; for quite a pricey room (by UK standards) this was disappointing. Ski storage useful and the free shuttle to the slopes (driven by Mark, what a nice friendly guy) was a real bonus.

Overall a good lodge which we would recommend and return to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear jjh97,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your room. If you would like to discuss these matters with me I would be more that happy to talk to you.
Please contact me at tony@summitlodge.com.

Have a great day!

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Spa

Address: 4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#12 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Lodge is constantly changing and re-designing. The Summit offers more than just a hotel room, it is an experience. Nestled in the center of Whistler village, our guests can enjoy a memorable escape in an intimate atmosphere. Previous guests have often commented on how the Summit Lodge was an experience like no other and we have countless numbers of returning guests thanks to their enjoyable and pleasant stay. It is because of this that the Summit is more than just a hotel; it gives guest cherished memories, something which is difficult put a price on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Summit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.