We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff..but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Summit Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free hugs!
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff..but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Summit at the end of August. Loved that this hotel was pet friendly but I do have to mention that our suite could have used a better cleaning. The couch was stained and had bits of things (?) on it. I don't understand why some hotels do not use actual duvet covers..a sheet over a duvet just doesn't cut for me..I did not appreciate the stains on it. Made me wonder if the duvet was changed after each visit (doubt it). Overall not a bad place and the staff were wonderful. I am hoping that the lack of a good cleaning is not because this place is pet friendly, if anything..there should be extra care taken. Also enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker.

Room Tip: A suite at the back of the hotel facing the pool area was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Linda M,
I apologize that your room was not cleaned to the highest standard. We take every effort at the Summit Lodge to ensure that the rooms are perfect for when the guest checks in. Thank you though for your feedback. If you decide to stay with us again please contact me directly and I will make sure that your stay is much more pleasant.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    275
    71
    16
    11
See reviews for
205
339
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived in whistler on the way to jasper,by car. We hadn't booked anywhere as we didn't intend to stay ,but after wandering around we decided to stay the night. On arrival at the reception we were met by Colleen who was very helpful and showed us to our room. We were both delighted with our room , which was very clean . Bath robes were a plus, pity there were no slippers though!
We have told everyone we have met how nice whistler and this hotel was. Hopefully we will be back in the future for more nights this time.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back over looking the spa, lovely view .I could just about touch the trees fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear TraceyAyrshire,

It was a pleasure to read your review. So happy that your stay went smoothly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from a family weekend to see our son-in-law finish the bike trek from Vancouver to Whistler. There were 10 of us and the staff made arrangements for three 1 bedroom units all beside each other and two of our families had our respective dogs stay with us. A very dog friendly place.
Everything in our room was great. There was a well stocked kitchen with a small fridge, a two element burner and a microwave. The queen beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculate.
I have two suggestions I think would help make the lodge more friendly for disabled guest. The four designated disabled parking spots should have the disabled designation painted on the wall of the parking stall. As a disabled driver, I was disappointed to see that only one car had a Disabled Hanger. I am disabled and reported it to the desk. I don't know if anything was done.
The other suggestion is to put grab bars on the back wall of the bath/shower. Again this is a disabled item I find very helpfull when climbing into a high sided bathtub.
My wife and daughter loved their visit to the Lodge's Spa. We had lunch in the Lodge's restaurant and found it very tasty and reasonably priced
Regardless, of my two suggestions we are looking forward to spending another weekend at the Summit Lodge.

Room Tip: To avoid late night party noise on Main Street, ask for a room on the backside overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Nsoldgoat,

Happy to hear that your Grand Fondo weekend was a success! Thank you for your feedback and suggestions on the room!
I apologize about the incident regarding your parking spot and understand your frustration. If you choose to stay with us again please contact me directly and I will personally make your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a very fast check-in on arrival at Summit Lodge and were able to park the car underground easily - it is great having a lift straight to your room so minimum carrying of luggage. The room was perfect and lovely comfy bed - so convenient for all amenities at Whistler - mountain lift, restaurants, tourist info all within easy walking distance. Unfortunately I was taken ill on our second day and the staff were most helpful in directing me to the walk-in clinic where I was able to obtain medication which fortunately made me better! Whistler is a great place for hiking and biking during the day and has some great restaurants/bars at night. Th pool/spa was a great addition to the enjoyment of our stay - well done for having such a well managed hotel. We must have been lucky but we did not hear anydisturbance during the night either in or outside the hotel - in fact we thought how quiet it was!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Parobbo,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read!
I'm sorry to hear that you became ill during your stay, but happy to hear that you were looked after.
Once again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Bc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Watch your bill!
I booked the place through Whistler.com and was quoted $119/night.
I made the mistake of NOT checking my bill when I left and found the hotel charged me account $135.15/night plus HST. I am not happy and will not return.
I booked the hotel because of its good location, but will not return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear about the unexpected charge on your account. Please phone our hotel on 604-932-2778 or send an email with your details to frontdesk@summitlodge.com.
I will look into your account and ensure that the appropriate refund is issued.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just great... loved the suites, my husband liked the massage, the kids liked their own TV, and the dog was treated like a prince.

Downside: it's a party town, so when drunken party-goers are chatting outside your bedroom window having a smoke, you just gotta close your window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your review. Im glad that every member of your family enjoyed their holiday.
Im sorry to hear that your night's sleep was disturbed. Please know that we have a no party policy in the hotel and do not tolerate excessive noise late at night. Please let us know if you decide to book with us again and we will make sure that you have a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge & Spa

Address: 4359 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
#12 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Lodge is constantly changing and re-designing. The Summit offers more than just a hotel room, it is an experience. Nestled in the center of Whistler village, our guests can enjoy a memorable escape in an intimate atmosphere. Previous guests have often commented on how the Summit Lodge was an experience like no other and we have countless numbers of returning guests thanks to their enjoyable and pleasant stay. It is because of this that the Summit is more than just a hotel; it gives guest cherished memories, something which is difficult put a price on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Summit Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.