We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is ideal, rooms are decent for a skiing getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn At Whistler Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn At Whistler Village to your Saves list
Executive Inn At Whistler Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 Village Stroll, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Location is ideal, rooms are decent for a skiing getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had my concerns reading previous reviews, but I was overall pleased with my stay. Rooms are a bit small, and the furniture did not help (over-sized dresser, round table w/ 3 chairs for a room setup for 2 people), and random unused space. It was also noisy with early morning delivery trucks and thin walls. But the bed was comfy and there was a full kitchen. Buy wine and snacks along your road-trip to save cash if you are doing a week-long trip. Staff was friendly, although the front desk is squeezed in what looks like it was closet. It would have been nice to have more concierge-like services though. I wanted a massage and the only one they could think of was a VERY pricey one a drive away. I later found an ad for a $45 Swedish massage right in the village, but it was too late to book.

Internet charge is ridiculous, $5 per hour! Don't waste your money, many lodges, restaurants and Starbucks offer it free.

What I liked most about this hotel, it is located in the heart of the village, steps away from the gondola, restaurants and bars. Definitely a PLUS when lugging skis and walking in ski boots.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a room facing the village. We stayed on the 2nd floor and would wake up ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Executive Inn At Whistler Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased you found your overall stay with us was a pleasant one.

I agree with your feedback in regards to concierge related services. It seems we fell short in this area and for that I apologize. I have shared your comments with my team to have this area of opportunity addressed for your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    52
    38
    26
See reviews for
36
136
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here at the Executive Inn at Whistler Village for our four year anniversary, and had an overall excellent experience! At first it was a bit hard to find, but once we found it we realized that the location could not be beat. Right in the village stroll, close to bars, restaraunts and a minute walk to the gondola. We arrived earlier than our check in, at around 2:15 (check in is a 4) but our room was already ready! So that was great. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was impeccable. A view of Whistler/Blackcomb runs/gondola from the living room windows (which were giant), and a view of the village stroll and another beautiful mountain from the balcony. Great for people watching. The bathroom boasts a GIANT jetted tub which was great for bubble baths. The bed is in a loft upstairs, again with stunning views of the mountains. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend getting the master suite, we immediately felt at home there. Overall I give this hotel great reviews! We had an awesome stay there and will surely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Executive Inn At Whistler Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for staying with us!

We appreciate your feedback and I'll make certain to share your comments with my team. They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back and to be of assistance when your vacation plans include another visit to Whistler.

Regards

Joe McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Usually I am not a picky traveler, but I actually checked into this room, then immediately checked out and stayed at the holiday inn.

The room was so small my girlfriend got claustrophobic and the bathroom was laughable. Shower was about 2 feet wide and sprayed onto the toilet.

front desk is a wooden desk with a lap top. Great location and the staff were nice enough, but for $200 night your are MUCH better off at the holiday inn, or anywhere else for that matter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Executive Inn At Whistler Village, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sean


I was disappointed to read you weren’t happy with one of our room types. We have a wide selection of guest rooms at both our Village side and Mountainside locations from cozy studios to well-appointed suites.

Although the room you had booked fell short of your expectations, I feel we missed an opportunity to showcase our product to you, and perhaps find a room which better suited your needs and for that I apologize.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Whistler I would be happy to assist you in booking a room which would better suit your expectations.

Regards
Joe McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

If your objective of visiting Whistler is skiing, then this hotel is in an excellent location. Just steps away from the Whistler Village Gondola and many other meeting places for activities. Whistler Village is a small and compact village that it doesn't take very long to walk from one place to another.
This hotel is not particularly easy to locate if you are driving in as it's lobby doors are not clear. I drove around in circles expecting to see a clearly marked building entrance. It is very easy to miss. But once you know what you are looking for, then it is easy.
In the night time, also because it is located close to pubs and bars, it tends to be a little on the noisy side. Try not to stay in rooms facing Village Stroll as the noise can be startling. It has nothing to do with the hotel. Bring ear plugs.
Overall, I enjoyed my time staying at the hotel and I loved the deco and facilities of the rooms and the convenience of it's location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Executive Inn At Whistler Village, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear YupNup,

Thank you for staying with us and for choosing Executive- The inn at Whistler village for your ski vacations. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Resort Experience in general.

I look forward to your return and to be of assistance when your travel plans bring you back to Whistler.

warmest regards

Joe Mckinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was nice & clean. Sleep is difficult. The heater fan is so loud it woke us up several times during the night. Next night, we figured out we should just turn the damn thing off at night. Then we were woken up by the thin walls and the upstairs guests walking around in their ski boots at 5 AM. No tub in room, just a shower stall. Step between kitchenette & bathroom area and bedroom will trip you at least once in the middle of the night. If the staff does straighten the room (even though you have the do not disturb sign out), they will take your towels and not replace them. You will be charged extra for WiFi and to park downstairs. The "hot tub" outside was lukewarm, extremely over-chlorinated, and still disgusting with floating hair and debris. The pool was out of commission for the week. But it is a short walk to the gondola.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently. Room was small but cozy. Everything you need was supplied as room had kitchenette. Dana at the front desk is exceptional and provided me with an early check in due to a booked dog sled excursion (had to change into our snow gear). Additionally, she helped out with parking. The staff at this hotel are friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Executive Inn in Whistler. We had an unpleasant stay there for reasons both large and small. Let's start with the large, as it is a deal-breaker for us.

The water in our unit would go from scalding hot to icy cold in a matter of seconds. This made taking showers extremely unpleasant, even dangerous. I found myself wondering how a child or elderly person could avoid burning themselves in the shower. In spite of two phone calls to the front desk, the hotel was unable to resolve this problem during our stay. A least one previous Trip Advisor poster had the same experience as far back as May 2013. So the hotel management has chosen to ignore this serious problem with its plumbing.

The minor problems were indeed minor, but the number of issues indicates serious maintenance and management issues:
1. As described in other posts here, the company operates two buildings but has two separate check-ins. We checked in to one building (Executive Inn) but stayed in another (Mountainside Inn). This meant we rarely saw the Executive Inn staff and mostly dealt with them via the phone. The people at the front desk in the building we were staying would hand us the lobby phone whenever we approached them with problems (and there were a lot of them.)The management system of the hotel is inefficient and confusing and results in poor customer service.
2. The furniture, decor, blankets, toilets and tubs were very old, stained, cracked and outdated. The entire hotel needs serious updating and renovation. The one extra blanket left in a closet in our room was covered with hair, as well as torn and dirty. Yuck.
3. We had to keep calling for more towels as not enough were left for the three of us. One bath towel per person per day at a ski resort is simply not enough.
4. Our beds were not made up when we arrived.
5. The loft area, which is the "master bedroom", was very hot all night long. There was no ventilation in the loft area. In order to cool it down we had to turn off the heat and open the windows down in the main living area, consequently freezing our son who was sleeping on the pull out couch downstairs.
6. Both beds (queen in loft and pullout couch in the living area) were very uncomfortable.
3. The hot tub/pool deck was very spartan looking. The one hot tub was inadequate for the number of people staying at the hotel. The warm(ish) temperature was not very satisfying for achy muscles nor very hygienic.

This hotel will need to undergo serious renovation and significantly improve their customer service before we will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Executive Inn At Whistler Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Pat Krishnamurthy,

Thank you for your email.

We have had difficulties regulating the hot water in our Mountain Side building and have been working to eliminate those problems in rooms, when we become aware of them.

Certainly, the challenge of operating a hotel between two buildings is ongoing, but we try to give all of our guests the attention that they need and I'm sorry if you felt somewhat removed in our other building.

I note that an offer was made to move you to our other building to address some of your concerns but you declined to move, which is unfortunate.

With a building that is older, items can appear to be a bit more tired. We have renovated a number of areas within the guestrooms in the building that you stayed in, and we have additional plans for some of the areas that you mentioned.

I do hope that once we have made some of these additional changes that you may choose to come and stay with us again.

Thank you again for writing, such that we might have the opportunity to improve our services.

Sincerely,
Robert Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn At Whistler Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn At Whistler Village

Address: 4250 Village Stroll, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn At Whistler Village 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive -The Inn at Whistler Village, a small and intimate European style boutique hotel is your portal to the New Whistler Experience. Perfect for pleasure-seekers and boasting Whistler's best location; in the heart of Whistler Village just steps from the slopes, the hottest nightspots and luxury shopping . High style meets serenity with the dazzling Whistler Mountain as its backdrop- where beautiful people retreat to in seclusion and comfort. Come experience the secret behind this 36 suite private boutique hotel in the heart of Whistler Village. Guests can relax after a long day on the slopes in our outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Executive Inn At Whistler Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Inn At Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Executive Hotel Whistler Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn At Whistler Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.