We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, clean and comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Lodge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4154 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, clean and comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We have just returned from 10 night stay at the Crystal Lodge Hotel and found it to be perfect for a ski holiday. We had a standard room in the hotel wing (deluxe rooms are also available in the lodge wing). The room was compact, with a very comfortable bed and a small bathroom. The central location is definately the biggest plus point for this hotel - it is only steps away from bars, restaurants and the whistler and blackcombe gondolas. Although our room was on the first floor right above the main pedestrian street in the village we were not bothered by any noise. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming (allowed us to use the internet for free to enable us to check in for our return flight home). There is a ski-valet system which allows you to leave your skis overnight in the Carleton Lodge which is beside the gondola. Although the Crystal Lodge is only a couple of minutes walk away, this free service was a great bonus. The hotel has a small heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi and an indoor sauna - the only down side of this is that the sauna is on the second floor while the pool and jacuzzi are outside so you can't really use all three easily.....but that's a minor point and we enjoyed using the facilites every day. I would definately stay here again if I had the opportunity.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — small (but adequate) bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    444
    139
    39
    24
See reviews for
384
532
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Stayed at the Crystal Lodge in a busy time of year. Right from check in the staff was amazing. Super friendly and willing to help with ideas for dinner, help with bags, directions where to park the car. Walking through the hallways all the staff said hello. Rooms were spotless! Location was perfect! Right in the village square 3 minute walk to the gondola, grocery store and restaurants. Some of the rooms have balconies that look over the village. Great for people watching! . The Crystal Lodge was am amazing experience and I would choose it any day over anyother hotel.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — The slow elevator
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

It has been a little over a month since our trip to Whistler. Staying at the Crystal Lodge was the best decision we made. The staff went out of their way to welcome us. Having just arrived for a seven night stay they up-graded us to a deluxe king suite on learning we were celebrating our anniversary.

The suite (in the new section of the hotel) was well appointed from the linens, soaking tub, granite kitchenette , comfortable bed and lovely fireplace. The housekeeping staff kept our room spotless. We skied every day from 9am until 3pm, just walked out the door, retrieved our skis at the valet service and walked to one of the two gondolas. What could be better, when we finished for the day we took our skis to the valet and proceeded to one of the many bars for a beer and a bite to eat before dinner.

I checked the TripAdvisor site before making the reservation and noted some people thought there was too much noise at the Crystal Lodge. We were there during a 3 day holiday, the village was filled with college kids, we got a kick out of it. There was some noise on a couple of nights, but we wern't bothered by it.
But that may be because we have college aged kids!

If you are new to Whistler or are thinking of returning you can't go wrong with The Crystal Lodge for location and ambience. When we go back, without hesitation we will stay there again.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants to enjoy their time in the village of whistler. The location is by far the best part. Literally steps away from the slopes. The staff went above and beyond to help us and even sent us chocolates to our room over a minor mix up when checking in. The room was not glamorous but had all the amenities, was very clean and was exciting because it faced the village. We could hear the concerts from our room and we enjoyed the upbeat atmosphere. The outdoor jacuzzi was nice and we also ate at the Spaghetti Shop in the hotel which was great. Skis and snowboard are not allowed in the room so complimentary storage is provided at the bottom of the lift. We researched hotels for our Whistler vacation on this website and found that Crystal Lodge was one of the cheapest hotels to stay at directly in the Village and we were extremely happy with going the economy route as opposed to spending a lot of money on a room that we were never in.

  • Liked — Location in the Village
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

My wife and I had 10 days in the Crystal lodge at the end of Jan. It was our third visit to whistler and had the best time yet! On our first trip we stayed in the Delta village suites which were nice but a bit of a long walk back after a full day's skiing. The second time we stayed right opposite the Crystal lodge in the Best western hotel 'Listel whistler'. The Crystal lodge is very similar to the Listel Whistler.

I liked the excellent, organised and genuinely very friendly reception staff; the lovely warm fire and comfy seats in reception.
The hotel has a deal with the Carlton lodge at the base of the mountains which allows guests at the Crystal to store their skis there and not queue up to store them - It's brilliant! The location is brilliant- can only be beaten by the Pan pacific and the Hilton (but they are both way more exensive).
The hotel was very clean and our room was spotlessly clean every evening.

Our room overlooked the pool and hot-tub. These did get very busy at times and could only be accessed through the main (very busy) entrance and was overlooked by the adjacent Spagetti Factory restaurant. The room was fine (although many people would probably say it was pretty small but all standard rooms in BC seem to be this size).

Overall I loved the holiday and loved the Crystal lodge. My only concern is that the other side of the hotel ( overlooking the main 'strip') might be quite noisey in the evenings although i didn't get a chance to ask any other guests if this was actually the case.

We Will definately be going back to whistler next year and we will probably stay in the Crystal lodge unless the Listel is cheaper in which case we might go back there again!
E-mail me if you want to know more about whistler or the hotels there.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the fact that you had to go through the main foyer to get to the hot-tub
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

My family of 5 stayed here mid Feb. of 07. We had been to Whistler the year before and had stayed at the PanPacific. We were in a 2 queen with a hide-a-bed sofa. Although the room was a bit tight for 5, we basically eat out most meals anyway. We bought cereal and milk at the grocery in the village, and ate quick breakfasts in the room. There was small fridge for drinks,etc. I wouldn't recommend here if you want to eat in the room much besides ordering a pizza. The housekeepers did a great jobkeeping our room clean.

The ski valet is right on way out the door to the slopes. The entire staff at the hotel was nothing but courteous and helpful. You can walk to the gondola in less than 5 minutes. So wonderful if you have children lugging all of their equipment. The perfect location makes up for any disadvantages of room size. There is nothing like staying in the heart of the main village at Whistler. There is just something magical about it.

The Old Spaghetti Factory is connected to the hotel, as is a bar. there is another pricier restaurant in the main lobby but we didn't try it. Also the Second Cup coffee shop is around the corner. The BEST white hot chocolate I have ever had! Everything you need is right in the village just steps away.

We hit the slopes early and then would get back and relax before dinner. Also, try the fresh tracks where you get a to hit the slopes early. One of our best memories of the trip.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tight room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We were surprised to see that the location of the hotel is indeed perfect. A 1 minute walk from the Bus Terminal/ Visitor's Center and a 1 minute walk to the Carlton Lodge where the skis are valet..valeted..val laid. We had a Standard King and I found it too small. However, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable (the comforter is down or the like and is attached to the bedspread..for those who need that kind of info)
My only annoyance with the hotel stay was that somehow the lodge was the epicenter of all things loud and obnoxious..the bar of the hotel that is. Our room was facing the main drag and perhaps it was the night before Christmas, but for the duration of our stay all ye who are drunk and shrill passed by and through the Crystal Lodge tavern. I'm no old nanny, but a bucket of water was on its way were it not for the blasted slit-only hotel windows. I would absolutely recommend the hotel for a ski vacation, not so much if you're looking for serenity.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room-kiddy bar scene
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Lodge Hotel

Address: 4154 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
#10 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#11 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Lodge & Suites offers an unbeatable location in Whistler village, with a wide variety of rooms, lofts & suites, shops, restaurants and amenities to suit your every need. Just steps away from both Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. The Crystal offers the most retail shops and restaurants attached to any one hotel in Whistler. Starbucks, Roots, Lululemon, Cittas, Ric’s Grill and CanSki, to name a few. As a guest you will enjoy the benefits and discounts with our exclusive Crystal Advantage program. In addition to our location, rooms and services, you can also enjoy our heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, award winning 4 star service, complimentary wireless internet, heated underground parking, complimentary ski and bike valet. Your perfect whistler experience "at the centre of it all.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crystal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Whistler
Crystal Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.