We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in the summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler to your Saves list
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4899 Painted Cliff Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stay in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean room. Parking is expensive but good parking policy. Dated decor. The place could use a face lift. Only one bathroom. Breakfast line up is way too long. Laundry facility is ok. Friendly staff. Overall, it's a good stay but I will definitely try some other hotels in the area for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    342
    124
    43
    27
See reviews for
338
249
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I liked the location, being away from the village. It's only a short bus ride to the Village and no charge. The room price was reasonable , but $23.00/day for parking is steep. The room was clean and the kitchen was equip with all you needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the poolside to get a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this property many, many years ago, when it was brand-new. We had fond memories of the suite-style rooms, but it feels like not much has been updated. This property requires a serious investment by the owner group. The furniture is very dated to the point of being uncomfortable, and quite beaten up. And yes, $23 for parking (per night) is quite steep, but then you have free breakfast, so it feels like a wash-out. Pools are nice enough, but also increase the noise level in the late evenings.

Room Tip: Facing the valley has nicer views, but will get the heat in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day get-away with my sister and girls (ages 15). Lovely hotel. Stayed in a 2 BR 2 Ba room (601) and we were very pleased with it. Comfortable king bed, and twins in the other. Nice bathroom. Bathroom amenities were a nice touch. Kitchen was fine (we didn't cook). Overlooked the pool area----which was lovely by the way. The girls really enjoyed swimming and using the hot-tub. Complimentary breakfast from 07:30-10:30 was FABULOUS. A huge bonus. Many choices and I am not sure how you could have a complaint with it??? During the day, there was complimentary brewed Starbucks Coffee in the lobby, and if you were lucky to be around the desk when they were put out----some cookies! Enjoyed seeing people's dogs coming and going with their owners. This hotel is not right in the Village----It is approximately a 15-20 minute walk down the mountainside of the hotel to the Village (depending on your fitness level). Walking up is.....well, lets put it this way.....did it once in the heat, and never again!! However, there is a Free Shuttle that operates between the Hotel and Village. Leaves approx every 30-40 minutes depending on time of day (there is a printed copy of shuttle times). And once you figure this out, you can plan when you want to go down and come back. The Hotel is very pretty, in a beautiful treed location with other Hotel/Condos around. No noise complaints from me. It really was lovely. Only downfall is having to shuttle to village. But as long as you know that, than this is no problem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you don't mind a hot summer stay with no A/C and fans that don't blow air, outdated decor, dirty halls and stairs, and overpriced parking fees, this is the place for you! Our stay at this hotel was far less than stellar, with no response to our requests for help with the problems we encountered with the extreme heat in our room. This was a major concern, as sleep was next to impossible. Also, if you are unfortunate enough to be given a room on the first floor, (It is actually the floor below the lobby) your going to wait forever for an elevator, or have to take your chances with dodging garbage on the stairs. We were looking forward to a nice rest after a hectic and stressful month but were extremely disappointed. the only good things I can say about this hotel is that the breakfast was not too bad, and the location was O.K. Think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Coast Blackcomb is a good choice if.... you can get it at a good price (we paid $130 for a one bedroom suite in mid-summer). It's also a pretty good choice if you agree with our pros and cons list below.

We liked:
-the location, high up on the mountain, yet close to (but far enough from) the village
-the pool and the two hot tubs with different temperatures
-the layout and spaciousness of our room
-the very dog-friendly atmosphere
-the complimentary breakfast, which saved us $50 every day
-the retractable screen on the deck door
-the beautiful landscaping and grounds-keeping
-the full kitchen with lots of cooking supplies and a big dining table

We were surprised:
-that such a new building has no air conditioning (BC's been having long heat waves for 20 yrs)
-that you can't fit a truck with a ski box in the parking lot of a ski lodge (lucky we called ahead)
-that they don't have outdoor parking for over-height vehicles
-that they guy on the phone didn't have any idea where we could park a truck nearby!

We didn't like:
-the ridiculously high parking fee
-the fact that customers don't treat hotel rooms like their own places -wrecking the screen door, putting scratches in the walls, damaging the light shades
-the fact that Coast doesn't do a better job of keeping on top of these damages

So, the Coast is a good choice if you're looking for the many positives (above) and can live with the (few) negatives. My rating is actually a 3.75 out of 5.0, but Trip Advisor doesn't let us give ratings to the second decimal point.

Room Tip: During a hot BC summer (like 2013), beg the reservations clerk for a north-facing room and extra por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#18 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary continental breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.