We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what they're aiming for...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Save Saved
You added Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4899 Painted Cliff Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exactly what they're aiming for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well off the beaten path, Coast offers a slope-side location that no doubt is tremendous for ski season. The off-village location is a great summer getaway for those not eager to get into town and able to fend for themselves for food... The latter due to the hotel lacking a full kitchen/restaurant. Continental breakfast was included, with the standard fare - ok if over sweet pastries, cereals, apples/oranges, and a waffle station. For a place with no food service options, and for the price (free), perfectly adequate. A small canteen in the lobby offers packaged food (including dry pasta and sauces), which could easily be made in the "Whistler-standard" in room kitchenette.

Clean rooms and very attentive service, the hotel boasts one of the most affable, courteous and helpful staff we've encountered, with special attention going to Brydey at the front. If ever there were a 5-star calibre of guest service, she is it. Kudos and thanks!

The pool facility was clean and comfortable, the 'health club' spartan but empty - fairly standard hotel fare for a 'gym'.

Our room had a lingering smell of smoke, but only slightly (noticed but not bothered by)... Front desk offered up a cleaner to come put an ionizer in, and sent maintenance around to offer the same. The attention to service is spot on.

Only downsides were these:
The bed. Never have we slept on more firm (including waking up on a deflated air mattress on a rocky pad while camping). Really not a great sleep... May be a one-off, don't know. I'm certain if we called down it would have been taken care of though, one way or another.

The rooms are dated. The feel is certainly not 'motel' but the furnishings and decor are showing age, if we'll cared for. The place feels like a comfortable home rather than an amenity laden resort. If you're looking for a luxury resort, this will disappoint. If you're looking for creature comforts and feeling welcome with amazing service and comfortable relaxation 'away from it all', the Coast is a great choice.

The couch in the living room is obviously a pull-out, but they were still less comfortable than we'd prefer. A narrow seat with a hard ridge along the front... we'd hoped to spend more time on the couch with our wine, but found ourselves moving to the patio and kitchen instead.

What Brydey was to excellent customer service, her coworker this morning at checkout was to disinterested service. No asking how the night was, not really much of even a hint of a smile. Very 'going-through-the-motions' while obviously doing other things that needed to be done (stuffing the room-key holders with the little leaflets)... A little disappointing, especially on back of our previous experience.

As with much in life and hospitality, the Coast features a specific set of amenities and caters to a certain desire - if it's what you're after, they do it well. Just be sure to look at what's on offer and make sure it's all you need - do that and you'll have a wonderful stay.

***Whistler village offers a FREE bus service to the Village from literally steps outside the front door. NOT pet friendly, but a nice option if you choose to visit town and leave your car at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    299
    112
    37
    25
See reviews for
304
222
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission City, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So far this is the only property this high up. Wonderful view. We were upgraded to a suite. Very nice! Front room with a gas fireplace. But in June we didn't need it. Kitchen was quite adequate. TV in front room as well as bedroom. Bed very comfortably .BBQ for patrons use off the eating area Hot tub and pool are clean and were busy as fathers day weekend.There is a little wait to the use the waffle iron, worth the wait. Good selection of cereals A bus every 15 min. to take you into the village.. Hotel well maintained. Reception staff well informed. Parking secure underground $18 per night. We may be back in Sept. An anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for ladies weekend in April, and know that when we return to Whistler in September this won't be the hotel we stay in.
Maid service did not make the beds, which, in my opinion, is one of the nicest reasons to stay in a hotel - a freshly made bed every night, especially after a day of ziplining!
We also requested extra towels, which were provided. However, the towels left on the ground to be refreshed (there were a couple, but not all the towels), were not taken. So we had soiled, wet towels left on the floor that were not able to be re-used.
The breakfast was OK - it was a typical hotel breakfast, and very busy. We went down in shifts and brought it back to our room.
We were in a two bedroom suite, and the set up is definitely great for families, Coast just needs to get its staff on board with hotel services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamilleKeep, General Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Travellinfamily2002,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler. We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

It is our standard to provide a full Housekeeping service daily, which would include making of the beds and changing of towels left for refresh on a daily basis. The only time that this service would not be provided would be when a guest has left their do not disturb sign on the door for the day. We are very sorry that you did not receive the full service that we do provide.

Please contact me directly. We would like to set this right for you and we hope to have the opportunity to change your mind about us. We take great pride and delivering fantastic service and in delivering a memorable stay for all of our guests. Sometimes we make mistakes and hopefully we can resolve this for you. I look forward to hearing from you.

camillek@coastblackcombsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This has the best ski-in ski-out location in Whistler. If you are there to ski it's brilliant. The bus into the village is great and as it goes almost every 10 minutes we rarely had to wait long for it. We had a studio apartment and the kitchen facilities were more than adequate even though we did quite a bit of cooking there. The hot tubs are brilliant after a full day skiing. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The housekeeping staff always had a smile and a friendly hello for us. We stayed here for 3 weeks in Jan/Feb 2013 and after considering other options, perhaps nearer the village, we are planning to go back to the Coast for 3 weeks in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Firstly the breakfast was great in the hotel but if you want the waffles make sure you get down there early.

The room itself was right on, it was me and a mate and we had two double beds, one of which was a sofa bed so that had to get packed up every day but was still comfy enough.

If there was any more people the space might be an issue but it had all the facilities you could ask for with coffee and towells every day.

The 2 hot tubs and swimming pool were well kept but make sure you hit them early as they get busy, it also had a gym that we didn't use but had all the basic equipment you would want.

The location was brilliant for boarding as it was board in and out, it wasnt the same if you wanted to go to the lower village where most things are. There is a bus stop outside with regular buses, every 15 mins but .

The hotel would do brilliantly if it had its own bar, the only thing missing from the place really, and of course being closer to the lower village

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good breakfast. Accept pets. Clean. The pool and 2 hot tubs are great. It's always shocking to know at the front desk that you have to pay $20 per night to park your car in the garage as this is excluded from the room rate. Unfortunately you can't park anywhere else and is far from the village so you need the car. Recommend to others. Very family oriented

Room Tip: Please be aware you have to pay $20 per night to park your car. There is no parking elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Whistler for 2 nights during our honeymoon and this is where we spent the second night. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. It was like a cosy little log cabin and we liked it instantly. It's away from the noise of the nightlife which suited us and they provide a free shuttle service that leaves the hotel every half hour or so if you want to be a part of it or just go for dinner somewhere. The breakfast was very good and filled us up well for the next leg of our journey. A great place to stay at a fantastic price. We would definitively stay again if we had the pleasure of returning to Whistler.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.