We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great underappreciated location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Placid Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great underappreciated location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Property itself a little tired, and mixed occupancy by time shares, individual owners and even a business or two.
Positives: Across the street from grocery and liquor store. Very close to Creekside gondola, relatively quiet. CLose to main road and gas station - but without any noise or bother. Frequent bus service to Whistler proper. Nice ski storage room.

Rented a unit with kitchen, etc. Not really a hotel, so don't expect hotel ammenities. Hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoons was a nice touch :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    6
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recenly spend a week in Whistler at the Lake Placid Lodge and found it to be comfortable and clean if slightly dated. The Lodge is one of a number of places under the umbrella of "Whistler Places" As Lake Placid Lodge is a strata titled building my comments can only be ascribed to unit #201. This one bedroom unit was very clean and well maintained. New utensils and appliances.Two flat screen TV's with Optik" TV service.In suite laundry facilities. As our visit was between seasons, we encountered very few other guests.
We will not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we are considering making it an annual visit rather than going to Mexico in the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Got a great deal on this place ($65/night... check out alluradirect.com) which is the reason why we chose to stay here since we would be out and about enjoying the sun, not cooped up in our place. Please note: if you're looking for a hotel with hotel perks (daily housekeeping, reception desk) you're looking at the wrrooong place! Just thought I'd make that clear... it's obvious to me, but you never know. The units in the lodge are owned by clubs/individuals who can rent out their units by using sites such as vrbo.com or alluradirect.com. Once you book it on those sites, you get an e-mail that tells you how to get into your suite, where to park, etc. There is no contact over the phone or in person regarding your rental (unless you call them, but really all the info is in that e-mail). Anyways, just thought I'd get that info out there to those who have never used those sites before and are used to hotels!

The hotel itself looks nice from the outside, the inside is a bit dated but isn't crumbling to pieces... yet. Nice storage room right in front for skis and bikes. Underground parking is free... perk! And you are literally 2 minutes from Creekside Gondola. The pool area and hot tub is great, and there are a few BBQs you can use out there along with a sauna. They are open year round too which is nice. No slides and diving boards but whatever, I don't have kids (but the ones there seemed to have fun w/o them) and if you're here in the summer, you'll want to go to the lake instead. The luggage trolleys are death machines, and taking your stuff from the underground parking to your room is hectic. Instead, temporarily park at the front entrance, grab a trolley, and do it from there.

The room... we stayed in room 205. It looked out to the street and was quite noisy at night due to the drunks getting off the bus at 3am and garbage trucks beeping outside in the am. The room is so outdated and is in desperate use of a little color and renovation! But... for $65/night, who's to complain! Kitchen had everything you needed, we cooked all our meals in there. Living room is nice, they have a big screen tv with a few channels. Deck is small. The bed was so uncomfortable... yikes. $65/night..... but still, a comfy bed is nice no matter the price! We didnt have to pay extra for housekeeping, we just had to take out our own trash which was fine (there's a garbage bin in the underground parking

Despite the negative things I had to say, I'd stay here again for sure. Maybe in a different suite (as all suites are different and are decorated to the owner's liking... it's not standard like hotels). You can always find a great price on this place year round. It's basic and does the job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast,Qld
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is the first time that I have ever written a negative review on a place and I have only been here one night! We had had driven all day (10hours) and arrived 5 minutes before the reception closed. (I had emailed them to let them know that we were unsure of our arrival time.) The receptionist was very friendly, but I was not happy to be told that we would be charged a $97 cleaning fee for our 3 night stay! No warning had been given to us about this charge prior to arrival. We were not happy, but too tired to argue (as it was 10.15pm at night and we just wanted to get to our room) Then came the next surprise. The resort we booked into was a short drive away! The map we were given was terrible (GPS couldn't locate it either) and we drove around and around trying to find the place until we decided to go back and see if we could get better instructions. Well, when we arrived back there was no response on the after hours phone, but luckily a gentleman from the neighbouring resort directed us to the apartment. This apartment complex reminded me of something from a Monty Python Movie. The hallways are in need of serious repair, the luggage trolleys are like an out of control shopping trolley, the elevators well they creak and groan and you wonder if you will get stuck between floors. The apartment itself whilst very dated isn't too bad, except that it is very cluttered with dated furniture. We had to turn off the fridge overnight, as it was so loud we couldn't sleep. We were told that this was a building that didn't allow pets and if a pet was found there is a charge of $350. Funny that as I was greeted by a dog barking in one of the adjoining apartments this morning!!

Room Tip: Choose a property anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The Whistler area is great for outdoor adventure and activities with mild climate, beautiful lakes and trails, and gorgeous scenery.

This Lodge does the trick for meeting your housing needs, but modest by all means. The only bedroom is very cramped - about 3 feet of room around entire perimeter of queen bed. The loft upstairs is semi-private and with slightly more room. The pull out couch in the living room slanted downwards and took up the majority of the living room when opened up to a bed.

There were 2 bathrooms, and the one downstairs for the master bedroom was tiny. You could not sit on the toilet and close the door at the same time without moving your legs....the door actually brushes up against the toilet when closing. A small sink and shower are also inside.

There is no washer/dryer in the unit and you have to go down to the garage floor to use the community washer/dryer, just make sure you have enough change to put in the machines.

The entire floor except for kitchen and bathrooms is carpet, but there is no vacuum available. There is no cleaning service (which is not unusual for 1-week stays), but could be purchased for $50. After 1 week with 3 kids under 7, and no vacuum, carpets were definitely in need of cleaning.

The swimming pool was nice, but nothing special (typical rectangle shape - no diving boards or slides). The water was heated up I believe to close to 80 def F, and the jacuzzi was larger than your typical jacuzzi. The kids enjoyed the pool, although we swam at nearby lakes several times as well.

The wifi was spotty working decent for the most part on a laptop, but very in/out on iPads and phones. Cable TV worked great - and only 1 TV (in living room). A grocery store and Starbucks all a 2- minute walk away.

Overall we had a great time as we love the outdoors and this was a beautiful place. We were happy to find a week for exchange through RCI as this place is very busy, but nowhere near the quality of our home resort! Keep all this in mind when booking here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Good for a quick 1 to 2 nights ski trip. Short and sweet! Unit is a bit dated but includes internet/TV/phone. Big outdoor hot tub. No on-site reception but can do express key- drop check- out. Bedding/mattress can use some new ones. The condo has private and timeshare ownership. My review is based on Whistler Vacation club units.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just returned from a week at Lake Placid Lodge in Whistler. We were in a 1 bedroom w/loft but actually like a 2 bedroom. Loft had a full bathroom and king size bed. Downstairs was another bedroom w/twin beds and another bathroom. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 flat screen TV's up and down. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Check in was at another location and no one on site at Lake Placid but everything went well. We did the Peak to Peak gondola which was awesome and shopping and hanging out in village. Fun times!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Address: 2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.