We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Whistler Ski Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lake Placid Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Placid Lodge
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Cloverdale, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Whistler Ski Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Spent 5 days here in late february and was thrilled with the proximity and convenience of this Creekside Village lodge. Not elegant by any stretch but well maintained and so perfectly situated for shopping or just staying in and being comfy. In room washer/dryer, fireplace and full kitchen. We were in a two bedroom unit with friends. They had a loft with full ensuite bathroom and we were downstairs with full bathroom. Nice clean hottub in the center courtyard. Used it every day after skiing.

Room Tip: Lift tickets are expensive but you get a discount if you have seasons passes from Squaw Valley or Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    6
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were in unit 305, a 1 bedroom unit with a loft and 2 bathrooms. It was a great unit for myself, my husband and our tennage son. It wouldn't be as good for two couples as the king bed was in the loft and not private. Nice fully equiped kitchen and two tv's and dvd players. It was easy access to the Creekside Gondola and to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the main road. We had the window open and the noise wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Good location, close to Gondola and food services. Pillow stinks and very uncomfortable, I had to wrap the pillow with a couple of towels in order to be able to sleep. Lots of hot water in the sink faucet, but limited amount hot water flowing through the shower faucet, had to take warm to cold shower every single day of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom. It is small but adequate for my husband and I. Easy access to the gondola at creekside makes getting to the mountain a snap. There is a little village at creekside which has all the necessaries, but you should definitely check out Whistler village for the shops and night life.

There is parking underground for your car (free) and ski/board/bike storage that is locked at night. We only wish there was a hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed in Unit 111 as part of our first ski trip to Whistler. We dealt directly with the owner to book and she confirmed all the details our our rental. When we arrived we accessed the keys via a lockbox (that happened to be broken and took a little doing), and then used an access code to enter the actual room. There is no concierge, or anyone to greet you or answer questions when you arrive. But that's often the case when dealing directly with an owner. It wasn't a big deal.

This condo is a one-bedroom, ground floor unit and included everything we needed for our stay including a small well equiped kitchen. This is a very cozy unit and well kept. There was a nice gift basket waiting for us with popcorn, oatmeal packets, and nutri-grain bars, which was a nice touch. Plenty of pillows, blankets, and towels were provided. There is a TV with a reasonable selection of channels.

Underground parking was great, although the spaces were not huge. I drive a larger truck, and it took some doing to get out of the spot we had parked in. If I had not thought-out my parking plan when I arrived, I would not have been able to get out.

As a tip, there are two luggage dollies in the lower parking area for use by guests. We drove up to the front door and offloaded all our stuff, then carried it all to our rooms. It wasn't until we parked the truck we realized that they store them in the foyer of the parking area.

There is a ski locker area right inside the front door as you enter, although we chose to store all our gear in my truck in the garage. It is locked throughout the day, but apparently the completely lock it out later in the evening so nobody can get in.

The condo has a washer/dryer unit - you put your clothes in the one drum and it both washes and dry's everything. We tried one load twice, but after it came out wet both times, we just decided to bring it all home since we were only staying for two nights. Apparently there is a coin-op laundry room with washers/dryers in the lodge, but we didn't use it.

There is an outdoor pool and a hottub at the lodge, but we didn't use it because it was closed the morning we wanted to use it.

The hallways are definately worn from all the traffic, and even though there are signs when you enter asking you not to bring your ski gear into the lodge, we saw people walking through the halls with all their gear. This explains the dings, bangs, scrapes and worn paint in the hallways, etc. But the inside of our unit was in great shape.

The Lake Placid Lodge sits a short walk from the Creekside chairlift (less than 5 minute walk). This was very convenient! You can buy all your passes right beside the lift. We were there mid-week before Christmas, and only had to wait a couple chairs to get on the lift. The area around it has a few restaurants, coffee shops, gear stores, liquor store, etc. It is about a 5 minute drive (or more) from Whistler Village. So be prepared to drive if you want to access the larger area that that has more amenities. The area around the Lodge was clean and felt safe.

The owner of this unit did a great job, and we would definately consider staying here again if we decide to return to Whistler.

Room Tip: Read the reviews on TripAdvisor to find a room in decent condition based on guests reviews. It soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The location is in Creekside; the check-in is 10 minutes away in the Upper Village which is past Creekside meaning a trip there to check-in and a trip back there to check out; 40 minutes of my time wasted when the Lodge has a perfectly good and unused reception.
An insuite laundry room for washer and dryer was without both; if you are thinking about staying there for a few days...don't. Resort Quest advertises "free" internet; what they don't say is that it depends on whether or not the owner of the unit has set-up Intenet and provided permission/password to use it.
Had business work to do and was told by "helpful" accommodations staff to use the local Starbucks...yea right. Sure looked like mould in the shower. The security code on our suite changed at 09:30 AM, not after check-out 10:00 AM; we were lucky that one of us was still in the room or it would have caused chaos.
Plus side - the apartment was comfy, quiet and the pool and hot tub out back well located. Ski lift is very close by.

Room Tip: if you wish simple amenities such as Internet and clothes washer/dryer don't assume they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Address: 2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.