We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Average Hotel with Above Average Prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chamois

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Chamois to your Saves list
Le Chamois
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4557 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Average Hotel with Above Average Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a good location at the foot of Blackcomb but the hotel is now dated with a real need for some TLC. The staff are "phoning it in" and maintenance is spotty and if 1985 is your ideal this is the place for you! Carpet is dirty, elevators spotty and the decorations are passe' and in need of a good "scrubbing". Parking is pricey and there is no ski/bike storage, they say there is but there is NOT.
We won't return.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChamoisHotel, Public Relations Manager at Le Chamois, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that Le Chamois Whistler Hotel did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to Whistler. It is unfortunate that we were unable to help you locate our bike and ski storage during your stay. Our Bike Storage Room is located in the parking garage and our ski storage is provided onsite by Spicy Sports Rental to all hotel guests whether renting or bringing their own equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very comfy room: thought the necessity for two bathrooms in a one bd apt defeats me!! Room is well serviced, and we were lucky enough to get an end room with a view. Bed very comfortable, though furniture is a little shabby. I booked ski hire from home, and unfortunately we were initially double charged for this: we believe that has now been sorted! Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Communal areas are small, and hot tub is functional, though I have seen better ones, when staying in whistler. Location is all, however and the proximity of lifts is a definite plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in room #205 over the New Year holiday. The unit is nicely renovated and spacious, with a full kitchen. The location cannot be beat, and the Blackcomb side of the mountain is a great base for exploring all of the terrain. Ski storage at Spicy Sports, in the hotel building, is convenient, the staff was knowledgeable when we experienced an issue with a new set of bindings. There are a couple of great restaurant choices in the building, or very nearby in Blackcomb village. Room #205 is located on the second floor, and directly above a restaurant, however we did not find the noise level disruptive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

its about 50 meters from the Wizard chair lift on Blackcomb side. a few restaurants within 20 meter radius. we had a 1 bedroom with a large bed and a pull down bed with 2 baths. a bit tight but adequate for 3. no kitchen, but a sink, small frig, and microwave. they cleaned and made the bed, and changed towels every day. i think they also changed sheets. pool and hot tub is small but was never crowded. small gym with treadmill and eliptical. ski shop in the building for rentals. not extravagant but quite convenient.

breakfast next door at Dirk and Bernie was good. dinner at Milestones was reasonably priced with friendly service. There is sushi next door but didn't try it.
on this trip also age at Keg, Earl's, Ric's grill, chinese bistro, and a few others. Ric's was ok but poor service. Keg had good steaks. Earl was a nice bar / restaurant with good food. Chinese was ok. 21 steps kitchen was great. Garibaldi's Lift co at the mountain base has the best mushroom soup ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as I had an event for work next door at the Fairmont in May 2011. Le Chamois was excellent value in for the Upper Village in Whistler at about half the price of the Fairmont. Parking was fairly cheap (by Whistler standards) at 18$. It has a rooftop pool and hot tub which were small, but had no one in them so it was great. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby in the upper village including two in the hotel. The room was very spacious with a hot tub right in the room, living area and bedroom. It is a 5 minute walk on a path to the lower village and all the shopping that has to offer. As well, while it was not ski season, there is ski in and out service when there is snow as you can see the BlackComb ski lift from the window of the rooms. I highly recommend this place as an alternative to the Fairmont if you cannot afford it. We paid 100$ a night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have been to Whistler every year for the summer for the past four years and have stayed at the same place at Creekside, so this year we decided to try something different. Somewhere not too noisy like in the middle of the Village and we had been to Upper Village and thought it was a quiet enough for us. We selected Le Chamois since it was reasonably priced for the holiday weekend and close to everything. Thumbs up for the quiet rooms we didn't hear any of the other guests though we did see them in the elevators. Great sound proof windows cause we faced the main walk way where the Farmer's Market is and we couldn't hear them setting up, even with the windows open we could hardly hear the noise from below (we were on the fourth floor). The studio we had was spacious. We loved watching all the activities on the slope and below from the room. Service was nice and friendly. Now for the things we weren't so impress with-- the bed was hard, I woke up in the middle of the night with some aches and realized that sleeping on my side was making me ache.... bed is okay if you mostly sleep on your back. For a large space we only had the sofa-- would have liked an arm chair by the window, the dining style chairs with very thin padding were not comfortable. The TV was small and not HD, I mean it doesn't have to be a huge HD, a 23" would have been fine. We couldn't find any hotel info in the room, like a folder of hotel services, emergency info or even a TV listing, you know, the tourist magazines and info you usually find on the coffee table or by the bedside. Lighting was really weird, there was a floor lamp set in an empty space by the jacuzzi when we could have used it by the sofa. A table lamp was by another set of uncomfortable chairs. I couldn't read on the sofa because of the lack of lighting, there was no room to move the floor lamp to the sofa without someone potentially tripping on the cord and no overhead light above the sofa (there was overhead light in the space where the floor lamp is-- without any seating). The bathroom was spacious fitting with the size of the room but was somewhat out dated. The shower door didn't have a handle on the inside so closing it to keep the water from splashing out was confusing (had to push the door at hinge hard for it to slam and the magnetic closure to attract), and the some re-grouting would be good. Hopefully the room is going to get a make over soon because it the photos on the website looked better. We would stay here again for the location and price--- and if it was a different room.

Room Tip: good location, great view, good price, room layout could be better and use some updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

From the first moment we tried to check in, it was downhill from there.
Their system was down and took over an hour just to see if there was a room available.
We were not told our room number, I had to go back and ask as I was heading to the elevator.
The fan in the bedroom was not working, so opened all the windows and tons of bugs came in ( no screens). the heat lamp was burnt out as well as a bathroom bulb. Not very well maintained.
The bed was so hard, I had to put the extra cover and 4 pillows under the sheet, just so I could have a decent sleep.
The front desk was not very friendly or helpful. I tried to get service from them and they hard a hard time,just trying to understand a few simple requests.
We had to and buy our own toilet paper, because the stuff there was so thin.
Our room keys were deactivated, before we even checked out.
We requested a late check out, and was told we would have to pay the full rate. We would be there for an extra 4 hours, not 24! The front desk said there was no housekeeping on Sunday Sept 4th. 2011. Therefore we had to pay the full rate??? So why would I pay full rate for 4 hours when no one would clean that room till Monday anyway?
Sunday rolls around and, housekeeping comes knocking at out door at 11:15 am.
WOW..... Do they really know what's going on there.

Room Tip: Hard bed, thin toilet paper very poor quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chamois

Address: 4557 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chamois 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chamois Whistler offers guests the chance to indulge in a charming boutique hotel that blends European elegance with the casual lifestyle of Western Canada. The spacious guest rooms offer tranquil mountain or forest views and comfort with convenience kitchens and distinctive character and decor. Le Chamois features a year-round an outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Note that Le Chamois is not a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chamois Whistler
Le Chamois Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chamois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.