We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler to your Saves list
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The BEST location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

For a family traveling with children, this is seriously the best location. Easy parking (do the self park option for a few dollars less than valet). There is a ski/snowboard rental place in the hotel, plus ski valet. They have tent up in afternoon, right at whistler base so you only have to carry your skis about 10 feet. Whistler kids school drop off is about 50 feet from hotel and whistler gondola is 55 feet! Drop kids off at 8:45and get in gondola line right away. No lines. MAJOR NEWS ALERT. DO NOT DO STANDARD INTERNET. UPGRADE TO PREMIUM, if you actually want to do business while there. Spa sucks, skip it. Best restaurants in whistler village were earl's and araxi. Best restaurant in te area tho is rim rock cafe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    378
    143
    59
    40
See reviews for
385
395
37
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahana, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I starting coming to the Westin Whistler years ago and long before having our two kids who are now 4 and 7. We have stayed many times with large groups of friends and now travel with our kids and other families. We just returned home from 9 days at the Westin and once again it was a wonderful vacation. Both of my kids attended the 5 day Adventure Camp for the last two years and they LOVED it! They were excited everyday to attend and learned so much from the instructors that it was well worth it.. The location of the Westin in Whistler just can't be beat and the rooms are spacious, clean and full of all the amenities you would expect from a world class destination. What makes this resort stand out however are the people. The staff are all very friendly, well trained, accommodating and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that our stay is wonderful. By the end of our time there it really feels like home because of the staff. They also have really nice fun amenities for families such as free strollers and sleds to borrow! In fact we had such a great experience that I just booked our stay for next year so we have this wonderful experience to look forward to. I highly recommend this hotel :) Lisa Swanson

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice although some are larger than others. If you are traveling with kids make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

As for all our previous ski trips we chose this hotel for its full kitchen as advertised on Whistler website. What a surprise when we arrived in the to find a full kitchen but... without an eating table or chairs. When we call the service to ask for it, their manager response was: "just have your meals on the desk or coffee table (which was not part of the room furniture) or upgrade your room for 60$ a night". Can I tell your that at 200$ a night we were expecting more than suppers sitting on a couch with our plate at the chin height!

Should you still want to go there be aware that this hotel is charging "unadvertized" fees of 9$ per ski pair per night. For a couple this represent about 10% extra on the room charges. So far this the only hotel on a ski resort where the locker is charged as an extra. For information, there is a public ski storage for half the price in the Carleton Lodge basement. Of course, the cheaper one is not called "valet service" but is just 20 feet behind the Westin valet.

If after all of this your still tempted by their swimming pool that goes from inside to outside, know that the water is not as clean as on the picture...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear minoutore,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We do our best to provide great value for our guests with our convenient location and high levels of service. We also do not charge a resort fee as many guests don't take advantage of services like Ski Valet, WiFi or parking. With that in mind, I apologize that the layout of your room and the additional Ski Valet charges were not communicated to you effectively. On your next visit, please feel free to contact me at lisa.mccormick@westinwhistler.com so that I can assist with ensuring your stay exceeds your expectations.

Stay well,
Lisa McCormick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Westin Hotel during this past spring break. The rooms, located in a quiet part of the village are spacious, with comfortable beds and having a kitchen is so convenient if one doesn't want to venture outside like we did because we are not 'snow folks'. Gavin, the bellman and Lauren & Mandy in the new restaurant (Grill & Vine) were superb! professional, courteous and knowledgeable. The new restaurant is simply fabulous! The philosophy with this new restaurant is 'farm to table'; taking the best ingredients in the local area and presenting it in a delicious way. We had to go back twice despite all the lovely restaurants available. My husband, who prouds himself to make the best grilled tenderloin, said it was the best steak he ever had in his life! I totally doubted him, but after tasting a sample, well, the sous chef took over this title! (we made sure we complimented the sous chef). I had the scallops with bone marrow risotto, crispy quail for appetizer. Simply divine! Definitely a wonderful choice to stay in Whistler - location, amenities, service and food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, General Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear wansharp,

Thank you for your kind words! I truly appreciate you sharing the details of your stay, and recognizing Gavin, Lauren, and Mandy. We're very proud of the new Grill & Vine, and it's wonderful to see that it exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Stay well,
Lisa McCormick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a skiing trip for 11 nights in February/March 2014. The hotel is perfectly situated for quick access to the gondola and Whistler village. The room was very well equipped with an enormous bed and kitchen area with a full oven, microwave and dishwasher. There are a number of shops in the hotel along with a restaurant and bar. We found the food in the restaurant to be of a good standard but the restaurant lacked ambiance. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice but was very pricey. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated but felt more like a conference venue than a holiday location. The ski vallet service was useful and we loved that the guys come and collect your skis at the base of the mountain. All in all it's hard to beat the location and room facilities but the ambiance doesn't compare with hotels such as the Fairmont Chateau where we'd stayed previously.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

100 yard walk over to the adjacent Whistler Gondola and ski school building. All rooms have a well appointed kitchenette, so stop by IGA for groceries and skip the overpriced breakfast buffet. All the staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The front desk has a few snow toys like sleds to lend out for the kids. Only complaints are the most expensive parking in the village ($34/night; double the other hotels in the village), and the ski valet ($9.50/day/person) which is only really one-way. They will pick your skis up at the bottom of the mountain; IF they have set up already (they weren't there at 3pm one day). Heading to the lift you have to carry your skis from the hotel ski shop. It may sound petty, but you can valet at the Longhorn Saloon for the same price, or less if you book for a week... and they are much more convenient.

Other than that this is unbeatable ski resort hotel with a lovely indoor/outdoor pool area, and an excellent use of SPG points (12k/night).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#12 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.