We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly ski in/ski out if you have young children (3 and under)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb

Save Saved
You added Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb
4749 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not exactly ski in/ski out if you have young children (3 and under)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The unit we rented was advertised as ski in/ski out. It may be ski in if you think walking down a road at the end of the day for 200 meters is ski in? The unit we were in (217) was very well updated and had everything. Unlike many of the other properties in the area, the pool was closed for the winter. The hot tub is nice but fills quickly at the end of the ski day. There is no fitness area and the common areas are in desperate need of updating!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Short 5 min walk to upper village and Wizard Chair, hot tub, parking included, friendly staff, good value, I would go back.

After checking out in the morning, I became ill on the last day of my visit and didn't want to risk the drive home in the poor condition I was in at the time, so I returned to the Wildwood Lodge in the afternoon to see if I could extend my stay and get some rest. It turned out all the 1 bedroom units were booked. The staff were very kind to move one of the arriving guests to a larger unit, so that I could stay one more night in the same 1 bedroom unit we had, and at the same rate. I was very grateful for that, and after a good nights sleep I was in much better condition to return home safely with my son the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wildwood lodge has everything you need in a great location summer or winter. Much better value than a hotel as you have full cooking facilities and eating out all the time can be very expensive in Whistler. During ski season there is a dedicated ski locker (the lodge provides locks) so all you have to do is grab your skiis and walk across the street and ski a couple of minutes down the path and you are at the Wizard lift on Blackcomb Mtn. There is a ski out trail at Greyhawk look for the signpost. The hot tub is great! The nice part about this location is you can walk to the upper village in 5 mins or the main village in 10. Even better you don't get the loud village noise at night so you don't get woken up when the bars close. In summer ask for a unit with a patio. From wildwood lodge you can walk to Lost lake which is great for swimming although the Lodge has a great swimming pool. Lost Lake also has great cross country cycling trails! For those who can't walk the free shuttle bus stops right outside the condo. There is free wifi and a coin laundry facility. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just a 5 minute Or so ski/walk to the wizard lift at Blackcomb mountain. Great hot tub. Excellent shuttle service to main village. Could have had better cooking utensils. But we made do. Would book again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, WA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Much has already been written about Wildwood Lodge, and I don't have any enlightening comments to add in general. We stayed in unit 201, and found it clean, in good repair, and livable for our party of 5. So instead of reviewing the complex, here are some details about 201:
The master bedroom has plenty of storage (2 dressers, closet), a TV and no DVD. The master bath has the deep tub and shower. To turn on the shower, pull the ring under the faucet. The other bedroom has a HUGE bunk bed structure that all but fills the room. The bottom bed is a queen, and the top bunk is a double. 4 could sleep comfortably here, but there is almost no room to move around. Storage is limited to 2 narrow drawers and the closet (which cant be opened when the room door is open) and the hanging rack on the wall.
The bathroom has a walk in shower and toilet, with the sink outside. Younger kids would probably love the fort opportunities presented by the beds, but our young adults travelers only had room to sleep and step over each other's stuff.

The main area includes a really handy alcove for storing ski stuff (or whatever). It's big,and out of the way.

The kitchen is well equipped. I'm not saying the knives are great or that the cookware is the best, just that there's plenty of everything. Oddly, there's not a lot of room for storing lots of food, if you're cooking in, unless you want to move the dishes to higher, less accessible shelves and put the food there.

There are seats for 6....3 at the bar, and 3 at the table, unless you move the table.

The living area is comfortable, with seats for 5....3 on the couch, which would be cozy, and then 2 arm chairs. DVD and TV work well. The CD player is in the large closet, and needs almost no volume to be easily heard throughout the condo.

The balcony overlooks the front door and the lighted path to the Fairmont and the Blackcomb lifts.

We skied from the path (immediately across the road from the front door) all the way to the Blackcomb lifts, in about 5 minutes. There's just enough downhill tilt to ski out, not enough to board, and of course, its up hill to go back to the condo. It's an easy walk. Our pattern was to ski to Blackcomb and either ski there or take the Village Run to Whistler. Walking all the way to Whistler with ski/board equipment or waiting for the shuttle was too much hassle.

The bus is supposed to come every 10 minutes on the 4s (4 past, 14 past, 24 past) but at peak times the buses were full and wouldn't stop (the bus stop is one of the last ones on the #5 route) or they wouldn't come on the schedule. I recommend getting to Blackcomb and using the lift system to get to Whistler. You could even take the Blackcomb lifts up to the Peak to Peak, go across to the Whistler roundhouse, and come down from there if you had people in your party who wanted to take the very long, very scenic route.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb

Also Known As:
Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb Hotel Whistler
Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb Hotel
Address: 4749 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood Lodge On Blackcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.