We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Whistler Village Suites

Save Saved
You added Delta Whistler Village Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Delta Whistler Village Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4308 Main St., Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this hotel because many recommended it to avoid the noise from the partiers in the village. Turns out, because we were here on a weekday in-between the tourist season and the ski season, there weren't any partiers to worry about!

We booked using air miles for a one-night stay here. I guess using air miles means getting the tiniest room in the building, despite the hotel being empty. Our son's bedroom is bigger. A queen bed, small table & chairs, and a tiny sink, bar fridge and microwave (thus allowing it to get the "suite" label) crammed into a small room. This made for a claustophobic stay. This is also the only place durng our 9-day vacation that didn't upgrade us to a larger room with a king bed.

The clerk who checked us in was incredibly friendly and helpful, and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. In fact all the staff were extremely nice. Our TV remote did not work so we called down and were told someone would come up with a replacement. After over an hour, nothing. We tired of waiting and went out for dinner. When we returned we called again and this time someone brought up a new remote within five minutes,

The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the linens and towels were fresh. Water pressure was very poor, as was the hot water temperature, and the shower head wouldn't adjust and only provided fine spray. The WiFi was totally useless. It was a cool night but the noisy furnace vent gusted hot air directly onto our faces in bed so we opted to endure a chilly night without heat. Our room was very quiet at night but we think we were the only ones on our entire side of the floor.

I think we'd be more disappointed if we had paid actual cash for this room. As it was, they charged us more air miles than other places do despite it being off-season and we felt the value was less. Our stay wasn't horrible, but if we ever visit Whistler again we will likely look to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Truly sorry that we did not hit the mark on your stay with us. I am happy that you found our employees to be friendly and welcoming. Sorry that we did not have someone up to the room to fix the remote right away as we should not have missed that request.

Your review is certainly valuable for us to use as a way to improve on the points that you have outlined.

I truly do hope that you will choose to stay with us again at some point and certainly don't hesitate to send me an email when you do come so that I can ensure you have a larger room when you do.

Best Regards

Alex
Operations Manager

alex.thorne@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    312
    89
    25
    11
See reviews for
279
255
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom suite back in August of 2009. I have never forgotten about the Delta Whistler and am finally getting my opportunity to return.

At that time, the staff were able to give me my parking free. Also, when the fireplace would not work, they went out of the way to make our stay more comfortable, opening the pool to me and my cousin to use after hours since we were delayed while they tried to get the fireplace to work.

I am so excited to go back, this time taking full advantage of the kitchen and bringing a little dog with me so let's see if the Delta Whistler can live up to the fantastic impression I got the first stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We look forward to having you back again in December. Thank you for sharing your experience here on this site and certainly stop by my office and say hello when you do come back. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to ask.

Sincerely

Alex
Operations Manager

alex.thorne@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great hotel! The staff were excellent. The rooms were fantastic! I would highly recommend this hotel. It made the trip so much more. It has all the amenities - spa, pool, hot tub. It is in the heart of Whistler, walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and activities. The view was breathtaking!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about us and the facilites here in Whistler. We hope you can come back again soon.

Warm Regards

Alex
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my first stay at this property and I would definitely go back!
My husband and I went with another couple for a three day get-away and chose the Delta Suites for it's location and room design. We were not disappointed. The one bedroom suite was ideal, with a separate bedroom (great king bed and lots of storage space) and great living room. We were able to have our friends over for appy's etc. and everyone could sit comfortably; a living room rather than a hotel room. With a full kitchen, we enjoyed the ease of having food for some meals and "happy hour" and even a dishwasher to make the whole thing a true holiday. We could see how ideal this place would be for a family and/or an extended stay. Our friend's suite faced the main road, which they said was very noisy. It was very nice weather at the time so there was apparently skateboarders passing by until the early hours of the morning.
Our room faced an interior court yard area which was very quiet.
The staff were all very friendly, particularly the concierge fellow who cheerfully greeted us every time we walked in the entry doors, asking how our day was going etc. and asking if there was anything we needed help with or ideas on. That was very nice and very welcoming.
The hotel's location is ideal. Everything is close by and the walk in all directions is fabulous!
We would all chose the Delta Whistler Suites again ... no hesitation.
The only other comment is that our visit was at the very end of September, 2012. (Fabulous weather, by the way.) I had completed a TripAdvisor review already but apparently it didn't go through? so I am commenting again as we all felt it was such a great hotel and value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner court-yard, not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience so it can help others decide on staying with us. It sounds like you had a great time and I am very happy to see that the bellman were always welcoming you when they saw you and that our rooms were the perfect fit for your weekend.

I do hope you can come back and stay with us this winter as you are not too far away.

Happy that you posted your review again.

Warm regards

Alex
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Delta as a brand, tends to disappoint. It endeavours to be an equivalent of a Courtyard by Marriott or Holiday Inn level and usually fails. This Delta is no different.

Lobby is good, customer service is great. However, the rooms are appallingly bad, for 2 reasons.

REASON # 1 (The main one)
-The shower head is 5 feet tall, this is ridiculous and unacceptable. UNACCEPTABLE. This hotel is in a ski village. Who doesn't enjoy going skiing and then just enjoying the hot water of a shower. How the heck are you going to do this, when the shower head cannot go higher than 5 feet? Whoever though of this, should be fired.

REASON # 2
The rooms look terrible. There is no place to sit, just a bed, a TV fixed to the wall and a terrible looking kitchenette. All in, it doesn't give a good vaation feel.

If they fixed the shower heads I may return, but the current situation is unpardonable. Noise insulation is also an issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDeltaGM, General Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your overall service experience at our hotel. We were disappointed to hear that your guest room and shower did not meet your expectation and that you have been disappointed with a previous experience with our brand.

Delta Hotels have embarked on a guest room upgrade across our entire brand. Many of our hotels have completed guest room renovations, transitioning to our new Mode room product, in the past year with the remaining properties being completed in the next few years when they come due for renovations.

I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your specific concerns at our hotel. If I can ask that you contact me directly using my contact information listed on our web site, that would be appreciated.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Colin Perry
General Manager
Delta Whistler Village Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our second stay at the Delta Whistler Village Suites.

We enjoyed our stay on the first visit so much so that we decided to come back.

So far our second stay is just as great.

Richard at the front desk was everything you'd expect from someone greeting you to a hotel.

He was very friendly and explained where everything was. Great customer service.

Our room is a suite. There is a balcony overlooking the village stores. Very clean room, washer & dryer, kitchen, fridge & stove. Outdoor hot tub.

Over-all very happy with our stay so far. We would come back again.

Affordable rates. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Happy to see that Richard made an impression on you. I will be happy to share this feedback with him and do hope you come back again soon.

Thank you for sharing your feeback on this site.

Sincerely

Alex
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First time we have stayed at this property but will do so again. Small suite with small kitchen and separate sitting area with fireplace Very good location on main retail walking street of Whistler. Walking distance to lifts and good parking (extra$). Genuinely friendly staff. Very clean. Comfortable king bed with ensuite washer/dryer.

Room Tip: Facing Whistler mountain for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATDELTAHOTELS, Manager at Delta Whistler Village Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am happy to see your review and that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this site for others to read.

Hope to see you again sometime.

Regards

Alex
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Whistler Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Whistler Village Suites

Also Known As:
Delta Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Delta Whistler Village Hotel
Delta Whistler Village Resort
Delta Whistler
Whistler Delta
Address: 4308 Main St., Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#12 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Whistler Village Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Delta Whistler Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Whistler Village Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.