We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas of Magic at Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Oceanside, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Christmas of Magic at Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

This probably isn't a fair review as the Fairmont is my favorite hotel chain and I stay at these hotels several times a year. But I have to communicate what an amazing Christmas we had as a family this year at this great hotel.

There are so many little touches here - from the Christmas tree in our room, to the personal conceirge service before we even entered the hotel, to the great valet staff out front, the fabulous spa, the very entertaining sleigh rides ... I could go on-and-on about how this hotel just gets everything right.

From the moment we entered until we left they just took care of us. When we wanted the television in a different part of the room so the adults could watch while our child slept-- they moved it without complaint. We commented how pretty the Christmas trees were in the lobby and how sad we were to be missing ours over the holiday - and presto there was a tree in our room. We mentioned to our waiter that our 6-year-old might have issues waiting through a long Christmas dinner, and here comes a plate of treats for him to munch on. The waiters remembered our names every day at breakfast. The spa was amazing- my husband even got a pedicure.

I highly recommend the offsite Fairmont fondue restaurant. This was a highlight of the trip. Well honestly - there were too many highlights to mention.

The shuttle between the Fairmont and the mountains operated right on time. The property is ski-in/out for Whistler but Blackcomb requires a ride.

We also highly recommend the ski school for the kids. My son had never been on skis or a snowboard before- and now he cannot stop asking when we get to go again.

This is one top-knotch hotel. I cannot recommend it highly enough. We'll remember our 7-day stay for the rest of our lives.

  • Liked — The excellent Fairmont service team - they just got everything right
  • Disliked — nothing to say - not a bad moment on the trip
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    344
    139
    52
    22
See reviews for
398
514
46
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

The hotel itself is a large, new looking hotel with excellent facilities and friendly, very helpful staff. However, I didn't enjoy the food. We dined in The Wildflower Restaurant which I found to be lacking in atmosphere and had a poor choice, particularly for vegetarians with just one choice.

I also ate from the bar menu but it too didn’t rate well, and despite a wide selection of cocktails I was unable to find one I could finish, most being too sickly sweet,

However, the hotel situation couldn’t be better, in fact it is THE closest hotel to the slopes, but make sure you get a rear view room which overlooks the slopes. Despite it being a ski in ski out hotel it also has a concierge service situated at the bottom of the slopes to help you out of your ski’s and save you the short trip down the steps to the store room.

Its Portabella Restaurant is where everyone goes for breakfast, unless you have upgraded to the Gold service, but despite it also lacking in atmosphere they have a good breakfast selection at a reasonable price.

The pool facilities where second to none, with 3 outside hot jacuzzi’s, a lap pool and an swim indoor to outdoor pool. It also had a sauna, separate male/female steam rooms, a small but well equipped gym and a wellness spa.

They also have an outdoor seating area with patio heaters and fairy lights to enjoy your evening drinks under the stars.

I would definitely recommend staying hear, but dining out in the village just a 10 minute walk away or free shuttle bus. Whilst there we had a tour of the Four Seasons Hotel nearby and whilst beautifully furnished that also had a poor vegetarian selection but was situated a short walk from the slopes with poor views, mainly of other rooms. The Chateau Whistler has certainly grabbed poll position for their hotel.

  • Liked — Location right next to the slopes
  • Disliked — Food especially vegetarial choice
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

My boyfriend took me here for valentines day and boy was it a treat. We stayed on the gold floor which you pay a bit more for but the service and free breakfast, and speedy check in on your own floor makes it worth it for a real treat. I have never been treated so well by hotel staff before. The room was gorgeous, and the fresh omelet each morning in our own lounge was so nice to wake up to. This hotel is awesome, the service is impeccable! P.S. I also love the fact that you can ski to the chair lift right out of the lobby doors.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

This hotel is one of the older properties in Whistler. It is very nice on the outside and very nice on the inside. The rooms, however, reflect the hotel's age and are in need of an update. The price is expensive for the quality of the room. But the bed was soft and the sheets were nice. The bathroom was nice but the floor of the shower did not match the white tile walls and rather was some old linoleum tile that was worn out and yellow. We had no problem with the service and found it to be above-average. The hotel's location is great and it has lots of shops and even a ski rental shop on site. Finally, the spa was nice and well maintained. One more thing to note. In the elevator there is a sign that says spa access from the 3rd floor. Nonetheless, many people would walk right through the lobby in bathrobes and slippers to access the spa from the first level. This was somewhat awkward given the fact that others are in street cloths and others in ski clothes. It just didn't seem right. But, to each his own. I would return to Whistler but likely not the Fairmont. That is not to say you should not try it, but only that I would like to explore other properties in the are which looked very nice. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room and price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

If you want to ski in Whistler there is only one place to stay - and this is it. Impeccable service and attention to detail. Ski in and virtually ski out (with a ski concierge if you can't manage the 10 steps back into the ski room, or are desperate for the Apres Ski in the adjacent bars). Food and wine are of the highest quality and the Mallard Bar is the place to be and be seen. Do however avoid President's Week - the hotel and town are full and as a result everywhere is just too crowded - and noisy..so beware! Is it cheap - no of course not but it is great value for money (well at least while the Canadian Dollar is a little soft vs Sterling)! We felt that the people in the hotel were some of the most helpful and friendly that we have met. Would we go back ?- yes and soon.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

Stayed at the Fairmont 17th Feb till 24th Feb.I agree with some of the earlier comments but not all.This was my familys first skiing holiday and the location of the hotel to the slopes couldn't be any better.The staff in the ski shop were very helpful in setting us up with all the right equipment,we were there at 7am first ones in as it gets quite hectic in there later on,or go after 5 pm.The valet service for storing skis and boots etc was superb.
One floor up is the Mallard bar a great place to have a drink or something to eat after a long day on the slopes.Our group had a couple of singsongs with the resident pianist.We also went in Monks Grill and Merlins bar next door were drinks were cheaper.Breakfast in the Wildflower was off the menu or buffet option which we did for the first couple of days then we went to the Portobello restaurant were you could pick your own options much cheaper,also a great place for lunch sandwiches etc.Didn't have many meals in the hotel at night went into Whistler village lots to choose from there but you need to book tables.
Swimming every morning and most afternoons sat in the hot tub while the snows falling was surreal and I agree about time to get a drink didn't seem to be enough staff.
The rooms in my opinion weren't 5 star standard but that wasn't what we there for.Storage space was limited and bath a little small,but I found all staff fine.
I also had a problem with roomservice that was sorted out quite quickly.
Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay and for what the hotel lacked the location made up for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

Our stay at the Fairmont was by no means bad - the service is extremely friendly, helpful and very accomodating to our room change request - however this is not the caliber of hotel that warrants a "leading hotel of the world" endorsement.

The decor is tired and "chalet style" gone wrong, the bathroom in the smaller rooms are no better than a holiday inn and the pool area and changing rooms look like those of a public swimming pool. I would recommend the place to families and groups since the common spaces are large, ski rental is very convenient and there are a number of informal dining options. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, I would stay away. Drinks by the fire pit outside are a real treat though.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#5 Family Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.