We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic resort hotel for a summer getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF + DINING CREDIT
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fantastic resort hotel for a summer getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

I stayed here with my husband and 2 young children over the August long weekend and we had a really great time. It's a 5 star hotel, but casually elegant, no pompousness at all. The staff were very accommodating with all our needs, right down to getting us polysporin ointment and medical supplies when our 3 year old had a bicycle vs tree 'incident'. The pool area was great too, kids loved the outdoor pool and numerous hot tub areas, and it seemed to be a very popular place the entire sunny weekend. We felt like we were in a Caribbean or Hawaiian resort, if it weren't for the majestic mountain backdrop! Food service staff were courteous and relatively quick considering how busy it was, and the portions were huge! We enjoyed a buffet breakfast in the terrace garden by the waterfall one morning. We found the hotel to be very kid-friendly. Rooms were clean and have been updated, we were in a standard double-double room and there was adequate space for us. There's good storage for bikes/trailers downstairs too.

  • Liked — 5-star
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    398
    161
    56
    26
See reviews for
465
614
48
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at the Chateau from July 20-28. We stayed on the Fairmont Gold floor and it was worth the extra $$. The service was excellent and everybody went out of his or her way to make sure we had everything we needed for a great vacation. Our 8 year old daughter loved the hotel and Whistler. We have booked a return trip with 3 other families for ski season. Of course we are staying at the Chateau on the Gold floor!! The hotel and Whistler are worth the hassle of traveling from Florida.

  • Liked — The great service and the overall environment of casual luxury.
  • Disliked — Paying $30(CAD) a night to park our rental car.
  • Tips/Secrets — The honor bar in the Gold level lounge is the best deal in Whistler for drinks!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

Stayed for a summer golfing and Whistler vacation from Tuesday 7/26 through Sunday morning 7/30 then back home to St. Louis (there's a trek). I can't say enough positive things. The reservation desk worked with us to put together a package of hotel/golf (important, considering that golf is very expensive) and the property and staff were terrific. Shuttled us around without delay, set up activities and retrieved information. Always asking what more they could do for us. Even the guests that we met were very nice--no 'airs' about them. We ponied up and stayed on the Gold floor and for a special vacation it was worth it. When packaged with their golf course, the price was really very good. I would recommend the Chateau to anyone and everyone.

  • Liked — Service. Everyone wanted to do something for us.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June and found the hotel to be excellent in most areas. Great location in the Upper village and close to ski lifts but still only a short walk to the Village proper with all its restaurants, shops and bars. The hotel décor is very homely and warm and the gold level was a bonus (automatic upgrade at check-in as they were full) with good buffer breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres, but not sure if we would have paid the extra to get it. The bar was lively with good evening entertainment and open pit fires on the patio, food in the bar was good but unfortunately dinner in the Wildflower was disappointing - seemed to be that end of season apathy when it came to service - how about removing the plates before one of us was finished – definitely not what you would expect in a premium hotel. Maybe some of the staff are there for the ski-ing rather than the serving. But all in all we really enjoyed our stay – by the way we checked out the Four Seasons next door and for our money the Fairmont wins in style and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER, BC CANADA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

THE POSITIVE:
From the time we made our mistake with parking ,the valet very nicely greeted us ,checked our reservations outside and showed us where the parking garage was and gave us a ticket and welcomed us warmly. Great start and good 1st impression.

Check in was a breeze and the front desk gave us a tip of the best ski runs with the most sunshine. Later that night, the staff left a note in our room of the next day weather forecast on the mountains.

This hotel knows that the small issues are just as important to the guest as the large ones, such as using your name every opportunity they can, polite, turndown service, water for the next day, 2 large outdoor fire pits to sit around which was popular and friendly.

Yes you pay the extra penny for a good hotel and service.

If you choose to eat in the hotel, I would only suggest the WILDFLOWER with a modern menu, great service and very succulent meals...canadian size...just right.

THE NEGATIVE:
The cost of food was far too much to pay, which includes all restaurants and room service. Trust me just go outside and eat anywhere outside of the Whistler hotels, which is just 23 steps outside this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

Stayed here for two nights as part of an all-expense paid trip through my company.

Rooms: Somewhat outdated decor and furnishings. Clean though.
Location: Need to take a shuttle to the village. Or a taxi if the shuttle is not available.
Value. There are more modern and luxurious hotels to stay at for the same price (or much less for that matter).
Overall: I agree with the last reviewer - I was unimpressed - the pictures of the room on their website look better than in reality. I am sure this resort was luxurious when it was first built. It is now in need of some updating and I would have felt as though I was staying in a cheaper hotel if it were not for the Fairmont name. Would not stay here again for the price. I travel to Whister regularly and it has many more modern and newly constructed accomodations that truly warrant their four and five star ratings and have better value.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

Stayed at the Fairmont Whistler for five days while attending a conference in late March '06. As frequent Fairmont patrons we were unimpressed w/ what is supposed to be one of the premier Fairmont resorts and are unlikely to return. This visit in a nutshell:

1) Beware when making your reservation: the hotel charges you for your entire stay at the time of reservation. While this is not entirely uncommon, other hotels will at least allow modifications to your reservation within a reasonable time preceeding your arrival. Do not expect that same flexibility at this hotel. We attempted to move our entire stay back one day prior to arrival, they wouldn't allow it and informed us we would be charged for the night we were not there.

2) They're inconsistent. The hotel ultimately did move the entire stay back one day w/o penalty, but we didn't discover this until checkout. Considering the resistance we encountered while attempting to make the change w/ Fairmont reservations prior to arrival and the front desk manager at the time of arrival, this was most likely a billing error than an intended act of benevolence.

3) Small bang for the buck w/ the room. Despite being President's Club members and having a multi-night stay when the hotel was nowhere near capacity, the room was outdated and unremarkable.

4) I can't attest to this one, but my better half was unimpressed w/ her Spa experience and rated it only average. I can attest to this: the bill was far from average.

5) We dined in a couple times at Wildflower & Portobello's and did some apres-ski time in the bar. The food in the bar and P's was fair to poor, although Wildflower's was nice ... we struggled to understand the inconsistency since presumably the food all comes from the same kitchen.

6) We received going-away choc chip cookies & bottled water from the valet on the morning of our departure -- actually a nice touch. Would have been even better if the cookies hadn't been sitting outside all night and we're nearly frozen... water was cold though.

To be balanced, here's some positives: easy access to Blackcomb; nice fireplace in the comfy bar to wind down in front of; speedy car valet service; we lined up a fun afternoon of snowmobiing via the hotel Adventure Center; and the eucalyptus steam room is great.

Next time we stay in the upper Village, we'll park ourselves next door at the Four Seasons. The Westin & Pan Pacific Lodge are quality choices in the Main Village if you want to be closer to the nightlife.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.