We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location - we'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service, great location - we'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The location is fabulous - the hotel is right at the foot of Blackcomb mountain, just yards from the ski lifts and a brief 5-10 mins walk from the main "village" along a wide, safe pathway.
As some other have written the rooms are a little jaded and dated but we were not there to lounge in the room, we were there for the outdoors. That being said, Fairmont really should put this hotel at the top of the priority list for room refurbishment beacuse they are way behind the competition in this area.
The service was impeccable - it was friendly and efficient and we didn't experience anything to complain about. In particular, Xavier in the bar was pleasant and charming. The bar itself is "old school" with its decor (leather seats, lots of wood, muted colors etc) but it was comfortable and inviting although a little quiet during our stay - we still enjoyed it!
The food was good but not great. I had a fairly "sloppy" caesar salad from the Wildflower Restaurant one evening and the Wine Room dinner that we had was pricey for the quality of the food, size of the portions and average nature of the paired wines. [Note to Hotel: Please improve the wine pairings to complement and enhance the meal - the choices right now are really pretty lame!]
We didn't use the pool although it did have a sunny aspect and looked fun. The only downside was that it's a pretty small area and the chairs and loungers were long occupied by early afternoon.
Housekeeping was fine. My concern was the mild disgust I had when I glanced into the vent above the shower as it must have contained 10 years of dust and other unidentified debris.
As usual I was hacked off by the excessive parking charges at approx C$26 per day. I know that it's standard practice but it still feels like gouging and I baulk at it at every hotel that rips its customers off in this way. And no free wireless internet in the rooms - that is so yesterday!
Overall, we loved our stay as, on balance, the good points far outweigh the bad. It's a charming hotel, very convenient, great views and the staff all helped to make it an enjoyable visit for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    873
    344
    139
    52
    22
See reviews for
397
513
46
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bcharre, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Visited this hotel over the August long weekend. It was very busy and appeared to be at a high occupancy level. I had previously stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and found that with this current visit, the staff were more courteous (ie: the concierge and front desk staff were more friendly and eager to assist, the staff in the hallways made direct eye contact with you and always greeted you). This was not the case in the past.

The rooms are comfortable but overall the hallway carpets and room's furniture are a bit dated and tired. The two queen sized beds in our deluxe room were comfortable. The deluxe room afforded to us a nice mountain view. There were no issues with noise from the adjacent rooms. There is a small bar fridge, coffee maker and kettle in the room. The shower pressure and air conditioner worked well. If you sign up for the President's Club, internet service is free. The wi-fi did not work well in the rooms, one would have to sit in the main lobby area to access the wi-fi.

Pets are allowed at this hotel, so expect to see a lot of the four legged friends throughout the hotel.

The pool area consists of a swimout indoor to outdoor pool, 2 hot tubs ( 1 indoor and 1 outdoor) and a lap pool. The pool area is small and is crowded with pool chairs very close to each other. In the early morning hours of 7 to 8 a.m. one could swim comfortably in the pools. But by 9 a.m., the pool area started filling up with lots of people reserving pool chairs.

We had breakfast at the Portobello Cafe ($2-10/item) one morning and the Weekend Brunch ($20/adult and $10/child) at the Wildflower restaurant. The Wildflower restaurant has a different nightly special each evening for $10. When we tried to make a reservation for dinner in the morning, we were told they were sold out of the specials, but could make a reservation for the regular menu (entrees from $25-35). As well for the Weekend Brunch, when we walked up at 9 a.m. to make a reservation for the 11:30 a.m. brunch, we were told it was sold out but that we could try at 11:30 a.m. to see if any space was available. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. and were given a 12:00 reservation. When we arrived at 12:00, the restaurant was only 60% full.

The hotel has a bike rental store in the basement for $10/hour. You receive 10% off if you are staying at the hotel. There are also 3-4 adult bikes and 1-2 child bikes available from the hotel for 2 hour periods for free.

The hotel is conveninetly situated, with the kids Adventure Zone activities right outside. It is a 10 minute walk to the village, where you can find a multitude of dining options. The Spaghetti Factory, The Keg Restaurants offer good value but try to get there early.

Our kids enjoyed the adventure course at Wildplay.com. If they like high-ropes activities, they will enjoy this outting.

Overall, the hotel was a good value for $129/night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Usually stay in the Westin at Whistler, and it's always top notch. Decided to give the Fairmont a go this time. Lobby and public areas are very nice, high end decorations etc. The bedrooms are really ugly. Standard of fit, finish and furniture is so-so, bathrooms are very old and dingy and the standards of cleanliness were a lot less than would be expected of a 5 star hotel. Staff were also not the best; literally had to chase a waiter down to get a drink in the bar, and when we raised the issue of the room being below par the girl we spoke to gave the 'some rooms are being renovated' speil. It did not appear to be the first time she had trotted that excuse out i recent history....

The one good thing about the stay was that it really underlines how good a hotel the Westin is!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

8 of us stayed here in Feb. We got there late at night but the kitchen staff were happy to prepare us some food which we were very grateful for after a long flight and transfer.
The rooms were large and we had two queen size beds for the two of us!!
The resort is amazing, the hot tubs outside were surreal, I spent most afternoons in there watching the skiers whizzing down the slopes.
A definate must!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was by far the best hotel among the seven we stayed in during our West Coast trip. What was unbelievable is that the price was under 200 with mounainview (above 6th level). The hotel has great location, looks great, clean, the room is big and cozy.
Be aware that the parking is NOT free. Add 27CAD for an economy underground parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked this hotel because we got an INCREDIBLE deal for their anniversary sale (about 80USD/night). Though I had never stayed at the Chateau before, I used the spa once and liked it very much, so I was looking forward to our stay.

The room was a bit sorry, but we didn't feel cheated since we paid so little. It was a pokey little affair with a slanted ceiling and bedclothes from the early 80s. The bed was comfortable though the sheets were far from luxe. That said, we had a mountain view and a window seat from which to enjoy it. I haven't seen any other rooms on the property, but it seems as though many guests posting on this form are disappointed.

Despite the noisy kids splashing in the pool, the spa was still enjoyable-- hot-tubbing at the foot of the mountains with Bloody Ceaser cocktail service is my kind of vacation relaxation. I used the eucalyptus steam room on the last day and regretted that I hadn't made time for it every day.

I prefer the Chateau's location in the Upper Village to the Lower Village, which gets ROWDY in the evenings. We had to make frequent 10-minute treks to see our friends, visit the grocery/liquor store etc., but it was nice to be able to escape the throng at the end of the day.

Service was friendly if impersonal. No complaints.

Don't eat here-- the food is overpriced and didn't seem fresh. Ciao Thyme bistro and Quinny's Cafe (the best spiced chicken!!) across the way are both good alternatives for quick meals, and there are upscale restaurants in town.

*Don't park here if you can help it. 27CAN is not a fair price for self-parking.*

If we'd paid much more for this hotel, I would be annoyed. As it stands, we had a perfectly nice experience with some lovely perks, for the price of a motel. So I suggest you look for similar deals or research other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont for a 3night stay mid June when the ski season had just ended hence we got an excellent deal of 3 nights for the price of 2. What a treat awaited us ! The entrance to the Fairmont is very grand but welcoming at the same time and our double bedroom was tastefully furnished, spacious and enjoyed a nice view onto the mountains. The room was spotlessly clean. If staying here,dont miss the outdoor hot tubs. Even in the rain this was a very pleasant experience..you can even enjoy a cocktail while sweating it out in the hottub.
On making the booking we were worried that perhaps this hotel was a bit far from the main town but Whistler village and upper village are contained within quite a small area and its really only a five minute walk to the action. The only bad thing about this hotel is the price of food and drink for room service and in the restaurant -definitely the highest prices I saw anywhere in BC- a pity because I dont mind paying a premium normally for the convenience of dining in the hotel especially after a long days travelling but the prices here were sky high.
I definitely wouldnt let that put me off though as theres a decent choice in the village itself. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Family Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.