We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Top Notch"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“"Top Notch"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this fine establishment and again it was over and beyond...the food in all restaurants was superb...loved the service from the gang in Portobello in particular...and Chris in Wildflower was also excellent...the lounge is wonderful in both décor and ambiance...the live entertainment was excellent...overall a wonderful stay at a "Top Notch" hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to hear your return visit was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Chris and our Portobello Team to inform them their efforts are recognized and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    352
    142
    52
    24
See reviews for
412
525
47
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in a wonderful location. The staff was fabulous - very friendly, helpful, and efficient. I had an upgraded room with a view and it was beautiful. The rooms are a good size and they come with nice "amenities" - the soap, lotion, and shampoo was great as well as a nice assortment of tea and coffee (complete with a keurig and tea kettle!). In addition, the exercise room was very nice and clean and the pool was pristine. At their little bakery, I had one of the best blueberry muffins I've ever tasted. Also, the bed was super comfortable. Even though this was a work trip - I felt like I was on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Our staff strives for excellence every day and they will truly appreciate your kind words. It is great that you had a chance to experience our newly renovation health club facilities, a serene place to relax after a day of meetings. Although I am confident you were working hard during your stay it is a pleasure to hear you were able to “play hard” as well. Thank you for your review; we looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon - First impressions where not great as we entered a room with a fresh coffee stained carpet and used slippers. We requested a high floor when booking 15 months ago and were giving the 3rd (which is the bottom floor) floor with views of a tree from the window! After going to the reception desk and explaining why we were not happy they offered a different room and moved our luggage straight away, we were upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor, We had amazing views from the new room and the rest of our stay was great.
We used the breakfast room and the Mallard lounge during our stay and both offered a great selection. The mallard lounge has to be my favourite part if this hotel and Xavier (Barman) was brilliant, remembering our drinks and room number from the previous night and keeping us amused while we worked our way through the cocktail menu.
The hotel is in the quieter Upper village which is perfect if you do not want noise from the street bars, a few minutes walk from the other bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor.... We stayed in room 1044, great views of the mountains/ski lifts and no room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal landmark in your new lives together. The hotel’s location in the upper village makes our resort the perfect location for a mountainous retreat. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and I will be sure to pass on your fond words to Xavier. On behalf of The Fairmont Chateau Whistler, I thank you for making our hotel your choice property to create cherished and loving memories shared together throughout your continued journey. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nestled at the foot of Blackcomb mountain, this hotel offers spectacular views in an elegant alpine setting. Upon arrival, our particular room was not yet ready. When indicating we would accept two queens in lieu of a king, we were complimentary upgraded to a room overlooking the pool and the mountain. Our room was large, tastefully decorated in blues, golds and neutrals. In addition to two queen beds, there was a desk, table and four chairs and ubiquitous flat screen tv. Coffee maker thankfully located outside of the bathroom. Our favorite part of the hotel was the pool area. Open until 11:00 p.m., there is a lap pool, swimming pool, 3 outside whirlpools and 1 indoor along with a sauna. Always plenty of lounge chairs available and a fun mix of music playing. The Family Fun Zone just outside of the hotel is actually part of the ski resort but it was great to have so many activities nearby including miniature golf, trampoline, luge, maze and horseback riding. My only criticism was that the towels seemed a bit worn. For a hotel of this reputation, I would have expected fluffy towels other than the typical hotel issue variety. Finally, as Whistler is known as a winter resort, the hotel offered several promotions for summer travelers which made our stay a very good value. You will pay for the extras however, including wi-fi, use of the business center, and parking.

Room Tip: Mountain views cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent visit to the hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time in Whistler. I am very sorry to learn that the towels in your room were not up to standard. We pride ourselves on exceeding guest expectations in every way, on every stay and we recognize the importance that guest room textiles play in the overall hotel experience. The collection of Fairmont terry products has been developed over years of testing and is designed to offer the plush and fluffy feel that everyone loves. I am sorry that we were not able to provide that experience on your most recent visit and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to do so in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Vick

Director of Housekeeping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, I do not know for how long has this wonderful hotel been around but it's safe to assume that it's not a newcomer.

This place is classy and perfectly located..just outside the Whistler Village.

We stayed only for one night-and that's my biggest regret about this place. The other option was not to come at all which would have been an even bigger regret. We all face this dilemma every now and then. We stayed at Gold level and lucked out on the corner room. The room/suite had room to spare even after a rollaway bed was placed(which we didn't have to remind the staff about...just a note with the online reservation was enough). The view from the room, the calm surroundings, the soaring mountains do make the world stop for a bit..until interrupted by screams of the kids from the other room ;)

This hotel must come to glory in winters actually..easy access to the gondolas to the peaks, powdery snow all around, Christmasy trees as far as ur vision goes all while holding a Red/Blonde/Scotch etc in ur one hand, an iPhone (with iBooks..lol) in the other and the fireplace warming up ur soul..I can't wait to experience that one day..

The Gold lounge is nice complementary service. But the drinks you have to pay for...talk about killing the mood and leaving an aftertaste.

Dear Fairmont, ever heard of 'happy hour' on the house?? Ur guests will more than make up for the 'losses' incurred!!

We decided to dine in the Village and didn't try out any of the restaurants but they looked quite packed.

Whistler has lot of decent places to spend ur hard-earned money and much-awaited vacation at. I can't speak to how it compares to the other great options in the town but this place doesn't let u down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Since opening its doors in 1989, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler hotel has been the area's landmark ski resort, located within the Whistler Blackcomb ski area. The hotel is certainly a base camp of adventure in Whistler and is the perfect location to explore a wide range of activities all while framing signature mountainous views in the windows of our beautiful rooms. It is excellent that you had the opportunity to experience our Fairmont Gold Floor. The complimentary deluxe breakfast daily, complimentary appetizers in the evenings and complimentary no alcoholic beverages available to all Fairmont Gold guests are a treat to establish the atmosphere of your own pantry at home. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart

Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A gift from my younger son, my wife and I were treated to a weekend in Whistler. The hotel is first rate as you would expect. Greeted at the front desk by the charming and efficient Melissa we were settled in our room in minutes of our arrival. The room was very pleasant with a wonderful view of the mountains. Everything was neat ,clean and comfortable as well as quiet.
The concierge arranged tickets for us for the famous Peak[Whistler] to Peak[Blackcomb] gondola ride. A breathtaking experience but not for those afraid of heights.
The hotel of course is beautiful nestled there in the mountains and was obviously running at full capacity .We ate at several venues in town and the only disappointment was The Wildflower in the hotel. Several friends had recommended it but we found the preparation and service was lacking. Perhaps they were worn out by dinner time. We would of course recommend the experience to everyone not on a budget.

Room Tip: Upgrades can be reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Chateau. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler while celebrating your special day. I will pass on your great comment about Mellissa to her and our employee recognition committee. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and had a fabulous visit. The staff were very informative and helpful in planning activities, during our stay. We were slope side, on the 8th floor, and it was so pleasant to wake up to the view every morning. the restaurants were relaxing, with great food and service. Enjoyed being within walking distance of the village, but away from hustle and bustle. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a slope side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. Our hotel is, as you say, in the perfect location for a mountainous retreat. I am very pleased to hear you and your partner enjoyed your visit to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. At the Chateau, our staff strives to provide personalized service to each guest and encourage the authenticity of the local experiences during their visit. I am gladd you enjoyed everything Whistler has to offer and I will pass on your great comments to our front line employees. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Chris Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#6 Family Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.