We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold floor is a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Pikeville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gold floor is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing time! Perfect location! Small rooms but very elegant & inviting. Loved staying on the Gold floor with our own concierge, fireplace in our room, updated bathrooms (in comparison to non-gold floor rooms), great free breakfast, good amount of snacks throughout the day & free coffee & soft drinks. The gold floor was great however, the other rooms are a bit outdated. The staff-amazing!
Great vacation at an elegant & classy resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great feedback about our Fairmont Gold floor. We will be certain to pass it on to our specialty Gold concierge and service team. We’ve recently added some new items to our breakfast buffet in the Gold lounge and it is great to hear they are being well received. I hope we can welcome you back to The Fairmont Chateau Whistler again soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    954
    364
    153
    54
    25
See reviews for
435
555
48
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Pros:
Facility - A multi-million dollar facility on par with some of the best resorts in the world. I have stayed in a dozen Fairmont hotels in the U.S., Canada, and Bermuda and this hotel's public area's and rooms are first class. Great bedding and linens. Classic furnitire. Spacious bath with separate shower.
Service - Gracious hospitality at the restaurants. Kudos to the conccierge who scored great reservations and charged my iPad. Loved the ski valet and the energetic staff that were extremely helpful. Pool staff made a winter stay like a day in the Caribbean. Front desk was a bit lackluster and not memorable.
Location - You can't beat the amazing location of Chateau Whistler smack dab at the base of Blackcomb mountain and a short walking disatnce to Whistler Village, one of the best ski villages of the 20 ski resorts I have been priveleged to visit.
Con-
NOISE NOISE NOISE. No, not from the double insulated windows with total blackout drapes. No, not from the solid walls between rooms. No, the noise came from the doors that were not gasketed in rubber or a least a chintzy piece of foam. I could have stuck my finger in between the gap between the door and the doorframe. Every single door slam, conversation, cough, sneeze and screaming child was as if they were right in your room. I woke up in the middle of the night scared out of my wits thinking someone was in my room because the conversation was so clear. A walk down the hall you could hear every conversation and TV show. What a lack of privacy. The hotel manager should walk down the halls on a Friday evening and hear the cacophony of noises from each room. It was like a schizophrenics mad nightmare. Get with it Fairmont, a fairy tale location such as the Chateau Fairmont should not be marred by such obtrusive and inexcusable noise.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The ski in ski out was very convenient.
Staff was very friendly, and helpful.
Very clean facility. Shuttles to downtown area was a great service.
Extremely comfortable beds.
Very neat gift shops. Three hot tubs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is the classic whistler hotel, well appointed and as close to the slopes as you can get. ski right up to the door. not as well located in terms of nightlife, as its a bit of a walk to the village. Rooms vary a lot in size, but are nicely decorated. Restaurant is a bit pricey, but so is everything else at this destination. The lobby bar is cozy and great for aprez ski. Well suited for conferences. The hot tub area might need updating soon, but the rooms are kept up to date. Service is very high quality, friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: there are some very small rooms; ask to switch if you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the ski-in/ski-out location of the hotel in the Upper Village and the Mallard Lounge for its après ski vibe. The hot tub and pool area is receiving some new furnishings soon, so I hope you will be able to come back and check out the new look.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently. The hotel also has the policy where if you book two rooms for a family the second room is 50% discount.
Everything about this hotel was amazing - the staff, the restaurants, the hot tubs, the ski valet, hot chocolates at the bottom of the slopes, the beds, the bath amenities.
We felt thoroughly spoilt at this hotel and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to stay somewhere special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great feedback from your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler! We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Family Package and enjoy the 50% off savings. I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Whistler again soon for another ski holiday!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. the staff are very well trained. excellent services. amazaing stay and ski. the hotel is comfortably located at the Blackcomb and ideal for skier. the vallet servies provide you comfort. you dont need to carry your skies from the time you enter until you go to hit the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great property with all the thoughtful amenities associated with Fairmont, coupled with exceptional staff.

The room itself is classic, though like other experiences with Fairmont recently, a bit...blah. My photos were lost so I cannot illustrate my point visually but I would describe it as a hotel that is expecting extra wear and tear (makes sense given it is a ski resort) and so hasn't invested in luxury or sprucing up the decor. Everything is in wonderful condition and very clean, so no concerns in that regard - it just seems to lack the thoughtfulness that goes into features like the lounge or lobby. In this sense, the rooms lack character, which is disappointing because the Fairmont brand is (for me) closely associated with class and elegance and the rooms stop shy of that. While this is not a deficiency, it is a missed opportunity to round out the overall experience.

The lounge and restaurant were excellent - we enjoyed breaks and late night drinks each day, settling into comfortable armchairs and sofas. There was always more than enough space to accommodate our group (~8 people) without infringing on anyone else's comfort. The attentive in the lounge was also top notch, with great drink recommendations and a balance of fast service with respectful distance, allowing us to linger long after we had settled our bill and even after the bar had closed.

The food in the restaurant was very high quality and the buffet had great selection. I especially appreciated the ability to take a smoothie or juice on the road for the days when I woke up late, or the day we woke up very very early for a 5am departure. They had breakfast bags ready for us with juice, pastries, yogurt etc. The food served during the day was exceptional - the only downside is that it was whisked away so quickly with so many leftovers that our team would have preferred to nibble at throughout the day. We had one amazing spread with solely meat and roasted vegetables and it was clear the kitchen got creative, roasting too many things to mention and all perfectly cooked - steak with an excellent sear and cooked to a beautiful medium rare was such a treat for lunch. Hot pretzels another day were also fun...basically we looked forward to meals and snacks with unusual excitement once we had one taste.

Overall, many of the ingredients of a 5-star luxury property are there - just wish that the rooms fulfilled their part of the bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.