We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not perfect, but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SKI SALE! Save Up To 35%
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“not perfect, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is the classic whistler hotel, well appointed and as close to the slopes as you can get. ski right up to the door. not as well located in terms of nightlife, as its a bit of a walk to the village. Rooms vary a lot in size, but are nicely decorated. Restaurant is a bit pricey, but so is everything else at this destination. The lobby bar is cozy and great for aprez ski. Well suited for conferences. The hot tub area might need updating soon, but the rooms are kept up to date. Service is very high quality, friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: there are some very small rooms; ask to switch if you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the ski-in/ski-out location of the hotel in the Upper Village and the Mallard Lounge for its après ski vibe. The hot tub and pool area is receiving some new furnishings soon, so I hope you will be able to come back and check out the new look.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    370
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
443
575
48
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently. The hotel also has the policy where if you book two rooms for a family the second room is 50% discount.
Everything about this hotel was amazing - the staff, the restaurants, the hot tubs, the ski valet, hot chocolates at the bottom of the slopes, the beds, the bath amenities.
We felt thoroughly spoilt at this hotel and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to stay somewhere special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this great feedback from your recent stay at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler! We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Family Package and enjoy the 50% off savings. I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Whistler again soon for another ski holiday!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. the staff are very well trained. excellent services. amazaing stay and ski. the hotel is comfortably located at the Blackcomb and ideal for skier. the vallet servies provide you comfort. you dont need to carry your skies from the time you enter until you go to hit the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great property with all the thoughtful amenities associated with Fairmont, coupled with exceptional staff.

The room itself is classic, though like other experiences with Fairmont recently, a bit...blah. My photos were lost so I cannot illustrate my point visually but I would describe it as a hotel that is expecting extra wear and tear (makes sense given it is a ski resort) and so hasn't invested in luxury or sprucing up the decor. Everything is in wonderful condition and very clean, so no concerns in that regard - it just seems to lack the thoughtfulness that goes into features like the lounge or lobby. In this sense, the rooms lack character, which is disappointing because the Fairmont brand is (for me) closely associated with class and elegance and the rooms stop shy of that. While this is not a deficiency, it is a missed opportunity to round out the overall experience.

The lounge and restaurant were excellent - we enjoyed breaks and late night drinks each day, settling into comfortable armchairs and sofas. There was always more than enough space to accommodate our group (~8 people) without infringing on anyone else's comfort. The attentive in the lounge was also top notch, with great drink recommendations and a balance of fast service with respectful distance, allowing us to linger long after we had settled our bill and even after the bar had closed.

The food in the restaurant was very high quality and the buffet had great selection. I especially appreciated the ability to take a smoothie or juice on the road for the days when I woke up late, or the day we woke up very very early for a 5am departure. They had breakfast bags ready for us with juice, pastries, yogurt etc. The food served during the day was exceptional - the only downside is that it was whisked away so quickly with so many leftovers that our team would have preferred to nibble at throughout the day. We had one amazing spread with solely meat and roasted vegetables and it was clear the kitchen got creative, roasting too many things to mention and all perfectly cooked - steak with an excellent sear and cooked to a beautiful medium rare was such a treat for lunch. Hot pretzels another day were also fun...basically we looked forward to meals and snacks with unusual excitement once we had one taste.

Overall, many of the ingredients of a 5-star luxury property are there - just wish that the rooms fulfilled their part of the bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here January 10-13 with my wife, 9 month old daughter, along with my mother in law and her boyfriend. We requested an attached room and we were lucky enough to get one which made things easier. The rooms were spacious enough to set up a playpen and barely notice it. Not typical of a fairmont where I find the rooms are normally small and cramped.

When you finish snowboarding or skiing for the day, they have someone at the base of the hill who collects your gear. You can conveniently go pick it up from the basement where you walk right out(up a few stairs) to the chair lift.

The hot tub and pool were great, along with the mens change room where I used the eucalyptus steam room. It was a memorable trip because my wife's mother was going to watch our baby while we went out for a date night but just before we were getting our daughters bottle ready, the fire alarm went off. Unfortunately it wasn't a false alarm as the chimney from the lobby fireplace had actually caught fire. We evacuated pretty quickly and waited in the lobby of another hotel for about 2 hours before we were allowed back into our room. So that kind of ruined our night because it took a while to get our daughter to bed and by then, we were pretty tired ourselves. But overall, a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, great location, and has wonderfully attentive staff. In the past we've stayed at vacation rental condos or the Four Seasons but this year we finally got to stay at the Fairmont. Totally worth every penny! Obviously the sky in/out is beneficial but their equipment is really nice (wide boots, long boots, etc.) and the staff takes the time to get things right. They also remember you, which in heavy season is a nice surprise. The restaurants near the slopes (Merlins and one other I can't recall) were overpriced, packed, or had huge waits. The sushi place affiliated with the hotel near the Fairmont had a great lunch option. Also, the hotel itself has a lot of wonderful restaurants (at least one meal a day was at Portobello's) AND room service was affordable. There was a wonderful buffet, the spa was great (dry sauna really nice), and generally was impressed. However, best feature = the staff. We caught a cold during our stay and not only did they realize we wanted to cool our beverages (got us bucket of ice) but they also had tea service ready for us when we came back after a room change. They made sure we had extra tissues and were very good about quick cleaning so we could huddle back in. The people of Whistler are just as amazing as the beauty. Everywhere you look from your hotel rooms is a picture and being so near to the mountain to go up and down quickly was wonderful. Fairmont may be more than some of the other hotels at Whistler but it's totally worth it and there's a reason the ratings are so high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for this outstanding review! We are delighted to hear that The Fairmont Chateau Whistler was able to play a role in your fantastic ski visit to Whistler. We will be sure to pass along your thanks to our Portobello Deli colleagues and housekeeping team as well.

I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon. Be sure to sign up for our Fairmont President’s Club (complimentary to join), so that you can take advantage of exclusive Fairmont hotel offers year round.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.