We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    898
    353
    142
    52
    24
See reviews for
412
526
47
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here January 10-13 with my wife, 9 month old daughter, along with my mother in law and her boyfriend. We requested an attached room and we were lucky enough to get one which made things easier. The rooms were spacious enough to set up a playpen and barely notice it. Not typical of a fairmont where I find the rooms are normally small and cramped.

When you finish snowboarding or skiing for the day, they have someone at the base of the hill who collects your gear. You can conveniently go pick it up from the basement where you walk right out(up a few stairs) to the chair lift.

The hot tub and pool were great, along with the mens change room where I used the eucalyptus steam room. It was a memorable trip because my wife's mother was going to watch our baby while we went out for a date night but just before we were getting our daughters bottle ready, the fire alarm went off. Unfortunately it wasn't a false alarm as the chimney from the lobby fireplace had actually caught fire. We evacuated pretty quickly and waited in the lobby of another hotel for about 2 hours before we were allowed back into our room. So that kind of ruined our night because it took a while to get our daughter to bed and by then, we were pretty tired ourselves. But overall, a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, great location, and has wonderfully attentive staff. In the past we've stayed at vacation rental condos or the Four Seasons but this year we finally got to stay at the Fairmont. Totally worth every penny! Obviously the sky in/out is beneficial but their equipment is really nice (wide boots, long boots, etc.) and the staff takes the time to get things right. They also remember you, which in heavy season is a nice surprise. The restaurants near the slopes (Merlins and one other I can't recall) were overpriced, packed, or had huge waits. The sushi place affiliated with the hotel near the Fairmont had a great lunch option. Also, the hotel itself has a lot of wonderful restaurants (at least one meal a day was at Portobello's) AND room service was affordable. There was a wonderful buffet, the spa was great (dry sauna really nice), and generally was impressed. However, best feature = the staff. We caught a cold during our stay and not only did they realize we wanted to cool our beverages (got us bucket of ice) but they also had tea service ready for us when we came back after a room change. They made sure we had extra tissues and were very good about quick cleaning so we could huddle back in. The people of Whistler are just as amazing as the beauty. Everywhere you look from your hotel rooms is a picture and being so near to the mountain to go up and down quickly was wonderful. Fairmont may be more than some of the other hotels at Whistler but it's totally worth it and there's a reason the ratings are so high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for this outstanding review! We are delighted to hear that The Fairmont Chateau Whistler was able to play a role in your fantastic ski visit to Whistler. We will be sure to pass along your thanks to our Portobello Deli colleagues and housekeeping team as well.

I hope we can welcome you back to Whistler again soon. Be sure to sign up for our Fairmont President’s Club (complimentary to join), so that you can take advantage of exclusive Fairmont hotel offers year round.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After visiting British Columbia last summer, it was very apparent that one of the hotels that I thought would be my favorite was actually my least favorite. The lobby and grounds are very nice however we had a deluxe slope side room, not your regular fairmont room, and quite honestly we could've been in any hotel anywhere as the decor and furnising were mediocre at best. We'd just come from the Pan Pacific hotel in Vancouver and our room was amazing. After our stay at the Fairmont we headed to Tofino to the Wickaninnish Inn which was also gorgeous, so the Fairmont was really a let down. The location was great, staff was friendly and service was good, just wish that they would upgrade their guest rooms, especially if you're paying a premium for their deluxe slope side, one should get more than just a view out of a regular standard type room. Next time we'll stay at the Four Seasons which is in the same great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked one night at the Fairmont in a Junior Valley View Suite to enjoy a weekend away. Whilst the Fairmont offers great facilities, location and ambience in the lobby, we were quite taken aback by the room we arrived to. The decor and actual room were fine but for $500/night, to have a room that backed onto the elevator shaft was unacceptable. We slept about 3 hours that night. Be wary of descriptors on the website stating: " close to elevator location" - it actually means that the elevator shaft is right adjacent to your bedroom and the noise does not stop all night - a real pity for spending so much for one night and not waking up refreshed! Apparently after asking the staff, all these type suites are in a similar location :(

Room Tip: Do not choose the Junior Valley View suite as it is directly adjacent to the elevator shaft - do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent stay at our hotel. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance and décor, ensuring that our guests receive a good night’s sleep is certainly a top priority for our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. If you wish to follow up with our team further, please email us at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Superb service from all staff we came in contact with during our stay. Room was very clean, quiet, complimentary items were appreciated in the public areas, (also being a loyalty member). The ski pick up in the morning was very hectic which I understand is common. Was a nice touch coming off the mountain and being met by a gentleman from the resort directing us to ski valet and complimentary hot chocolate.

Use of the pool facilities at bight after a day of skiing was a blessing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Fairmont Chateau is as good as a hotel can get, at breakfast you can eat organic, vegan or the best steak and eggs; then you can have a private ski lesson in the language of your choice (spanish for us) to later on finish the day in the Health Spa where even my 3 year old got a robe that seemed tailor made. The Royal Service concierge helped my take care of business in between by sending up someone to my room so I could sign a document which they scanned and mailed for me. Last but not least I had a craving for chicken noodle soup in the middle of the night which was not on the menu but was no challenge for the chef who made it from scratch in a few minutes! All this in an ambiance that is taken care of to perfection while everyone seems to know your name and your needs.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrades to have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Hugo,

Thank you for sharing your story on your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast offering that caters to many different dietary preferences. We will be sure to share your feedback with our kitchen team and let them know how their service made your stay with us memorable. I hope we can welcome you and your family back to Whistler again soon! Hasta pronto!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#6 Family Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.