We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“falltime treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF + DINING CREDIT
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Langley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“falltime treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the first time visitng Whistler without snowfall but the drive to and from is well with the trip. A stay at the Fairmont is always delightful with its notable good service, excellent service, great location and great views from the guest rooms.

While the mountains are not quite as gorgeous without the snow, the rates are typically adjusted for that, so it is still an enjoyable road getaway

Room Tip: Allow extra time for the drive to and from to enjoy the vistas along the way, if traveling during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    398
    161
    56
    26
See reviews for
465
614
48
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Chateau is located a bit far from the village, but there is where the best hotels are located, as matter of fact, the Hateu and the Four Seasons are neighbors. The Hotel is gorgeous from the outside and incredible in the inside, rooms are big enough for you to feel comfortable. My only observation is that the concierge people were not as friendly and helpful as the ones I found at Vancouver and Victoria. I asked them about certain restaurants and they told me those were still closed and it was not true. Besides that, they did not gave any suggestion for optional dinning. Besides that the rest of the staff was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The 1-bedroom suite we stayed in was just fantastic. It had the luxury of having two full bathrooms, a walk in closest and dressing area. The french balconies helped enjoying the spectacular view of Blackcomb mountain. We were there for a few days and it felt like home!! I would go back there anytime in a heartbeat. The only thing that would make the room out of the world would be a fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I bought the holiday to Whistler as a wedding present for my husband, who loves to ski. I had never taken to the slopes before (!) so I wanted a great hotel with lovely facilities in case I ended up spending a lot more time there.
Need I tell you how fantastic the skiing is in Whistler..? So that aside, the hotel is PERFECT for a romantic break Thanks to an amazing location, fabulous views and sumptuous facilities. Lovely room, lovely outdoor jacuzzis and wonderful restaurants. Not to mention the free shuttles into the town. We had the time of our lives (though don't expect not to have to pay for it!)

Room Tip: Ask for a good view (back facing room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Renovations to the 5th and 6th floors meant a lot of hammering noise in our 7th floor room, so we needed to move rooms. Renovation closure of part of health club was not disclosed on booking, and outdoor pool and hot tub still open were unusable due to the jack hammering all day. Comments emailed to hotel provided client service email address are unanswered.
Fireside bar, Grill dining room, service all great.
Overall did not meet my expectation. And not on par with our recent stays at the chateau Laurier and Frontenac.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 7th floor - renovations can be heard from 5 and 6 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were disappointed to read about your recent experience with us and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you. The Front Office Management team can be reached at cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com. Please accept our apology for a less than outstanding stay.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Location is good for us as it is quiet and not in the main blackcomb village. Slept with the window open and it was perfectly quiet.

Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Couldn't ask for more.

Lunch in the lobby lounge area was good. Menu had a good variety. I had the Dim Sum Ocean and it was excellent.
Breakfast in Wildflower was a buffet and also very good.

The hotel had renovations ongoing in the health club which was unfortunate although the well equipped gym and outdoor hot tubs were still available.

Our room was very comfortable with two large easy chairs a king size bed and large flat screen TV. There was some wear showing in a few things ie: closet doors, furniture surfaces but nothing that deterred ys from our enjoyment. Spacious bathroom wirh a separate shower from the bathtub was really nice.

We woke up to the first snow of the season and it was so beautiful! The fall colours were abounding and yet this unexpected dusting of snow was delightful. I visited here in the spring, summer and winter before but the fall is truly stunning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my husband stay at Fairmont Chateau Whistler every time we go to Whistler. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The service is wonderful. One time we had car problems and they arranged rides for my husband and helped him out without us asking. I find the food in the restaurants to be delicous. I love swimming in the pools and the hot tub. I'm looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.