We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
victoria bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at the Fairmont in February for a weekend. The service has seriously deteriorated compared to 2 years ago.

The frontdesk staff even managed to mixed up the check-in. The room was booked by the conference organizer. While I was at the meeting, my wife checked in and they assigned the wrong room of another guest with a similar last name. I checked into another room in the late afternoon.

Needless to say, a stranger entered into the my wife's room in the evening. We went down to the frontdesk to sort out the problem and the staffs did not apologize at all. It took a loud complaint to the manager before an apology was given...not sincere at all.

How could a "5-star" hotel mix up the check-in process?

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the services
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    439
    171
    57
    28
See reviews for
535
670
54
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I flew out to BC to do some weekend skiing in Whistler around Christmas time and decided to stay at Fairmont Whistler. I made some last minute changes to my accommodations and called in to switch rooms over the phone but I think they never recorded it. When the hotel staff realized what happened, they switched my room within 10 minutes to what I wanted and offered to assist me in moving all the luggage and ski equipment.

Being a Fairmont Presidents Club Member, I made use of all the amenities they had on site. I had a good workout at the gym and made use of the pool and sauna. Be sure to relax in the hot tub outside after a long day of skiing or hiking.

My friend and I also booked afternoon tea. We took the latest reservation and basically the two of us occupied the entire restaurant close to the cozy fireplace. Very enjoyable experience. The quality of the high tea package was satisfactory compared to the other Fairmont high tea experiences, perhaps a bit diminished because we had such a late sitting (4:45pm).

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We got a great rate on expedia - a 24h sale in which we got a rate of ~$250/nt. We've stayed at all of the nice places (pan pac, westin, etc) in whistler - this was our first at the Fairmont. The Fairmont was great!!

We got an upgrade to the Fairmont gold level which gets you a room on a certain floor and access to a select concierge service which includes a very attentive and professional staff and a lounge where we got a great free breakfast and afternoon snacks. Not sure why we got the upgrade but I was happy to get it....

The pool was great and there were three outdoor hot tubs (and one indoor) - plenty of space for everyone. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good (although you should try Araxi in the village if you get a chance - its our favorite restaurant in whister).

The ski concierge and access to Blackcomb was awesome - very convenient. Getting to Whistler mtn was less than ideal but only about a 10 min walk (or you take one lift up blackcomb and ski over to whistler base).

Overall, the staff at the Fairmont is easily the best in whistler....hands down. They are professional and know what they are doing. Can't say enough about the service - it was great.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

The Fairmont properties exemplify service in my eyes. For those who appreciate a conservative, traditional decor in their hotels, the Fairmont is a serious contender. Although I prefer more contemporary design, I usually enjoy a stay at a Fairmont property because of its spectacular service and attention to detail. The Fairmont President's Club is probably one of the best hotel programs in my opinion (and in particular if you're a Platinum member). Having said all of that, I was somewhat disappointed by the Chateau Whistler. I planned a trip to Whistler with friends and pushed heavily for the Fairmont. The Front Desk and Concierge were not of the level that I would expect for a hotel of this caliber nor the Fairmont name. The FPC desk treated a colleague of mine in an unseemly manner (relative to the typical impeccable FPC service), I noticed that the night-desk could use more training, and the concierges at times were frustrating (answering questions before the questions were completed as if they were automatons). The ski-in/out is very convenient (although it could have been nicer to be more central to Whistler mountain instead of Blackcomb ... unless you prefer Blackcomb, of course). The outdoor jacuzzis are very nice (although unruly children were a serious distraction). The service in the ski valet is very good, which was a big redeemer.

  • Liked — Ski-in/out
  • Disliked — Front desk service and many unchaperoned children in the pool area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

We stayed 4 nights in Jan/08 at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Check-in was excellent and we were given a slope side view room as requested. Parking, you can chose valet for $30/day or self park for $24/day...self park was not a problem...parking garage is very bright and secure. The hotel itself is very nice and grand. The pool/work-out area is very nice, with a good size work-out area and the pool is indoor/outdoor with a 2nd pool as a lap pool and 1 indoor hot-tub and 3 outdoor hot-tubs. The rooms at the Chateau are only average....for the hotel rating and the price, the rooms have little to offer, with too much furniture and are a little dated....washrooms are small and the shower is only ok. The slope side view is beautiful, looking out to Whistler/Blackcomb mountains. We requested a microwave which was delivered promptly. The bed was comfortable, however seemed small for a queen bed. The hotel staff are all very nice and accommodating...excellent concierge. The room service and food overall at the Chateau is very expensive...which is pretty much in-line with Whistler overall. Skiing access to Blackcomb mountain is immediately at the Chateau, which is very convenient for ski in/out. The Chateau Whistler is not right in the village; however is a short walk or the shuttle runs often. Overall our stay was pleasant.

I would recommend the Fairmont Chateau Whistler when staying in Whistler, however there are other options for similar or better prices.

  • Liked — Location to chair lift
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

My family and I just returned to Australia from our third ski trip to Whistler! This year we stayed at The Fairmont Chateau and were very impressed with the hotels amenities and location to the Blackcomb lifts.The Alpine High Tea was a real treat and is not to be missed.
On a recommendation from friends we rented our skis through Black Tie Ski Rentals (we booked ahead of time on line). Once we had checked in they came up to our room and outfitted us with all our sking needs. I was very impressed with the quality of their equipment and the professional attentive staff who answered all of our questions and even showed us the best places to ski on the mountain. When we had finished with our equipment we called them and they came and picked it all up.... talk about conveniece!

Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

After lots of discussion about which Whistler hotel to stay in for our honeymoon, we chose the Chateau after recommendation from our friends. For us it was the perfect honeymoon. The Chateau is at the base of the Blackcomb Mountain and is a quieter location than Whistler Village. In addition to this it's a pleasant 10 minute walk from the centre of the village, or a short, convenient bus ride run by the hotel.

It's got a truly great ski in/out location although it was busy there at times as we stayed over the Christmas period. We could always hand our snowboards to the ski concierge at the bottom of Blackcomb mountain.

Before staying at the hotel we phoned to get some advice from the excellent concierge service. We would highly recommend this as Whistler at Christmas time is exceptionally busy and we had all our restaurant bookings in place before we arrived just in case. Throough the hotel we were able to arrange all the activities we wanted to do and they had a copy of our itnerary available at all times. They were always exceptionally friendly.

We would definitely love to stay at the Fairmont again in the future.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.