We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay at an beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay at an beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This property is fabulous. Beautiful, and with easy access to all the Whistler has to offer. The people were friendly and the accommodations were 5 star great. The rooms were immaculate and well appointed and beautiful. The rooms were very restful after an active day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    897
    352
    142
    52
    23
See reviews for
408
525
47
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I love this resort. I like the heritage building Fairmonts as a whole, but this one is one of my favorites. I love the lodge-like lobby, and the LOCATION is just amazing. Right at the foot of the Blackcomb lift.

We were so tired after a day of skiing, we ordered room service. The prices are high, yes, but it was GOOD and there was lots of it. Portions were generous, timing was pretty fast, and was overall a good experience.

The rooms are nice. We opted for a room facing away from the mountain, as it wasn't a priority to have a view. Quite spacious, the bathroom is clean, everything is updated and chic.

As always, the service in the lobby (front desk, bellman, concierge) is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on business. The room I was in was very spacious with two queen sized beds and a desk and arm chair, far more space than one person needs. The service was great, I had to call down to the front desk for foam pillows and they were delivered to my room within about 10 minutes. If you're allergic to feathers, I would suggest letting them know ahead of time. All the pillows and duvet had feathers, although there was a blanket in the closet and I'm fine as long as my pillows aren't feathers. The bathroom was also large with nice amenities and the bathrobes were also very comfortable.

I could write an entire review on the beds alone. I have a tempurpedic mattress at home and always miss it when I travel. Not this time, the beds are very comfortable and I had a great night's sleep each night.

I was staying with a large number of people so we were segregated on the Woodlands Terrace for breakfast and lunch. The terrace is lovely but it can get quite hot under the tent, if you're planning a wedding at the height of summer, keep that in mind.

The location is fantastic. It is a short walk (about 10-15 minutes) away from the lower village where all the shops, restaurants and bars are so you're very close but far enough away for some peace and quiet too.

Unfortunately there wasn't any time to try out the pool or other amenities but I was told they are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read that you did not miss your bed at home while you were staying with us. If you haven't already, please visit the Fairmont Hotels & Resorts website to join our loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club. This will ensure that your foam request is met prior to your arrival each time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent most of the time poolside. Drinks are pricey but can't beat the view. It was a hot day and it was difficult to get a chair. Room was average for a Fairmont. Nice big flat screen though. A/C worked well and the attached deli was great for quick snacks and breakfast sanwdich. Will return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in Fairmont Pacific Rim in Vancouver so decided to try their sister hotel in Whistler. It wasn't as nice as Vancouver but was a good deal for the money. Stayed on the club floor, room 881, which allowed us access to a full breakfast, cookies for afternoon snacks and finger desserts for evening snacks. Food was good. Room was comfortable but could hear hall noise. The concierge on the club floor went above and beyond for us. I would stay again just to have that service! Hotel is on the Blackcomb Mountain side so area around hotel is quiet. You just have to walk about 10 minutes and you're in Whistler which is where the shops are.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

After staying in the traditional Fairmont hotels we wondered what the modern version of the chateaus would be like. We were not disappointed it is a wonderful place, our room was excellent clean and very comfortable, the staff were efficient and always keen to help, the food and service in the Wildflower was great. The hotel is well positioned at the base of Blackcomb mountain and a nice 10 minute walk to the village with shops and cafes close by. Would be the place to be in ski season. The whole place is just plain impressive. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauWhistler, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Sincerely,

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Mb Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

rooms are a good size. pool has a great view of the mountain, and all thast goes on in the summer.... mountain biking, and all the kids activities they have available too.... parking was a little pricey at $30 a day... but then again nothing is terribly cheap in Whistler.

Room Tip: definatly upgrade to the mountainview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Family Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.