We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Disappointment!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #24 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Surprise Disappointment!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked one night here, as we wanted to stay an extra night, as it was the only place left during the long weekend that fit our budget. We were really pleased with the size of the deluxe studio room, and everything was clean, and had some nice touches - this was after staying at the Sundial for a few days.

Even though the layout of the hotel and how to get to the lobby is very confusing, we will not be back simply because the walls are literally paper thin here. Every time the door opened and closed from another person's room across the hall, we could clearly hear the bang and that was very annoying. It didn't help that there was some kind of hang out party going on in the room across from us as well, as we could hear right through their room to ours - there was at least 10 people in the room, and this carried on until close to midnight. I don't know if the hotel has some kind of policy to limit to the amount of people allowed in a room considering how there doesn't seem to be any insulation to shield the noise.

We would have called to complained if they hadn't left to go to a bar eventually - yup, we could hear what the plan was, and the name of the bar. We also felt there might be a lack of privacy on our part as well - if we can hear people from our room, can we be heard in the hall way as well?

Well, it is just too bad that we will not return here as we initially thought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am disappointed to hear about your experience at our property. We do have security on everyday to deal with any noise issues that guests bring to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    53
    26
    6
See reviews for
66
95
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is just ok in my view. On the positive side, it is a decent price in Whistler which still means you pay a lot for what you get, and it is centrally located with underground parking. On the negative, it was hot and there was no central air, just a portable A/C unit for the living room and a fan for the bedroom. We were given a "suite" with one bedroom, sofa bed in the living room and a kitchenette, but the size of the room wasn't much bigger than a larger studio room that would have two queens and maybe a desk - so it felt kind of "tight" being all chopped up with walls. I'm not sure but for some reason I think all the rooms are suites and I just personally prefer to openness of a studio style room, and essentially never need a kitchenette. The bedroom was small, hot and had no windows and the pull out couch didn't look very comfortable, but with two almost teens who think a pull out couch is totally cool we made due. I've stayed in other places in Whistler before and think that even though I'd be looking at maybe another $100 a night in some cases it will likely be worth it to stay elsewhere next time. If I were on a tight budget I probably wouldn't be going to Whistler where nothing is cheap, but this hotel is a good lower cost choice for sure. Oh yeah, no pool, just a hot tub - was a problem with kids that like to hit the hotel pool and a dad that likes it when the kids are in the hotel pool for a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It sounds as though you were in our studio den unit which is a smaller foot print than our 1 bedroom suites which are larger. We have many different unit types to choose from. When booking please contact our front desk directly so that we can ensure you get the room best suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center for two nights with my family of 6. We booked a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchenette. Location of the hotel and the friendly staff are the only two good things we like about this hotel.

After we parked in their underground parking, we had a very hard time finding our way up the lobby to check-in. Our guest entrance for D-wing building is also hiding in a very hidden and dark corner beside Footlocker.

We booked a room for 6, but many items in the room are only provided for 2 people. We had to phone and ask for towels, tea bags, etc. Coffee Machine was also missing. Pots and utensils in the kitchenette were not clean. We had to wash all before we can use them.

Many things are broken in the room and poorly maintained. The shower and sink faucets were both leaking. The door in the bathroom can not be locked. Dishwasher was pooling water every time we use it. No ventilation in the bathroom and the inside bedroom without a window. It became too hot to sleep in the middle of the night.

Even though the hotel location was awesome, but we also suffered from the drunken people screaming in the courtyard below us till 4 in the morning.

We definitely will not come back to this hotel next time we visit Whistler!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am extremely disappointed to hear that you encountered so many issues with your guest room. We do a housekeeping inspection and a general maintenance inspection prior to arrival, but unfortunately it is impossible to test every appliance prior to arrival. We rely on our guests to notify us if there are working deficiencies with appliances such as toasters, dishwashers, washers, dryers, etc. As for linen in the 2 bedroom suites, we put 6 bath towels in each room and do only put 2 tea bags, but are more than happy to provide more on request.

With regard to noise in the Village, we have security on in the evening that are there to deal with any noise complaints should the need arise. If you wish to discuss your experiences further please contact me at amcgee@whistlerhi.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Considering this was the cheapest hotel I Whistler, it was fantastic. We had a twin room with a kitchenette, Hugh bathroom and whirlpool bath. Location could not have been better and the staff were always friendly and on hand to help.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the main village square and could be a bit noisy sometimes, but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am glad that you found good value for our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here in August for a two-night mid-week stay during our summer break. My wife and I shared a room on the 6th floor along with family who stayed in adjacent rooms.

Even though check-in is separate from where the rooms are it was easy to find upon arrival and we were met by friendly staff. Following check-in, we moved the car to the parking lot and took an elevator straight up to our room. After the first night we extended our stay for another night and were able to stay in the same rooms. The room we stayed in was clean and had a kitchenette, which was a nice surprise as my wife is a vegetarian and it's nice sometimes just to cook something you know you will like.

As it was the middle of a hot summer we were very thankful for the portable air conditioning unit that sat in the corner of the room. Unfortunately though, the unit did take up all of the space in front of the only window and was exceptionally loud, which made it a bit hard to get to sleep when it was cooling the room. As such, we turned the AC off before hitting the sack, but woke up a few times during the night due to being overly hot. This made it a bit difficult to sleep on the two nights we were staying here.

However, with all that aside, we very much enjoyed our stay and would come back again without hesitation. We will likely come back in the winter and we'll definitely be making use of the kitchenette to cook some vegetarian dishes after a hard day on the mountain. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a reivew of our property. We look forward to your return visit come winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Holiday Inn clearly has seen better days, and it's now a little tired. The front entrance is actually above the ski village which can be accessed through a flight of dark stairs and an elevator which leads to some sort of back entrance.

We went there in shoulder season (October) so it was quite deserted and several shops were closed. There is no free parking at the hotel, we refused to pay and parked a few minutes away in one of those huge skiing parking lots.

The reception staff was on the rather unfriendly side. There is no breakfast at the hotel (!), presumably as most guests cook themselves in the apartments which are fully equipped. Still, we didn't have to walk far to find a breakfast place.

The room/apartment itself was OK, good in size but very dark. We had windows out to the village area but for some reason it felt quite claustrophobic.

If I were to go again to Whistler, I would choose another property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your stay in October with us. We are currently in the process of a property review and will be looking at renovations in the near future. We are however, constantly maintaining our units and common property throughout the year. I am disappointed to hear that you found our staff unfriendly, becuase they go out of their way to try to make everyone feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night here (thank gawd) I couldn't of handled another night. We arrived early evening after a long day of traveling. Exhausted we just wanted a good night sleep so we could get up early and explore all that Whistler has to offer. The room was out dated, the professional photos are not of this hotel or rooms (if they were, they were taken many, many years ago) The air conditioner was extremely loud and if you opened the screen-less window you were going to listen to the other rooms extremely loud air conditioners too. No big deal we can handle a warm room for a night.
The bed in the room was lumpy and warn out. If you moved at night both you and your partner knew it from shaking and wobbling. My husband said sleeping on an old sofa is more comfortable. If the carpets weren't so old and dirty I would of moved to the floor to get some sleep. It also would of been nice to have a fresh clean sheet put on the bed, when I pulled back the bedding you could tell the bottom sheet was slept on due to the wrinkles and creases. There is no way the rest of the bedding can be made and tucked in that tight and the bottom sheet be that loose and wrinkled if it was not already slept on. The top comforter had stains on it, not a huge deal ( that's the first thing you take off the bed in hotels anyway).

Be perpaired to pay 15.00 for hotel parking per day even if its for less than a day.

I gave this a poor review instead of terrible because I had a roof over my head while it rained all night and the location was excellent walking distance to anything you needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our property during your recent stay. I can assure you that all linen is changed when a guest checks out.

The $15/day parking charge is the lowest in Whistler for gated underground parking.

While our units are not a new construction we regularly upgrade and maintain our units. The professional photos you refer to are of our property from 2011. We have many different room types such as studios, deluxe studios, studio dens, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and lofted units which are featured in the photos.

If you wish to further discuss your stay with me please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center

Address: 4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistler, Canada Hotel's Amenities Meet Your Needs For a luxurious stay at a world-class resort, visit the condo-style Holiday Inn, Whistler Village Centre. Our hotel's location in the pedestrian village offers easy access to the gondolas of Whistler & Blackcomb Mountain, local attractions and businesses. From visiting unique shops and fine restaurants to exploring the mountains, you'll find numerous attractions near us. Whistler, the #1 ski resort in North America, offers our hotel's guests skiing, snowboarding & snowmobiling opportunities in winter, and hiking, biking & whitewater rafting in summer. While visiting this Cultural Capital of Canada, you can also visit the many theatres and art galleries in Whistler Village. Our hotel's location is ideal for business guests visiting the Whistler Convention Centre. Our hotel's spacious, well-appointed studio's have phones with voicemail and free high-speed Internet access. With amenities like a Fitness Centre, you'll find the convenience you deserve at our Whistler resort. All studios have a fireplace, kitchenette, triple-sheeted beds and free wired high-speed internet access, and many studios feature a sleeper sofa, a full kitchen, clothes washer and dryer and jetted soaker tub. For a great stay in Whistler, lodging at Holiday Inn, Whistler Village Center is the best decision you can make. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Whistler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.