We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and a pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #24 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Clean, friendly and a pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here in August for a two-night mid-week stay during our summer break. My wife and I shared a room on the 6th floor along with family who stayed in adjacent rooms.

Even though check-in is separate from where the rooms are it was easy to find upon arrival and we were met by friendly staff. Following check-in, we moved the car to the parking lot and took an elevator straight up to our room. After the first night we extended our stay for another night and were able to stay in the same rooms. The room we stayed in was clean and had a kitchenette, which was a nice surprise as my wife is a vegetarian and it's nice sometimes just to cook something you know you will like.

As it was the middle of a hot summer we were very thankful for the portable air conditioning unit that sat in the corner of the room. Unfortunately though, the unit did take up all of the space in front of the only window and was exceptionally loud, which made it a bit hard to get to sleep when it was cooling the room. As such, we turned the AC off before hitting the sack, but woke up a few times during the night due to being overly hot. This made it a bit difficult to sleep on the two nights we were staying here.

However, with all that aside, we very much enjoyed our stay and would come back again without hesitation. We will likely come back in the winter and we'll definitely be making use of the kitchenette to cook some vegetarian dishes after a hard day on the mountain. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a reivew of our property. We look forward to your return visit come winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    114
    54
    26
    7
See reviews for
70
98
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Holiday Inn clearly has seen better days, and it's now a little tired. The front entrance is actually above the ski village which can be accessed through a flight of dark stairs and an elevator which leads to some sort of back entrance.

We went there in shoulder season (October) so it was quite deserted and several shops were closed. There is no free parking at the hotel, we refused to pay and parked a few minutes away in one of those huge skiing parking lots.

The reception staff was on the rather unfriendly side. There is no breakfast at the hotel (!), presumably as most guests cook themselves in the apartments which are fully equipped. Still, we didn't have to walk far to find a breakfast place.

The room/apartment itself was OK, good in size but very dark. We had windows out to the village area but for some reason it felt quite claustrophobic.

If I were to go again to Whistler, I would choose another property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your stay in October with us. We are currently in the process of a property review and will be looking at renovations in the near future. We are however, constantly maintaining our units and common property throughout the year. I am disappointed to hear that you found our staff unfriendly, becuase they go out of their way to try to make everyone feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night here (thank gawd) I couldn't of handled another night. We arrived early evening after a long day of traveling. Exhausted we just wanted a good night sleep so we could get up early and explore all that Whistler has to offer. The room was out dated, the professional photos are not of this hotel or rooms (if they were, they were taken many, many years ago) The air conditioner was extremely loud and if you opened the screen-less window you were going to listen to the other rooms extremely loud air conditioners too. No big deal we can handle a warm room for a night.
The bed in the room was lumpy and warn out. If you moved at night both you and your partner knew it from shaking and wobbling. My husband said sleeping on an old sofa is more comfortable. If the carpets weren't so old and dirty I would of moved to the floor to get some sleep. It also would of been nice to have a fresh clean sheet put on the bed, when I pulled back the bedding you could tell the bottom sheet was slept on due to the wrinkles and creases. There is no way the rest of the bedding can be made and tucked in that tight and the bottom sheet be that loose and wrinkled if it was not already slept on. The top comforter had stains on it, not a huge deal ( that's the first thing you take off the bed in hotels anyway).

Be perpaired to pay 15.00 for hotel parking per day even if its for less than a day.

I gave this a poor review instead of terrible because I had a roof over my head while it rained all night and the location was excellent walking distance to anything you needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our property during your recent stay. I can assure you that all linen is changed when a guest checks out.

The $15/day parking charge is the lowest in Whistler for gated underground parking.

While our units are not a new construction we regularly upgrade and maintain our units. The professional photos you refer to are of our property from 2011. We have many different room types such as studios, deluxe studios, studio dens, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and lofted units which are featured in the photos.

If you wish to further discuss your stay with me please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in Whistler at the Holiday Inn. Found the best price through the Holiday Inn website. Room was paid for on arrival not at the time of booking online.

Check in was easy, note the check in time is 4pm. We arrived at 1pm and was told our room was not ready. This was ok as we just wanted to drop our bags and head to the lifts.

Room was nice, full kitchen however it had a very small window. The room was on the 6th floor and access to the window was not easy as there was a portable air conditioner connected to the window.

Nice stay, would consider staying here again on our next visit to Whistler

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay with us in Whistler. We appreciate all of the feedback to help us improve our guest experience. We look forward to your future visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

For a summer weekend stay, we got a tidy kitchenette right in the Village. This “studio” was large and had features that would make a longer stay comfortable: a good-sized kitchen with all the equipment, a large dining table with four solid chairs, an oversized closet suitable for skis and gear, a wide entry hallway with tile flooring, a queen bed plus a Murphy bed along the wall, extra pillows and blankets, and a large bathroom with all the extra conveniences.

The hotel is embedded in the main cluster of meandering buildings in the main Whistler Village. From here, you can walk to pretty well everything. Indeed, the the rear exit deposits you on the Stroll, the pedestrian mall through the centre of Whistler Village. The parking garage ($15 extra per night) is deep underneath. This proximity to the Stroll was a drawback come late Saturday night, when the nightclub revelers emerged. The hooting and hollering lasted until about 4 a.m. Not so bad if you are willing to keep the windows shut tight. Otherwise, the room and the surrounding halls were quiet.

Our checkin was fast and very friendly. The wifi was excellent. In general, we found this property to be a touched dated but well-kept and smartly run. Good value for the $157 we paid as a last-minute deal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the interior courtyard may be subject to more noise on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We value all that our guests have to comment about our property. As for the village stroll noise in the late hours, we do have units that do not face the village stroll that are quiter that you can request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is not really a hotel in the usual sense of the word, ie. the reception area is located away from the rooms and there are no catering facilities at all, but it's ok as a base. There are plenty of restaurants, fast food outlets and a couple of supermarkets within a short walking distance, so no-one will go hungry. The kitchenette has a microwave and fridge and enough cutlery/china.

The bed and pillows were comfortable. The room was clean. There is a lift/elevator access from the underground car park to the rooms.

Our room had a lockable interconnecting door with the room next door. The occupying chap had an extremely loud voice and insisted on having his telephone on speaker for all his conversations, so not exactly peaceful late at night or early morning. The other side of us, well, let's just say they enjoyed a bit of exercise before leaving their room. A bit more soundproofing between rooms would be beneficial.

Overall, this place is adequate and in a good location for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Halkidiki44,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn in Whistler.

Our room was comfortable, bed was nice (appreciated the choice of pillows), kitchenette was spotless and reasonably well equipped, and room and bathroom were comparatively spacious for a mid-range hotel. And we couldn't fault the location. Five minute walk to Peak2Peak gondola and ZipTrek meeting point, and there was a hotel entry in a quiet courtyard right off the main village walk. We didn't move our car from when we arrived until when we departed.

Reception desk clerk was friendly and helpful as well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center

Address: 4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whistler, Canada Hotel's Amenities Meet Your Needs For a luxurious stay at a world-class resort, visit the condo-style Holiday Inn, Whistler Village Centre. Our hotel's location in the pedestrian village offers easy access to the gondolas of Whistler & Blackcomb Mountain, local attractions and businesses. From visiting unique shops and fine restaurants to exploring the mountains, you'll find numerous attractions near us. Whistler, the #1 ski resort in North America, offers our hotel's guests skiing, snowboarding & snowmobiling opportunities in winter, and hiking, biking & whitewater rafting in summer. While visiting this Cultural Capital of Canada, you can also visit the many theatres and art galleries in Whistler Village. Our hotel's location is ideal for business guests visiting the Whistler Convention Centre. Our hotel's spacious, well-appointed studio's have phones with voicemail and free high-speed Internet access. With amenities like a Fitness Centre, you'll find the convenience you deserve at our Whistler resort. All studios have a fireplace, kitchenette, triple-sheeted beds and free wired high-speed internet access, and many studios feature a sleeper sofa, a full kitchen, clothes washer and dryer and jetted soaker tub. For a great stay in Whistler, lodging at Holiday Inn, Whistler Village Center is the best decision you can make. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Whistler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.