We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whistler Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whistler Peak Lodge to your Saves list
Whistler Peak Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Cheshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Disappointed that we didn't get an upgrade as member of IHG loyalty scheme. First time we haven't in a long time. Also charged for car park which as IHG members we aren't usually. Front desk weren't particularly helpful (Paul) and just pointed in general direction of lifts etc. He did phone to check everything was OK with the rooms which it was but only OK. Our room smelled a little musty but for an old fashioned hotel with a portable dehumidifier in place what can you expect. Hotel photos are deceptive and the rooms were very cramped. Had we chosen to use the fire we would have scorched the bed linen it was that close. This hotel is very handy for everything we needed but isn't quite ski in from Blackcomb but is all but! We are Earls fans and that was a few short strides away as was Starbucks. Paul recommended the Tennis Club for breakfast which was located out of the immediate locale so we made our own decision and walked to the Dub l
Linne Irish pub located adjacent to the Blackcomb Gondola and had the most fantastic breakfast. Hotel was quiet as we visited in Shoulder Season but I think it would be noisy I. High season given the location. Probably be worth it though!!!

Room Tip: Be realistic about your expectations and book the most expensive room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our property. The IHG loyalty program called Priority Club (PC), offers free upgrades for Platinum members on paid stays. If you stay using your points there are no upgrades on these free stays.

Parking is not included as part of the PC program and is different for every hotel. Some hotels charge for parking and other may not that is up to each individual property. In our case, we do not own the parking facilitiy that our guests use and therefore have to charge.

The portable air conditioning units were added a few years ago, because the hotel was not built with central air conditioning (being that it is a ski resort). We were finding with our increased business in the summer months we were getting complaints that the rooms were hot so they were added to help alliviate this guest concern.

We have a wide range of units available in our hotel to suit everyones needs. We have everthing from a standard studio with one queen bed and kitchenette all the way up to a 2 bedroom suite with livingroom, dining table, full kitchen, washer, dryer and diswashers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    144
    75
    33
    9
See reviews for
91
136
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in September 2012. The hotel was centrally located in Whistler Village and convenient to all of the shopping, restaurants and lifts. The customer service was outstanding and everyone was very nice and friendly. They all went out of their way to help us with recommendations for restaurants and things to do!! The room was nice and it had a fully equipped kitchen, Flat Screen TV, Free Wired Internet, jetted bathtub and a nice balcony. We had such a nice time that we are trying to plan our next trip!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review for our property and our team. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn as much as possible when I travel for work. I have to hand it to Chris and Paul at the Front Desk of the Holiday Inn in Whistler BC as they were the most helpful individuals I have met in a long time. This is the reason I stay at Holiday Inn for both work and for pleasure! I truly appreciate your assistance and I look forward to my next trip to Whistler! Many thanks…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about two of our front desk team. Our team take a great deal of pride in making sure all of our guests have a pleasant experience in Whistler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My room (206) was large with a nicely equipped kitchen. All the amenities were updated, the bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself is clean and all staff very professional.

Others have commented on the noise and I agree as I was awoken at 12:30AM by some partiers walking by the hotel.

The hot tub is a bit awkward as the door into the 2nd floor D wing (the shortest route) is through the gym and spa area.

The hotel location puts you in easy walking distance of the entire Whistler village. The Holiday Inn is well priced and parking at $15 a night is a deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the main walking street past the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review of our property. Being a Village property located on the Main Village stroll it can get noisy on the weekends, but you can request rooms as you have suggested that are on the other side of the building where you are not exposed to the pedestrian traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped here one night using my priority club points and I have mixed feeling about this hotel. positives were all the features of this room including tumble dryer, fridge, table and chairs, internet access (wired), the location was the centre of Whistler village so close to all the facilities and the front desk staff were very helpful. The washer and dryer were great for us to catch up and do laundry while we were there saving a trip to the laundrette at the next stop.

Negatives were the noise and lack of bedside tables (I like somewhere to put my glass of water and book). The noise was due to having a room at the front of the building overlooking the main street and people being out and about until 3am. The windows were also not very well insulated. If we had been there more than one night I would have asked to change rooms.

So the question is would I revisit it, yes but I would look at other options very closely first in a quieter location, therefore I have only given it an average rating. My mixed feelings are that given the facilities it isn't a bad stop over.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Being a Village property located on the Main Village stroll it can get noisy on the weekends, but you can request rooms as you have suggested that are on the other side of the building where you are not exposed to the pedestrian traffic. We are currently in the process of installing WIFI in all guestrooms, but currently only have access in the lobby. Depending on your room location you may have been able to pick up the lobby wifi signal, but we only currently advertise wired in the guest rooms. We hope to have it installed in all guest rooms by the end of this month or middle of next month. Thank you again for taking time to provide your feedback to our ownership and associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose this hotel as it had the best non-prepaid rate in Whistler Village for the labor day long weekend for a 3 star property.  Parking was a good deal too at only $15 per day (vs. other Whistler hotels that can charge up to over twice that).  Also free WiFi, but having said that, it was flaky and not reliable.  Having read previous reviews about this hotel mentioning they had just converted from hard wired internet to WiFi and there were some black spots around the building, I called ahead to inquire. They did admit to this being an issue at present but is for the most part resolved.  My iPad was ok with the WiFi most of the time, but my partner's couldn't pick it up for almost the whole 2 days we were there.  The rooms are decent, nothing fancy, but nice to have a full kitchenette in your room for morning coffee, light breakfast etc as meals in Whistler get expensive if you eat at restaurants 3 times a day.  The only other issue was that it can get rather noisy at night when trying to sleep with an open window for fresh air.  As a fair part of the hotel faces one of the main village stroll paths, and especially since it was labor day weekend, there were a lot of young party animals about, literally sitting around a fountain just below our window yakking it up until 4 am.  Closing the window and turning on the AC fan helped, but would have preferred the open window.  Overall, we got what we paid for.  It's a decent property and if the price was right and other hotels were significantly more money we'd stay again, but would rather cough up a few more bucks and stay at the likes of either the Hilton, Westin or one of the upper village hotels for more peace & quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing opposite the village stroll to avoid noisy night time activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are currently in the process of upgrading our WIFI so that it extends to all guest roooms. Currently we only have access in our lobby area, but some rooms do get spotty reception from it as well. The guestroom WIFI upgrade should be complete as of the end of September 2012.

Being a Village property located on the Main Village stroll it can get noisy on the weekends, but you can request rooms as you have suggested that are on the other side of the building where you are not exposed to the pedestrian traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We really lucked out in getting a great room at time of check in and the last room was sold to us! The room was a vacationers delight. It had a kitchenette wid all amenities one would want. Rooms were very clean and the people at the reception were so friendly and helpful. They even printed out the route to jasper we needed to travel the following day. The bathroom had all the toiletries one would want. The location of the hotel was so easy to find and central to all the great eateries like pizza, stir fry speciality restaurant (can't remember the name) and was great for vegetarian food. We just loved our stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita M, General Manager at Whistler Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff go out of their way to assist our guests in any way they can and to make them feel at home. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#16 of 52 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.2 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#11 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#15 of 52 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Peak Lodge

Address: 4295 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Whistler Village Center)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Peak Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Whistler Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Whistler Village Hotel Whistler
Whistler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistler Peak Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.