We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult, but great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club

Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club
4612 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
604 938 2092
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain Golf at it's finest. Carved out of the slopes of the Coast Mountain range in British Columbia, this magnificent Whistler golf course allows nature to dictate the path without constraints of commercial influence. Traversing creeks, ponds, and granite rock, elevation changes of more than 400 feet overall create an impressive golf opportunity. Naturally spectacular BC resort golf.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Difficult, but great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Very difficult course, but execellent service from the shuttle to the course, to the assistant cleaning you clubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nightfall Horse sleigh ride tour with fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Beautiful night, sky filled with stars, sleigh ride over the golf course. Mike and Max where lovely as was the guide and cider.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Favourite Whistler Course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a great track something for everyone. The scenery is exceptional. The course was in fantastic shape.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice views, good golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Fun and visually appealing golf course. Don't know if i would pay full ticket for the experience (we got a good package deal) but it was a fun play!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“An absolutely first-rate experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I played the Chateau as part of a late season golf package along with Furry Creek, Whistler and Nicklaus North. I had one of the most enjoyable rounds I have ever had notwithstanding the weather.

You need to use the bag drop as there is no parking at the course. You can then drive a short distance to the Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort and are shuttled back. There was no delay and we were in and out very quickly.

The Chateau is a true golfer's course. There is a good mix of holes on the plane and sloped without the severe elevation changes that I disliked at Furry Creek. The hole follow the natural contours of the terrain and we found them to be quite picturesque even without the magnificent mountain views we had heard about. The course was well marked for distance (GPS and sprinkler heads).

The fact that I enjoyed the round as much as I did despite my poor speaks to the overall quality of the course. The flow of play was never a problem with marshals passing by regularly. They supplied us with fresh towels twice during the round because of the light but steady rain. They also helped retrieve a club we had left near one of the greens and were helpful with questions about hole play.

Lastly, I was amazed at the drainage on this course. It had been rainy on and off for a few days before our round yet only two greens had a small pooled area on them and the bunkers played as if dry.

At the end of the round we had a beer in the lounge which is limited in size and was set up for a group dinner. We decided to eat in the resort which was a great choice and the attendant who shuttled us over told us she would load the clubs separately. The clubs were hooded and loaded when we returned to the vehicle. The professionalism of the staff at this course was second to none.

This was the only Whistler course where we did not see a bear but there were ample signs to show that they were about.

I played at the end of September and tried to play again in early October but the rates had been lowered and I could not get a suitable time. This is a must play if you are in Whistler.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Pemberton, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.