We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great log cabins for a family holiday with all the comforts of home @ a great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Resort Whistler

Save Saved
You added Riverside Resort Whistler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Resort Whistler
8018 Mons Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great log cabins for a family holiday with all the comforts of home @ a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Rustic log cabins made such a nice change from a hotel room. Beautiful setting & helpful staff. Free shuttle to the main village if you don't have a car. Being able to cook after 2 weeks of staying in hotels was fantastic! This place is a hidden gem & would appeal to Aussie families like us who like to stay somewhere with a bit of character @ a good price. Highly recommended. If they advertised this in Australia & Nz they would get so many more people here!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Convenient location, and nice family campsite. The sites are small but treed and the views are lovely. In the past partiers in the back tent sites have been noisy, but it was very quiet last time (august). Staff is very helpful with maps, directions etc. Really nice paved biking trails for a nice ride into the village. All trailer sites have full hook-ups and wifi. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed one night at the new multi-use camping area, which is on a hillside above the rest of the campground. The sites were small and kind of barren; no grass, just gravel and dirt. We had a small camping trailer so we used their electrical and water hookups.

I'd say the sites were 60% tenters and 40% (small) RV'ers. Everyone was pretty quiet and got into camp late at night. This makes sense since I assume most people camp here as a RELATIVELY cheap way to visit Whistler.

The bathrooms were immaculate...the cleanest I've seen in any campsite. Cost was about $50/night, so it was also the most expensive campsite I've stayed at. They also had large dish washing sinks outside with hot water, which was a nice bonus.

Didn't use the wifi since I had 3G coverage so I can't comment on that.

People shouldn't complain about the strict food regulations to deter bears. We saw two bears when we arrived in Whistler. The first was eating berries right beside the busy bicycle path that parallels Highway 99, and cyclists stood 8 ft away from it, watching. The other bear was browsing the bushes beside the entrance to the RV park, again, with people nearby. Tight food controls protect people and bears. It's one of the things you have to put up with if you want to camp in bear territory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were impressed with the facilities at Riverside, its great location, friendly staff and super clean washrooms.

A great family campsite with everything you need. Nice campsite near the river, softly lit at night to get to the washroom. Food caches (bear prevention) provided on campsites which is very thoughtful and free shuttle into Whistler a real plus.

We will return many a time to Riverside we are sure and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Tent sites near the river are peaceful, if you like the sound of the water (fast running water so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We chose to have a real camping experience so we didn't stay for the night.... If you like to pay way too much for a poor tent site is the best place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was the worst rip - off I have ever experienced in my life. Hope the owners of this place will get happy with all the money and their greediness.
Wanted to stay overnight camping with my tent in Whistler. The tourist info suggested Riverside campground. At the reception, they told me, that a campground with your own tent is 40 bucks. Yes, you read correct - 40 bucks for a campsite. Well, i thought, as I am in Whistler, this might be the price and I will get the super luxury campsite. Well, I was wrong:
1) there is no car access to the campsite. You have to carry all your stuff to the place where you want to set up your tent
2) my campground was super dirty. There were beercans in the fireplace, plastic and other garbage. The table was covered with some brownish sauce.
3) You need to pay extra (!!!) for the shower. Needless to say, that the first shower I went in was dirty and the machine took mony from me without turning the water on. The second shwer was dirty too. Surprised?
4) WiFi? Forget it. The girl at the reception said, there is WiFi everywhere. Hahaha. perhaps in her dreams but not at the campground.
5) there is bears in the area. No problem, but if the ropes and nets where you can hang your stuff up are old and rotten...

Seriously, I do not care a lot about all the luxury, but for 40 dollars I somehow expect it. I was camping in Alaska and Yukon and I was at campsites which took 10 dollars for the night but there was free shower. And, power did not come out of a powerplug like at Riverside - at these sites it had to be painfully generated with a diesel generator.
The experience at Riverside showed me again, what greedy, liittle, monymaking place Whistler is.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We like to use our RV mostly in the winter for skiing. We decided to go up to Whistler and stay at Riverside RV. It was perfect for us. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The restrooms and showers were spotless. They offer full hook-ups for RV's. They have a shuttle to Whistler Village but you can catch the trail to the village just down the road and it is a nice walk. We also were able to walk to the start of the snowshoe trail from the campground and enjoyed a beautiful day in the sun snowshoeing to Lost Lake. We look forward to going back again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Resort Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Resort Whistler

Address: 8018 Mons Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on forty acres on the banks of Fitzsimmons Creek, Riverside Resort is surrounded by the natural beauty of the mountains yet is only minutes away from all the action and excitment that Whistler has to offer.Featuring fully equipped cozy Log Cabins, Full & Partial Service RV Sites, private Walk-In Tent Sites, serviced Multi-Use Camping Sites plus our unqiue and natural Yurts, Riverside Resort offers a variety of accomodations for all seasons and budgets, and the experience of staying close to nature.We look forward to welcoming you to Whistler, and your home away from home at Riverside Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Resort Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Rv Resort & Campground Hotel Whistler
Riverside Rv Resort And Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Resort Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.