We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking Views of Kalmalka Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Illahee Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakeside Illahee Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Illahee Inn
15010 Tamarack Drive, Vernon, British Columbia V1B2E1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Vernon B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breath-taking Views of Kalmalka Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Breath-taking views of the lake.
Great Stay.
Friendly staff.
Quiet, secluded little beach with access to kayaks.
The breakfasts were very nice and well presented. Make sure you are seated right at 9am or you may get scolded.
The only thing is it is hard to find decent restaurants in the area by the lake. We ordered the U-Cook BBQ thru the inn; its a nice idea to bbq yourself but the food was ok and it was over-priced.
Everything else was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelsond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Debbie, Pete and lovely daughter Paige, were very gracious hosts. The view is spectacular, rooms are immaculate and the service, food is outstanding. Our three day stay was a perfect anniversary getaway. Highly recommended! We thank our hosts sincerly.Thank you Rose & Scott

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is wonderful! When you first see it, the Inn and the view has you hooked! Then you meet Peter and or Debbie and they make you feel welcome right away! Then its off to view your beautiful room and then your hooked even more! Everything was nice and clean, plenty of towels and such comfortable, cozy bedding and bed! The deck was huge and so was the tub! There are plenty of things to do in the area even if some like walking and the others prefer to shop or night life. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and delicious! This was our second stay but first time with friends and they enjoyed it so much too that they already want to plan another trip which includes staying at the Illahee Inn again, of course!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have never written a review before, but our experience was so wonderful I felt compelled to share it. I have stayed in Inns all over the world and the Illahee Inn is the winner by far. The owners Peter and Debbie are delightful, their service is outstanding, and the food was amazing. Make sure you ask Debbie to make her Dutch Pancakes!! The hosts go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant... I mentioned to Debbie I wished there was a stool in my room where I could apply my makeup, and that evening when I returned, not only was there a stool but also a lit vanity mirror!
The view is breathtaking from every room, which are supper clean! This is the closet place you can get to heaven on earth!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

As a last minute surprise weekend away, we stayed at the Illahee Inn in Vernon. With an exceptional lakeshore location, the Inn boasts beauty matched only by it's quality of service. Even in the middle of winter, it was easy to get to, and easy to stay warm and cozy; either in the outdoor hot tub by the lake or in our room's jacuzzi tub beside the fireplace. Our friendly hosts served delicious home made breakfasts, different every day, and offered helpful tips on getting the most out of our shopping, dining, and hiking excursions. The spotlessly clean Illahee Inn provides the perfect place for a relaxing, private getaway!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Stayed with my sister for 1 night. We usually get 2 queens when traveling however the inn only has 1 bed per room. We took the room with 1 kingsize bed.

We quickly realized the room was odd. It had 2 cheap color-paper-over-turning-lamp fireplaces (one in each corner); a Vegas style glittering-light picture of Kalamalka Lake hung directly below the flatscreen TV hanging on the wall. The room is covered in mirrors (everywhere but the ceiling).

After checking in, the 75-year old owner told my sister and I that he'd see us later and to help ourselves to the hot tub. Euww!

Anyway, no matter how much bleach this guy uses in his sheets, the stench of long ago sexual escapades reek on the 25-year old mattress and pillows.

The experience was so bad, we didn't even stay for breakfast. The host took $50 off our bill when he realized how unimpressed we were.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorIllahee, Owner at Lakeside Illahee Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
On February 4th, as I was on my way out the door for an important meeting, two women showed up at the Inn looking for a room. This was at 12:30 (noon) with no advanced booking. I explained our accommodations and upon their request to see a room, I graciously, though it was now going to make me late for an important meeting, took the time to show them our 'Shooting Star' room. They seemed very happy about the room, saying that it was 'very nice' and that they wished to book.
The standard procedure when a guest books a room is that we always ask if they would like to use the hot-tub as there are some explanations on its use and controls. These ladies stated that they wouldn't be using it as they had not brought their bathing suits. On return to the main lobby to have these ladies register, I called my pre-arranged meeting group to advise them I would be late. The guests then departed for their room and I to my meeting, a 35min. drive away. How does this merit 'Creepy Owner'? It is hurtful, untruthful and slanderous.
They state the room is 'odd,' it may be that the above guests are. The corner fireplaces are electric, costing several thousands of dollars to buy and install. They impart a nice ambience to the room and if desired, additional warmth. All of our guests have remarked on how nice this room is and really like the fireplaces, along with the rooms high quality decor (viewable in our website). The picture is a professional panorama picture of the view from the Inn of beautiful Kalamalka Lake and is accented by dim down lights. The room is not covered in mirrors, but has a large set of mirrored closet doors which reflects the lake view through the window on the opposite wall (also viewed in our website).
The $50 dollar refund was given on the basis of their complaint, not on the acceptance of it.
We ae professionally rated by AAA and Tourism British Colombia and proudly boast a Canada Select 4.5 star out of 5 rating. Our rating has always been stated with having excellent housekeeping. We have never had a complaint about our bedding in 15 years and upon our own inspection, find this comment to be absolutely false. On the contrary, we have received numerous compliments on the quality of our beds and bedding. As Innkeepers, we do understand and accept reviewers comments and realize that when gounded upon truth can lead to operational improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We regretted we didn't have more time to spend at this wonderful B&B as we could easily have spent several more days enjoying our surroundings. It is evident that every detail of this gorgeous building has been well thought out. There is a wonderful open space available for reading and/or striking up conversations. On the other hand, if you are in the mood for exploring, there are walking paths and water activities to partake in on the lake (the B&B is right on the lake). If, however, you want to do some exploring, then Vernon's downtown area has some excellent restaurants and cafes to try out.

The hospitality at Lakeside Illahee Inn is also top notch. Our breakfast was exactly what we were looking for: homemade, tasty, and not oversized portions. The breakfast area offers wonderful views to study and appreciate one's beautiful surroundings and partake in some conversation with fellow travellers or the affable owner. An unbelievable find, one which we hope to return to very soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Illahee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Illahee Inn

Address: 15010 Tamarack Drive, Vernon, British Columbia V1B2E1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vernon
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vernon bed and breakfast Lakeside Illahee Inn is located just north of Kelowna B.C. and offers the best in Oakanagan Accommodations. Lakeside Illahee Inn Oakanagan Bed and Breakfast is truly a pinnacle of quality accommodations, hospitality and 4 seasons outdoor experiences inspired by the parkland and water that surrounds us. Sandy beaches, boating & kayaking, lush fruit orchards and fine waterfront dining are a few reasons to join us on your next Oakanagan holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lakeside Illahee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Illahee Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.