We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sparkling Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sparkling Hill Resort to your Saves list
Sparkling Hill Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Sparkling Place | Predator Ridge, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Vernon, B.C.
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Always outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have stayed and eaten at Sparkling Hills MANY times and it has never disappointed me. Whether its been for business or pleasure, the Austrians have done a fantastic job at Sparkling Hills. It truly is a world class spa and resort. There is everything to love about it and nothing to dislike. The only negative would be the lack of a good, fun bar to "let lose" but I guess they are trying to keep it serene and quiet.

Anyway, if you are ever in the Okanagan Valley, try to stay for 2 nights (minimum). This way you can really enjoy the spa, local hiking/golf and scenery. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for your great review and for your continuous support of Sparkling Hill! We are so glad to hear that we have never disappointed you. The Austrians have done a fantastic job with Sparkling Hill but it is all of the amazing and committed employees that truly make every guests stay memorable and unique!

You are absolutely right, it is best to stay for a minimum of 2 nights to really experience everything that we have to offer: all of the complimentary amenities in the KurSpa, the 100 different treatments, the 12 km of hiking trails, the PeakFine restaurant, the Barrique & Java and so much more!

Thank you again and we greatly look forward to your next return!

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    201
    76
    47
    38
See reviews for
86
551
27
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was at Sparkling Hill for the first time with a group of girlfriends in October, 2013 for three nights. We are a group who have regularly have a "spa weekend" over the years, and we come from various locations in Western Canada. This was our first trip to Sparkling Hill. The setting and scenery are beautiful. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows that open to the mountain air. The rooms and the common areas of the hotel were lovely. People need to keep in mind that the rooms are really designed more for couples than friends, as the bathroom essentially has no door, the shower is glassed in, and the bathtub is in the window. So, one of us would have to vacate the room for the other to enjoy these amenities. The only complaint I have about the room is the lack of a coffee maker. Although coffee is available in the hotel, one sometimes likes to make a pot first thing in the morning without having to leave your room. The dining room was also gorgeous and surrounded by beautiful views. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever been to, and the evening meal was excellent. The spa was also beautiful and all six of us enjoyed a variety of spa services, all of which were very nice and priced comparable to other spas we have been to. The general spa facilities are included in the cost of your room, including indoor and outdoor pools, steams, saunas, etc., all of which were beautiful. As a group we had only one real complaint about the facility and that was difficulty with their billing system. The front desk had a great deal of difficulty organizing our bills. There were six of us, two per room, in three rooms. In other spas we have been to, our bills have been individualized, with the room cost split in even amounts, and then individual spa services, drinks, meals, etc. billed to our individual accounts. Sparkling Hill somehow confused our bills, sending bills for one person's facial to two others' accounts, charging one person the full cost of a shared room, etc. Even when we took the time to explain the problems to the front desk so that it could be fixed by check out time, it was not fixed. This resulted in stress and hassle during what was supposed to be a weekend of relaxation and fun. Overall, I would recommend it and would go back again. A great get away! Take your husband and he can golf right next door at a beautiful golf course while you have a massage.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lake and it was a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Susie,

Thank you very much for coming to Sparkling Hill with your group of girlfriends! I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much and found the setting and scenery to be beautiful. It is wonderful that you were all able to enjoy all of the different amenities at Sparkling Hill and had some wonderful treatments as well, we do offer over 100 different ones! Our Restaurant is able to deliver you some coffee in the morning if you wish! And of course, you are able to enjoy the complimentary breakfast in your robe and slippers as well!

I am very sorry to hear about your check out experience. This is most certainly not the experience we want any of our guests to have. Your valuable feedback has been passed on to our Front Office Manager to ensure that it will be addressed and will not occur again.

Thank you so much again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your girlfriends (or husband) back soon!

Best Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Mum and I try to spend a night at the Resort every year around the holidays when I'm home visiting. I love this resort. From greeting to check-out, the entire time is a dream.

The rooms are spacious, clean and overlook some of the prettiest views in the country. We always clamber into the gorgeous white robes and spend the rest of the day at the Kur Spa. The steamrooms are incredible and my favorite is definitely the ice room (such a treat after being the in hot and steamy rooms!) The pools are fabulous and always crystal clear. Great to do laps in. The tea room is a great way to "unwind" after all of the unwinding. The staff are lovely and kind and Mum and I always find we have the best conversations getting our nails done.

The evening is fabulous. We love to get a specialty coffee in the lounge before heading to dinner. The menu is fresh and unique - a treat for sure. Lots of wine available on the menu and when we were not able to finish the bottle at the table, the staff helped us bring up the glasses and decanter upstairs.

The beds are glorious and we both slept well. Breakfast is stunning. Drinking fresh squeezed juice in a 5 star, crystal-filled dining room in a white robe feels divine. Incredible end to a wonderful say.

I cannot recommend this resort enough. You have to see it to believe it. Enjoy the robes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We greatly appreciate you and your mum making Sparkling Hill a yearly getaway, how special this must be for you two! I am so happy to read that you both enjoyed most of your day in our robes, this is very common for most of our guests. I can imagine perfectly what you two were doing by just reading this review - laps in the clear pools, unwinding in the Tea room, having a manicure, and getting a specialty coffee in the lounge before having a fresh and unique dinner!

I am so pleased that you both slept so well in our beds, we have received a lot of positive feedback regarding them. I would also like to thank you for mentioning how lovely and kind all of the staff were.

We greatly appreciate you recommending us and you are right, you really do have to see Sparkling Hill to believe it!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you both back!

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just home from a two day stay on their Din225 promo and can say, the ladies at check-in were excellent, our room was very nice and the meals in the dining room were good buy our only disappointment was with the spa. My wife is recovering from a fractured hip so we looked forward to using the wirlpool and Kneipp Water Therapy. Well we found the wirlpool not very warm considering a warning on the wall about 104 degree temps. We were not alone, another couple in the wirlpool had the same opinion, we have been in swimming pools that were warmer. Also the Kneipp was not working. We reported this to the spa reception in the morning and they were going to get it checked out by maintenance so we returned later that day but did not see any difference, the wirlpool was only warm and the Kneipp was not working. We also mentioned this at check-out in the hopes these could problems be rectified for other guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us for two nights on the wonderful dinner promotion. I am so pleased that check-in was excellent, that your room was very nice and that the meals in the dining room were good. I do hope that you were able to enjoy the complimentary steams and saunas, the Tea Room and the beautiful Serenity Room as well!

I am very sorry to hear of the disappointment you had in our KurSpa regarding our whirlpool it is a hot pool and does normally sit at 38C, I truly apologize that it was not this temperature when you visited us. It is also disappointing that the Kneipp waterway was not working. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and maintenance has looked into both issues.

Thank you again we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neepawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A fabulous resort with excellent spa, sauna and pool facilities. Staff is well trained and most accommodating. Cuisine was excellent. A wonderful vacation. We will certainly tell our friends about our wonderful stay at his beautiful crystal laden facility..and we will be back.

Room Tip: lake side is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review! I am so pleased that you found the spa, sauna and pool facilities to be excellent; they truly are! Thank you for also noting how excellent the cuisine was, our Chef’s will be thrilled. We are very lucky to have such dedicated and passionate employees that try to make every guest’s stay unique and special.

Thank you again and we greatly look forward to welcoming you and hopefully your friends to Sparkling Hill!

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Was attending a conference here although only 1 hour from home decided to stay, what a fabulous view, room was very clean and really cool with al the crystals al over, even crystal lites on the ceiling. Diner was awesome ate with a large group so didn't eat in regular dining room so can't comment on that,but had breakfast in the main dining room which was a unbelievable buffet would go back just for that. Never got a chance to try the spa services on this visit but will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for your review. I am also glad that you decided to spend the night with us instead of heading back home after your conference! We do have over 3.5 million Swarovski crystals throughout the hotel so you are absolutely right when you say there are crystals all over! Thank you for noting how excellent the dinner was and how much you enjoyed the complimentary buffet breakfast, we receive a lot of positive feedback about it and I am so glad you agree.

You will most certainly have to return as the KurSpa is the heart of the hotel and has so many wonderful amenities and treatments for guests to enjoy!

Thank you again and we greatly look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have made 3 trips to the resort during the winter coming from Sydney, Australia. The resort itself is of international standard,however the staff lack training at this level. I always feel slightly let down by the overall vibe of the place. The facilities of the spa are great, but the limited hours of operation leave me feeling frustrated. The hotel could do much better by making the spa accessible to locals on a day rate (my family still resides in the okanagan and would frequent monthly if available without an overnight stay). The restaurant is overpriced for the offerings and has always been nearly empty and lacking ambience each time I have dined (last meal for a party of 4 was 450 cdn). I hope management takes on some of the trip advisor members feedback as I want to see this resort do well. It is an amazing resort but needs a bit of work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparklingHill, Manager at Sparkling Hill Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay in December of 2012. I am very pleased to advise you that a lot of the items that you are referring to have been improved. We are continuously working on improving our service standard and making every guests stay memorable and unique. Our KurSpa is the heart of the hotel and the reason most guests come to Sparkling Hill, we feel that one cannot truly experience the whole body wellness concept if one does not stay overnight. Majority of our guests feel that all of the hours of operation in the KurSpa are appropriate as most enjoy the steams and saunas in the morning, then a relaxing treatment, have a delicious lunch in Barrique & Java and then enjoy the pools or more treatments!

We have made some wonderful changes in the restaurant as well! We now offer a set menu with daily specials which has been received very positively by all guests and we also offer a menu until midnight in Barrique & Java. Both have become very popular now.

I truly appreciate all of the feedback you have provided and we will certainly be considering everything you have mentioned as we always appreciate any constructive feedback that allows us to learn and grow.

Thank you again and I do hope you return so you can experience how much we have grown already!

Kind Regards,

Jana Gohl
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sparkling Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Hill Resort

Address: 888 Sparkling Place | Predator Ridge, Vernon, British Columbia V1H 2K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sparkling Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkling Hill Hotel Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sparkling Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.