We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room For The Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schell Motel

Schell Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schell Motel to your Saves list
Schell Motel
2810 35th Street, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 6B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Room For The Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Room 108, I was surprised by the room when I walked in as it was well laid out and had most of the stuff more expensive rooms have. The bed was comfortable, the room was warm and had space around the bed. There was a desk in a small alcove, but the plug outlet was on the other side of the TV and an extension cord would be required to get power to the desk. The handle that turned the water on in the tub was not properly attached. Some road noise came in but it was not loud or objectionable.

Room Tip: On a busy road so the further from the road the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    11
    8
    10
See reviews for
12
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I maybe a bit harsh but you need to know. Breakfast (free) provides a very basic meal. The beds are soft and my room was clean (other from our group weren't) In need of an upgrade. Good location to the Schubert center (walk across the street). All i can say is its better than nothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Schell Motel for 4 days. I was in Vernon to attend my 50-year high-school reunion and there were several of us staying there. We chose the Schell because it was just across the street from where our function was being held. The motel is clean, the beds are wonderful - all new. I had a little kitchenette unit with a seperate bedroom, couch, occasional seating, table & chairs,a large fridge, all the dishes I would need etc. All our untis were very clean and attended to - no complaints there at all. The pool there is heated which is a bonus. And we spend most of our time in the pool -water was very clean. I found that over all the motel needs a facelift. The wooden doors to the rooms had only a key to get in and many of us spent several minutes wiggling and jiggling our keys and doorknobs trying to get into our rooms. The rooms did have a deadbolt but nothing other than that - so I think the owner needs to replace all the old doors and put in a card-system. A lot of the windows don't have screens so you can't open them as bugs will come in - so those need to be replaced. We were all leaving on Monday the 16th and were told that the pool was closing that day - it was still 29 degrees - which seemed to be funny to close the pool for the season when the weather was so good. There was also a fellow power washing the cement deck of the pool which made trying to visit virtually impossible. There is excellent seating, table with umbrellas around the pool also a hot tub, seperate BBQ areas with BBQ's The staff at the Schell can't do enough to help and whatever we neede be it more sugar,coffee etc, or directions they were just excellent. I would stay here again but would hope by the next visit that the owner will have spent some money on doing some renovations to the Motel.

Room Tip: spend a little extra $$$ and ask for a room with a kitchenette by the pool - they're alittle bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

another motel owned presently by people who seem to know nothing about the hospitality biz... and probably don't care. I used to live in town in summers and only came back to visit an aging , ill friend (who lives close by) and retrieve some of my property in storage. There must be 20 brand names within less than a mile of this place... there were barely 10 rooms occupied here and the price of about 90 bucks with all the 'ST's is outrageous. VERY small room.. bad smell (I'm sure they've had smokers here). This is a good fifty bucks a night place masquerading as a near$ 100... I can say I wouldn't stay here again if it WAS fifty. I'll be staying for several days on this trip and will be checking out in the morning and finding something else nearby which at least smells better. Electrical needs updating... if you want to plug in your laptop.. you either have to do without the light.. or unplug the clock... always a sign of an el cheapo.

Room Tip: there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We checked into this little motel late on our way through Vernon. We didn't expect too much - it isn't fancy which was fine - it was only one night. However, we do expect accommodation to be clean. And this place is NOT. The towels even had mascara on them and didn't appear to have even been washed. The bathroom was dirty as were the carpets. Filthy. We wouldn't stay here again. And to top it off, the air conditioner was so loud that we couldn't sleep. The mattress was reasonably comfortable.
The gentleman at the front desk was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room we were assigned was super small and so so clean. The motel location is downtown and within walking distance of good eateries. The room was small enough that it didn't even have space for a chair let alone a table. I had to use the ironing board from the room to set up my lap top computer on. Was also surprised that while talking to front desk attendant that there is no onsite management or supervision from midnight to 8am. That shocked us. And the so called breakfast wasn't open until 8am when the dayshift attendant showed up. Who waits until 8am to have their breakfast bar open. Most travellers have long since left. I was pretty disappointed and would likely not stay at this motel again unless in a larger room.

Room Tip: Look at the size of the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

While passing through the Okanagan a year ago, we stayed one night and chose this property again because it is a few blocks off the main highway, quiet, reasonable priced, and the pool was warm. This time the pool was so cold and I could only stand being in it for five minutes. The bathroom was unclean, specifically the bathtub, shower curtain, and toilet. Also, some of the outdoor common areas were not clean. We will stay elsewhere next time based on this. A good clean up and some updating would make a difference. Friendly staff though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schell Motel

Address: 2810 35th Street, Vernon, British Columbia V1T 6B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Schell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.