We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bent Mast

The Bent Mast
512 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1L8, Canada (James Bay)
250-383-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 966 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Caribbean, Chicken Wings, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: James Bay
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“So fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great place to get a bite to eat. I love that they have games like Trivial Pursuit and Cribbage available to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Much Improved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My last review was a few years ago; I advised sticking to the beer and avoiding the food.

Things have changed at the Bent Mast! We had the bean soup, salads, falafel and grilled cheese.
The bean soup was delicious, just a hint of chipotle but not too much, and nicely presented. The salads were fresh and good. The falafel was tasty, in a fresh, soft pita. The beer was a cask ale, aged in a rum barrel, very good indeed.

The Bent Mast has raised the bar!

On the other hand, last week we ate at Heron Rock Bistro around the corner - there was no crab in the crab hash, and the onions had the skins left on.

Hmmm, you just might get a better meal at the Bent Mast, and in a beautiful old Victorian house with a garden [??]

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great service, interesting story about ghosts, 3 to be exact that live in this beautiful old house. The food was excellent and enjoyed the atmosphere and the idea that there were ghosts floating about whilst we ate. downside if you need the bathroom its upstairs but the good side of climbing up those stairs you might bump into the ghosts a child and elderly man or an elderly woman ooooh the suspense!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Appies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really lucked out finding this place. We walked in off the street during happy hour with a 2-for-1 appetizer list, and they were awesome! We tried the calamari and the three dip platter. Both were awesome! The pulled pork nachos were also super tasty. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and trivia cards on the tables. Definitely wish this place was closer to my house!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were in search of a light lunch in James Bay and had not been to the Bent Mast in years. We heard they had changed ownership of cooking staff or something so thought we would give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised. It was too chilly to sit on the patio (which would be great in the summer) so we took a table in front of the fireplace. It is an old building but with casual charm. the service was excellent and so was the food. They make their own borcht which was delicious as were their salads. If you haven't been there for a while - give it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bent Mast also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Bent Mast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bent Mast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.