We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of IL Terrazzo

IL Terrazzo
555 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M2, Canada (Downtown)
250-361-0028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visiting the area again, we had decided to dine here as we thoroughly enjoyed it many years ago. Unfortunately, the wait staff was a bit rude and our request ignored. Being a special occasion, we had asked for a certain area for our table when we called. No problem, we were told. That didn't pan out...we were squished into this very uncomfortable spot, and when asked if we could sit in another area (where others were being seated), we were told, no. Also, no mention of the birthday being celebrated, etc. The food was good, but very expensive. I don't mind spending $100.00 on dinner (we didn't even order wine) for a special occasion, that is if it is treated like one; unfortunately, that was not the case on our visit. I think the fame of the restaurant has left the staff less than accommodating and we were treated like we "got" the chance to eat there. Not next time....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    244
    68
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Every Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This just might be my favourite (somewhat affordable) restaurant of all time! Absolutely wonderful ambiance, excellent wines and superb food every single time I've been there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Love this restaurant. The food is always tastey, cooked perfectly and served with a smile. The chefs are innovative and combine wonderful flavours with flare. The restaurant is a little hard to find, tucked into the start of an alley, but it's worth the hunt. A little pricey, so if budget is an issue, this isn't the restaurant you want. Great atmosphere and busy, busy so you must make a reservation, especially for holidays and weekends. I try and visit twice a year...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Viva Italiano!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A special restaurant located in Old Town Victoria in a heritage type building. The Menu is mostly Italian food prepared beautifully and very delicious!! The soups and salads in particular are to die for. Service is good and the selection of wines also. If you like Italian food-this is the place to eat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian food with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This Restaurant is really good, excellent manners and discrete service. The Italian menu, varied and well combined, we enjoy it. Also the amazing wines list. The place is nice but is exaggeratedly dark. Reservations are necessary for this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Terrazzo also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IL Terrazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Terrazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.