We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi in pleasant surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
940 Fort St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Harris Green)
250-385-4320
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,072 restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Harris Green
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Victoria, b.c.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This may be the best place to have sushi in Victoria. The varied menu gives many choices of Japanese food. The prices are reasonable, the service superior and the ambience appropriate. The food we had was excellent and covered tempura to soup to salad to sushi. My friend who eats Sushi frequently in Calgary rated this place as good as any she has experienced. I will certainly be back. So many choices! Pleased that the menu includes vegetarian options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    35
    21
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I really enjoyed the food here. It was recommended to me by my hotel. The ambiance is great (nicely decorated space, great food smells), and the food was very tasty. I had lotus root tempura and yakisoba noodles - both were part of the day's chef's recommendation. The server was very helpful and had a lot to say about different dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place has great food for a great price and really good service. The atmosphere is also lovely, go here!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“fresh fish, gentle service, atmosphere not very fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went in this restaurant for a business dinner. We had a reservation, there were people waiting but we were immediately invited to our table. Service was all the time nice and attentive. We asked for chef's recommendations and we were not deluded, sushi and sashimi were really good and fresh, only disappointment was the wine list (only two or three brands, all really mediocre). We ordered a white wine that was very bad and even not cold enough, but we switched for a japanese beer that was very good. The atmosphere is not very fancy, I would not come for a romantic dinner, but the food and the service are definitively worthy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

went there for a business function. We asked the chef to prepare whatever he wanted, and it was very good. Found the shrimp sashimi to be a bit gummy, but it was obviously very very fresh, I just wasn't used to it.

The squid tempura (fancy name for battered calamari) was good, and the service was excellent. The sushi was very good, but I've had better.

Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sen Zushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.