We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Zushi

Sen Zushi
102-1619 Store St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3K3, Canada (Harris Green)
250-385-4320
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,091 restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Harris Green
Cross street: Quadora
Transit: BC transit #3, 11, 14, 22
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Tasty rolls and nice fatty toro. Excellent sapporo on tap. Very fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

went there for a business function. We asked the chef to prepare whatever he wanted, and it was very good. Found the shrimp sashimi to be a bit gummy, but it was obviously very very fresh, I just wasn't used to it.

The squid tempura (fancy name for battered calamari) was good, and the service was excellent. The sushi was very good, but I've had better.

Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    36
    22
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Japanese Food in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have never had anything I didn't love at Sen Zushi!
Lovely atmosphere, people friendly, in fact the Sushi Chefs great every guest as they enter the restaurant, in Japanese!
Food is fantastic, very fresh, wonderfully plated and visually appealing. Even the price is right.
Would I recommend it, you bet cha!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sen Sushi patronized by Victoria's Japanese community and visitors. Sushi prices are less than the hole in the wall places, and presentation and quality is very good. Ask for the barbecue squid! You will not be disappointed. There are authentic seaweed salads, great noodle dishes, eels, and other exotic choices.

I live in the neighbourhood and eat there often. Everything I have tried at Sen Sushi has been excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The name Sen Zushi (A thousand sushis' ) may overstate just how many sushis' you can get at this delightful restaurant but the food is excellent and the atmosphere very cosy and warm.

We visited one night recently along with a friend from Japan. The Sen Zushi is at the outer limits of downtown but well worth the trip.

Tempura prawns with vegetables at $12.00 and Una Don (Eel with rice) for $14.00 was delicious and accompanied with superb Green Tea.

The staff were polite and helpful which added to a most enjoyable evening.

Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have eaten in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Presentation and quality were excellent. The house tea with cracked popped rice added was delicious and its flavours lasted through the short walk and visit to the Victoria Art Gallery and an amazing show of Japanese portraits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Zushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sen Zushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sen Zushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.