We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of zap Thai

zap Thai
1207A Esquimalt Road, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 3P1, Canada
250-389-1845
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #396 of 969 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It may not be the best atmosphere but it is the BEST Thai food in Victoria. Nothing else like it. Great service as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing food Awful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We used to like this place but the quality of food has gone down. On latest visit, a rice dish was badly made, burned rice, uncooked veggies, wrong type of meat. We barely picked at it and mentioned to the waitress that it was not at par with expectations. They still charged for the item and made no attempt at apologizing. Overall service was horrible and slow as the place is catering to the take out crowd, making people in the restaurant wait. Won't be back and suggest you take your business elsewhere if looking for a satisfying experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tempt yhour tastebuds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Zap Thai is always on our itinerary when we head down to Victoria. In a tiny hole-in-the-wall location in Esquimalt, it is a real little treasure. It's not fancy, but Thai music envelopes you as you enter, the soaring walls are covered with Thai pictures and memorabilia, and the food choices are authentic, excellently-prepared, and generously-served. "Medium" heat really does mean medium, and the flavours are full and complex, not just 'hot'. Don't miss the Friday noon buffet! They also do a booming business in take-out. We love it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Very deficient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Zap Thai is in a strip mall off Esquimault Rd. You wouldn't go for the decor, or the views. However, it is touted as 'authentic', homestyle Thai cuisine.

There is no doubt the cook staff are authentic Thai- they don't speak English well, so there is a local server hired, who does the interpretations. She was knowledgeable and attentive, till her shift ended and she walked out the door.

The food? Well, the Pad Thai was the worst I have ever tasted, and the variant my partner ordered was virtually interchangeable, save the mushrooms and bean sprouts. Only the seafood soup had some character and taste.

The price? WAY too expensive for a light lunch meal in a dive with plastic table cloths.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsjkg5
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Thai food is our favorite - this wasn't great. needs improvement

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed zap Thai also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to zap Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage zap Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.