We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky supper club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Superior Cafe - CLOSED

The Superior Cafe
106 Superior St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T1, Canada (James Bay)
380-9515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: James Bay
Kenmore, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Funky supper club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very eclectic, live music is a treat you can talk and enjoy the music. The food is mostly small plates and a bit weird. As in most of BC the wine is mediocre.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great place to go and share small plates, listen to live music and drink fabulous wine. Service super friendly and relaxing! Plan on spending a couple of hours enjoying the ambiance of this Victoria landmark!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wandered by this cafe near Fisherman's Wharf and were glad we chose it for our dinner! The live music - French jazz- was great and the menu was full of variety. Our "small plates" were not-so-small - and delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“A Superior Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is true and to believe it, you have to try out this restaurant. Actually, its more than a restaurant, it's an experience on a plane unto itself.

The food? Delish. Period. We were very sceptical about kimchi poutine but one of our party was brave and ordered it. The rest of us, of course, had to try it. And um, a culinary high point. The whole meal was a culinary flight of imagination. Wow! Just, Wow! Beyond the kimchi poutine, we enjoyed blue cheese burgers, steak sandwiches, salmon with vegetable ragout, crab & chorizo pasta and dessert. Dessert? Chocolate and peanut paté (no, not peanut butter but a real paté texture of dark rich choclate with coarse chopped peanuts)... woah.

Aaron Watson played some AMAAAAAZing music including the accordian and saw. Does that sound bizarre? It fit. Aaron Watson played to his surroundings and was great. He is a talented musician.

The dining experience was unique but you have to check out the museum in behind the restaurant, the gardens and well, the whole block. We walked around and I have to say I kept pinching myself to make sure it was all real.

One word to summarize all: Wonderful.

Oh, and don't forget to look for the crow alcove and the shadow boxing squirrels. Definitely, an ecletic experience ranging from the artistic to macabre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
“Short Walk From Fisherman's Wharf & You Will Have Nice Atmosphere & Booze!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fisherman's Wharf warrants a few hours to enjoy the water view and to get some tasty, but pricey, seafood at Barb's. But, for anyone wanting a cold beer, wine or cocktail, we could not locate ANY place that served it.

But, walk up the little hill to the road, turn left, another 3 minute walk and on the right is The Superior. It seems to be an old fashion neighborhood bar and lounge/restaurant. We enjoyed it. One can sit inside or outside on the side terrace.

Good service and nice talk with others. Folks range from eccentric to mid of the road. 20's to 70's. All good. Can recommend for a cold one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Superior Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Superior Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.