We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Great Dinner Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Times Pub

Irish Times Pub
1200 Government St. | Main building, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
250.383.7775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Irish Times Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,107 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Chowder, Irish, Fish & Chips, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: View Street
Description: Welcome to the Irish Times Pub, where excellent design and authenticity are at the heart of downtown Victoria"s most exciting new pub! Located at 1200 Government Street, the Irish Times Pub is home to 190 seats over two floors with 80 seats available on our patios, opening onto both Government Street and historic Bastion Square. Our concept goes far beyond mere architecture though. The Irish Times opened with everything it takes to make a pub successfully Irish, including authentic Live Irish music, 7 nights each week. The tradition of Ireland has also been extended to our menu, which has been developed on a philosophy of creating traditional Irish food and drink that is both contemporary and funky, showcasing Irish Pub Food as you would see in Ireland today.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lunch Great Dinner Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The lunch service and food are great this is not a place I would consider a dining experience the food is middle of the road and over good. they have a great beer selection. Don't sit upstairs it is hot and too far from service and the washrooms.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    192
    69
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fun evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We grabbed some beer and yam fries while listening to some great live music. The staff were friendly, and the building unique. Even though it was loud where we sat, the atmosphere was fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Snug as a Bug with a Mug”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent New Years Eve 2012 here. This place was fantastic! It was packed and the crowd was friendly and energetic. We were fortunate enough to be seated in O'Hagan's Snug and it was a great setting, very private, the band music wasn't too loud in here, and you could still go out and wander around the place if you wanted to. There is even a door on the snug that you can pull closed and make the room very private.

The Irish Times has a great beer selection (local and imported) and the prices aren't too bad. We ordered several beer, LOTS of gin and tonic (which seemed to be a little weak??) and a few other things that for some reason I can't remember. We also tried an appetizer platter and everything tasted great. Our waitress was amazing, always attentive without being intrusive, and never seemed to mess up an order, even though we probably weren't incredibly coherent much of the time.

This is one place that you should definitely include on your must visit list while in Victoria and sit in the "snug" if it is available and you want a bit more privacy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed the service and clam chowder lunch so much two days ago we returned again today and were not disappointed. On a cold rainy day we were taken to a table by the fireplace and enjoyed a pint of Guiness and the clam chowder again. Our server's cheerful and attentive service warmed us almost as much as the fire.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“An Irish Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Five of us went to the IRISH TIMES after spending the better part of the afternoon in downtown Victoria. We found the service to be prompt and pleasant, and the food to be excellent. We were too early to enjoy that day's live entertainment, but enjoyed ourselves very much. Dinner for five with a tip, just under $100 which is reasonable for the quality and quantity served.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team I, Manager at Irish Times Pub, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Another satisfied guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times Pub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Irish Times Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Times Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.