We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Ambiance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John's Place Restaurant

John's Place Restaurant
723 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada (Downtown)
(250) 389-0711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 966 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Service and Ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our party of three stumbled upon John's Place for an early dinner and remembered about the place watching The Food Network, so we figured that we had to try it. The ambiance is fun and eclectic, service was friendly if a little spaced out at times, but the effort was definitely there. We started off with a poutine appetizer which was superb with real cheese curds and a very generous portion, but then things veered off a bit as both of my partners ordered the butter chicken which came with mashed potatoes instead of rice because they had forgotten to get the rice cooking. And honestly, the butter chicken was mediocre by any standard, but to be honest, you don't generally come to a diner/dive joint like this for butter chicken, right? Both of my companions agreed in hindsight that they could have made a better choice.

My meal was different - I ordered the meatloaf (of course), which was very tasty. The portion was reasonable, I wouldn't classify it as generous, but given the inexpensive cost I had nothing to complain about. I felt the vegetables were a little underdone. We finished off by sharing a monstrous ice-cream sundae which was also fun and nostalgic.

We got a more senior server when the butter chicken came out who was repeatedly apologetic about the lack of the rice, and to the restaurant's credit they comped both of those items. Overall, a fun vibe with solid diner selections, stay away from the butter chicken and stick with the old-school favourites like meatloaf and burgers! We would go back and recommend for those looking for a fun experience and good value on their meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12chef, Owner at John's Place Restaurant, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I'm very sorry for the mishap. You shouldn't have been served mashed potatoes with butter chicken, it was only a 12 minute wait for rice but you were not advised. That recipe comes from Rawinder, who is from New Delhi and has worked for me for 15 years. It is a little milder than some are accustomed too! I'm glad you enjoyed the place and try us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    182
    39
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 star in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My partner and myself are from the UK and so are very familiar with brunch and the full English breakfast. Johns place came in high regard from friends and online reviews so we popped in one morning. From the moment we entered until we left we were given nothing but fantastic service. Our servers name was Deborah who was fantastic at engaging in polite conversation in a friendly and welcominging manor whilst seeing to all out needs. We had some great breakfast smoothies and mamosas to start off with. My partner then had the renown waffles which were so light and full of flavour. I went for the pop eye bennie(bacon & spinach). The first half/first egg was perfect but the other was slightly undercooked which Deborah apologised for greatly and another replacement was brought out within 5 minutes and was perfect, amazing flavour. When the bill came I was very surprised to see that I had not been charged for my eggs bennie at all, because of the 1 undercooked egg. I had presumed a slight discount fe our bill but no Deborah took it all off. This is a must easy breakfast restaurant that prides itself in customer service around a fantastic selection of breakfast dishes to enjoy. Will definitely come again.
Chris and Steph

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Meatloaf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We heard about the meat loaf at John's Place. I never order meat loaf when I dine out but a chef on TV said it was the best ever meat loaf. It's a must try. It is the BEST.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fanatstic Experience for a large Group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were in town for a National sporting event and it is always challenging finding a place that will cater to large groups...John's Place accepted our reservation a couple of weeks before and followed up the day before. Everything was set up for us (30 ppl) and ready when we arrived. The service was fantastic and quite speedy for the size of group. The menu has such variety that everyone found something they liked (gluten-free, vegetarian, kids meals, etc.) and everyone enjoyed what they had! Plus the menu prices are so affordable!!!

I highly recommend this restaurant for a relaxed, enjoyable meal with friends and family. Also, a couple people went back over the week for the breakfast and really enjoyed it as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regular Breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Can not remember since when I became a regular breakfast place for John's place. We almost go to there every month, their food is always fresh and good. I really enjoy the Sunday morning time with my favorite burger and newspaper.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Place Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to John's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.