We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lickin' finger good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Restaurant

The Reef Restaurant
533 Yates Street, Victoria, British Columbia V9B 3T5, Canada (Downtown)
(250) 388-5375
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 1,107 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lickin' finger good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Yummy! Everything we tried today was sooooo good. My favorites: calypso oxtail, tostones picadillo (fried plantain with beef), and the johnie buns. Definitely coming back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Reef a number of times and have had consistently very good food. The jerk sauce has a bit of a bite to it but it is very tasty. My favorite are the johnny cakes. They are delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not ever again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very disappointing dinner - food and service! The only saving grace for this meal was the gingerbeer shandy! The fish appetizer and entree (both different fish) alternated between overdone and still cold, not to mention smelled very fishy! Disgusting. Although the waitress, Darci, was most apologetic and replaced the meals, the replacements were equally bad. There was little consideration from the management to resolve the situation or compensate for the bad food. We will not be returning! Thankfully the beer provided a good mouthwash!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you want great food at a reasonable price, decent service and a funky atmosphere (booths everywhere!), try this restaurant. I normally prefer bland food, but I was able to cope with the spice in the tasty jerk chicken. Reservations recommended, especially on the weekend. Popular with Gen Y but oldsters like us were made to feel welcome.Great downtown location (lower Yates St.). Seasonal outdoor sidewalk dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bliss out on some top notch Caribbean cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Any visit to Victoria, means eating at the Reef for me, and I just enjoyed another superb meal. The Chana was delicious; the Roti wraps are always flavorful and fresh. Everything Miss P makes has been excellent but oh my God, there are no words for the Johnnycakes with the coconut infused butter! Angels start to sing, and you can feel yourself levitating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.