We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ithaka Greek Restaurant

Ithaka Greek Restaurant
1102 Yates St | Victoria, Bc, Victoria, British Columbia v8v3mv, Canada (Formerly Passero's Restaurant) (Fernwood)
250-384-6474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,084 restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Canadian, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Fernwood
Description: We are all about fresh, delicious, authentic and homemade Greek food. Virtually everthing in our kitchen is prepared from scratch, using only the best ingredients ensuring you the utmost in quality. We are a true mom and pop run business with the Adamopoulos family as your hosts and promise you a memorable meal in our casual and bright dining room with generous portions at reasonable prices. OPA!
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great service, food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This restaurant had the most friendly and fun-loving staff! They were all smiles and very attentive to every detail, such as topping up our wine and water every time it was low, checking in on us to see how we were enjoying everything, and making jokes and making us feel welcome and appreciated for coming in to the restaurant. Considering there wasn't a free table in the whole place, they certainly took their time to make our visit perfect! The food was incredible!! Juicy meat, delicious veggies, lemon potatoes, rice... yum! The spacing between our courses was nice (appetizer, then salad, then meal)... it made the evening relaxing and we didn't feel like we were rushed at all. There was Greek dancing, a plate got smashed and someone pulled out an instrument too! LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT! You must go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    152
    23
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lives up to its #1 billing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is terrific, family-owned restaurant that changed hands recently. The food is simply amazing, and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were not disappointed! Being new to the area and loving Greek food, we spotted this restaurant and checked out the reviews. It truly is as good as it sounds! Loved the ambience and the staff/owners are every bit as friendly & helpful and cheerful as the reviews say. They were super busy when we were there but we received excellent service. My husband had lamb souvlaki & I had chicken souvlaki - omg - we both came away feeling like it was one of the best meals we've had. Everything had lots of flavour and done perfectly. The only thing I would change about the whole experience would be the bread that is served.........would prefer pita bread vs bread & oil/balsamic vinegar. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“This absolutely made the trip for my teens ! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

WOW! This absolutely made the girls so happy. They loved the warm atmosphere, the food, the personal attention and the dancing. We decided to try Ithaka after reading review here and walked from the Empress. No dining options for teens at the Empress and with age limitations in a lot of Victoria we tried Ithaka. The girls were hesitant when we arrived and the average age was 60, but around 8:30 a much youger hipper crowd arrived. They were wonderful to us, really testing us as guests. This was dining and everything was tasty, fresh and beautifully presented at a good price. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A warm Greek welcome awaits guests of this cozy family-run restaurant.
The restaurant, like its Greek Island namesake in the Ionian Sea, may be small, but it has special significance.
The island, as the home of Homer's Odysseus and the restaurant as a wonderful culinary delight. They both live up to their reputation. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meals. The service was personable and very attentive. Judging by the steady stream of other guests coming and going, many of whom seem to be regulars, others must agree as well that the food is great and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ithaka Greek Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ithaka Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ithaka Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.